Wolseley UK Employee Reviews about "wolseley"

Updated Mar 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 229 reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company has Good share save scheme(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good people, friendly atmosphere, left alone to get on with the job with minimal supervision, remote working was possible even before lockdown(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be hard work with challenging customer needs and it can be long hours(in 7 reviews)

  • "Unsure of what the future holds in Wolseley UK(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "wolseley"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic

      Sep 6, 2018 - EBusiness Live Focus Executive in Ripon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wolseley is a fantastic place to work, as part of the eBusiness team I've been provided challenging and interesting work. The company works hard to develop the skills of their workforce and reward their efforts fairly. Fantastic managers and support available to you if needed.

      Cons

      The canteen is really poor.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Tough Industry for Women

      Mar 11, 2021 - Shift Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company based training is done really well. You will have plenty of opportunities to train in various aspects of the company and gain extensive product knowledge. These trains can result in qualifications as well if you wish to pursue. As Wolseley is a large company, there is potential for advancement within the various roles.

      Cons

      This is a male dominate industry and working environment that struggles to accommodate women. If you are working at branch level, your time is not your own. Work life balance does not exist with many working overtime without compensation or recognition.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're really pleased to hear that you appreciate the training approach and ability to grow and advance in the business. Getting the Wolseley Talent Guild of the ground - with both the professional qualifications and apprenticeships, and the internal job-based training - has been a key focus and massive piece of work over the past year involving people from all over the business, so it's great to hear it's hitting the mark. On the points you raise about gender and work-life balance, you're absolutely right, and we're dead chuffed that you're listed as a current employee so you can help us get better in this space. We're seeing a lot more women enter our business and are always looking for ways to ensure we can make our business attractive to anyone that wants to build a career with us, regardless of gender, ethnicity or background. If you want to get on, we want to help you get on. But that starts with making working conditions the best we can for those colleagues that are already with us! We know and fully appreciate that over the past 12 months battling the pandemic colleagues have regularly had to go over and above, have worked additional hours, and performed duties outside of the normal day-to-day. We can't thank you enough, but know that as we emerge from the pandemic we need to ensure work-life balance is one of the things that stringer than before. If you've got ideas, or suggestions, it'd be amazing if you could feed these to your Rep on the Colleague Forum, who can ensure they're heard by the Leadership Team on your behalf. On the final point, on branch visits. Absolutely. All our Leadership Team regularly spend time in branches, distribution centres and other offices - but we had to stop that, restricting travel to ensure the safety of those working within the branches during Covid. We've got plans to get back on the road, which the Government guidelines allow more of from May onwards. Thanks again for getting in touch!

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Moving away from the industrial market

      Apr 30, 2020 - Industrial Support Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The share save scheme is a good investment opportunity

      Cons

      Since all the different Center brands have been merged in to One Wolseley there has as expected been a loss in focus on the pipe side of the business which has seen the industrial team reduced even further. All the changes to the UK structure over the last few years had been to make it more inline with the USA, but have not worked. With a demerger due there have been a lot of redundancy over the last year which has stripped a lot of experience from the company adding to those that have left as a result of the changes made.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awful company avoid avoid

      Mar 15, 2019 - Delivery Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None anymore the company has gone way down hill needs to take note of it’s iwn respect values

      Cons

      Awful company goes on about health and Saftey Wolseley needs to practice what it preaches management and supervisors are clueless the amount of products that are sold the n a couple of month later are added back into stock I class that as stealing supervisors just pick and choose what to do

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Branch manager

      Aug 22, 2018 - Branch Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent colleagues.. Enjoy being part of a team...

      Cons

      Left to get on with it, management keep their cards close to their chest... Unsure of what the future holds in Wolseley UK...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      wasteful wolseley

      May 24, 2017 - Welder in Basildon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      no pro`s to working for wolseley pay is rubbish

      Cons

      management are bent in the fab shop,take back handers give work to there mates ,have no clue what they are doing throw £20,000 worth of fittings pumps ,valves,stainless steel in skip, over order,don`t even bother to book lorries in for a delivery come back to zd3 full up etc...

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Potential not being realised

      Mar 19, 2017 - National Account Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wolseley UK is a company with strong brands. The company for many years led the way in their market but that is no longer the case!

      Cons

      Under the Wolseley UK banner sits several brands. The brands are very siloed. This means with customers looking to consolidate supply chains, Wolseley UK is a difficult place to do this. As with most large companies change is rarely quick and this certainly plays out at Wolseley UK.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Victimised Treatment appalling!!!

      May 18, 2016 - Driver/Storeman in Dundee, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only pro recognised and to my advantage was share holding options offered to employees and providing you are willing to break certian health and safety regs to suit job completion your job will be safe!!

      Cons

      Management in dundee drain are guilty of victimising certian employees through my experience..taking homage to health and safety being exercised hence making life difficult for you when you are exercising the standard health and safety code, then when seeking assistance from HQ you are victomised due to pointing out health and safety regs being ignored and ultimately forced into giving notice due to management victimisation and being protected from above regardless of situation...by far worst management then proved that HQ are there for management support only!!!! BEWARE OF WOLSELEY!!!!!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Communications & Engagement Manager

      Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We take all feedback extremely seriously, especially when it relates to health and safety. The health and safety of colleagues and customers is our highest priority. We encourage anyone to report any safety concerns they may have – however big or small – as we are absolutely committed to investigating all reports thoroughly and taking action. As soon as we became aware of your feedback on ‘Glassdoor’, we reviewed the details of the grievance you raised while working at Wolseley UK, along with the thorough investigation of your branch which followed. We have now also taken action to complete a second follow-up investigation focused on the location you mention, which highlighted no safety concerns and established that the site is fully compliant. To raise a safety concern, colleagues and customers can use our Speak Up! service by calling 0800 097 1130 or online at www.intouchfeedback.com/wolseley. Speak Up! is operated by independent company, InTouch and is available 24 hours a day, every day of the year.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best job I have ever had

      Jul 21, 2014 - Events Coordinator in Royal Leamington Spa, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Different challenges every day, really enjoyed my role, lovely people and a great employer

      Cons

      I thoroughly enjoyed working for Wolseley, the only down side was being made redundant

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A Stagnant pool of unused talent

      May 6, 2014 - Technical Sales in Dundee, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pension & benefits plan is good, a lot of good people still resisting the "Wolseley way" of working!

      Cons

      Very strange and overly rigid branch role structure, progression impossible in some sectors as promotion would give you seniority over the person running the branch!! People put in charge of sectors they don't understand and blindly implementing unworkable policies, usually handed down by unrealistic senior managers.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

    Wolseley UK logo
    or