Wood Mackenzie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wood Mackenzie Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 216 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Wood Mackenzie CEO Neal Anderson
Neal Anderson
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Career progression path and bonus allocation is also unclear; quoting manager who said(in 9 reviews)

  • "Career development path seems to be unclear, a lot of new initiatives but doesn't seem substantial enough(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Mackenzie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with the company for 6 months and have had a positive experience. Working with talented professionals who really care about they do and how they do it, makes for a great environment to work in. The company is very supportive of work life balance and really lives by it's values.

    Cons

    The company is going through a huge change transformation which is not a con but with any change comes a level of uncertainity and continued management of this will be required.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Wood Mackenzie2018-07-23
  2. "Good but need to increase pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Management Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wood Mackenzie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company, good opportunities, team work and culture improving,

    Cons

    but a little too many bosses, and pay needs to increase, folk looking elsewhere

    Advice to Management

    pay needs to increase, folk looking elsewhere

    Wood Mackenzie2019-07-11
  3. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Project Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wood Mackenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Flexible working - Interesting work - Great colleagues

    Cons

    - Organisational wide communication - Teams working in silos

    Wood Mackenzie2019-06-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "It's ok place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Mackenzie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice and experienced people to work with.

    Cons

    Employees are treated unequally, some get to work from home and others don't. Some get interesting tasks and some get mundane.

    Wood Mackenzie2019-06-14
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Rapidly failing as a research house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Mackenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some decent benefits but more at the market than market leadig

    Cons

    Weak leadership. Experience frowned upon. No accountability at manager level. Failure hidden away and rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on core competencies

    Wood Mackenzie2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Scary atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Mackenzie

    Pros

    Despite the ratio of men to women being 3:1, HR have set a target of internal promotions at 1:1 thus a large bias towards women in the company. Shame if you’re a man I guess.

    Cons

    Middle management are poor and look after number 1. The most recent appointments are no different.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage your staff instead of scaring them to work harder and harder.

    Wood Mackenzie2019-04-25
  7. "Lots to like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wood Mackenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In the main good company, structure and people. Good working conditions and fair range of benefits.

    Cons

    Clients always expected to pay more and more on annual subscriptions. Whilst it is essential that the business can afford to pay its bills, sometimes expectations placed on the sales team to keep upping prices is both unrealistic and unfair. Some clients could be treated with more respect rather than cash cows!

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes quite high handed. Lots of acquisitions which makes it very difficult for everyone to be seen and heard.

    Wood Mackenzie2019-04-12
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Working at WM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Mackenzie full-time

    Pros

    - gain industry knowledge - people have many years of experience in their field

    Cons

    - structure of the company is a bit disorganised - too many levels (heads) and not as many analysts as we would need - salary is really low (in my personal opinion)

    Wood Mackenzie2019-02-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wood Mackenzie full-time

    Pros

    - Good people - Decent pay - Interesting area to work in

    Cons

    - Frustrating systems however, we are working to improve them.

    Wood Mackenzie2018-10-17

    Wood Mackenzie Response

    October 24, 2018

    We really appreciate the positive feedback. As you mention we are heavily investing in new technology that will better serve our clients and transformation our business.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wood Mackenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great flexibility

    Cons

    Very little cons - great company. Progression path is sometimes unclear.

    Wood Mackenzie2018-09-22

    Wood Mackenzie Response

    September 25, 2018

    Appreciate the positive feedback. We’re really focusing on growing the business and to ensure we succeed we must also grow our talent. If you’d like to discuss your progression path further, please drop me a line caroline.woodhouse@woodmac.com

Found 216 reviews