Woodruff Sawyer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Woodruff Sawyer Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Woodruff Sawyer CEO Andy Barrengos
Andy Barrengos
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits are competitive and the work/life balance aspect is achievable(in 13 reviews)

  • "The People, Flexible Work Schedules, Benefits, and My Team(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only con is that WS is not as large as some other brokers so some resources are limited, but that is more than offset by the work environment(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lots of Favoritism, no accountability from middle management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, great culture leading to great clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leadership is invested in ensuring the success of the employees. They continue to show this through encouraging new ideas to be brought to the forefront, seeking out new opportunities to expand skill sets of employees, providing platforms for teamwork and creativity.

    Cons

    Commission pay structure/frequency...but outside of frequency the plan is robust.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the inclusiveness and making it easy to do our jobs!

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-08-06
  2. "Proud of working for Woodruff Sawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The People, Flexible Work Schedules, Benefits, and My Team.

    Cons

    Growing pains due to growth. But, that’s actually a great problem to have.

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-28
  3. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there is a lot of pros

    Cons

    Not a lot of cons

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Modern organization on the outside, traditional organization on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, remote work available, small yet powerful office.

    Cons

    Micromanagement, lack of professionalism, unrealistic amount of work and deadlines, upper management has favorites, toxic work environment from manager, and zero technical training. It was unfortunate to realize that this company still operated under a traditional style. “Moving up the ladder" meant, essentially, competing against a 10-15 year experienced Account Manager. The work given could vary from punching holes...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing the favorites game, especially with higher ranked employees. Entry level employees are just as important. They are your foundation to a continuously growing company.

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-30
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Reassess the leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time

    Pros

    Some employees have every other Friday off

    Cons

    High turnover Low morale Favoritism No diversity Compensation is not competitive No annual employee survey No clear career growth path No accountability from the leadership team

    Advice to Management

    Employees are leaving the company because of leadership and management. Fix the top of the food chain. The issues from the top bleeds down to the rest of the company. The old Woodruff Sawyer culture is starting to fade with the new leadership team. What happened to our annual employee survey? Listen to your employees.

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly coworkers, tedious work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Service Team in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer full-time

    Pros

    Every other Friday off Coworkers are friendly and are open to collaborating (for the most part) Management is super approachable Work is easy Convenient location in San Francisco

    Cons

    Salary is low compared to other brokerages and is not worth the amount of work you have to do Your workload is highly dependent on which team you work in. Work was tedious and there was a high volume of it (answering the same types of emails over and over again, filling in excel templates, scanning documents, etc.) If you are a new hire, especially if you are a recent college grad, you will be constantly told how lucky...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please encourage professionalism and make sure workload is spread appropriately within teams. Employees need more opportunities for professional development (public speaking workshops, business partnering workshops, offer advice on maintaining client relationships, etc.). Otherwise, the most valuable skill your employees develop is how to write the same email over and over again.

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-19

    Woodruff Sawyer Response

    July 1, 2019AVP, Recruiting

    Woodruff Sawyer does not tolerate this type of behavior when we know about it. I would encourage you to reach out to me, Kathy Kane, the Chief HR Officer, for a private and confidential conversation and I assure you that I will follow through on this. My email is KKane@woodruffsawyer.com. ...

    Show More
  7. "Great Company to Work For!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, great company culture, great room for growth.

    Cons

    Can be busy during open enrollment, but thats the nature of the business!

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-04-10
  8. "Incredible Team focused on Clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unparalleled group of intelligent and hard-working people. Entirely client service focused which is the major differentiation in why people choose to do business with Woodruff. Flexible work-life balance and great opportunity for long-term wealth creation given the ability to become a shareholder. Love the CEO and Leadership team.

    Cons

    Office environment at HQ could use modernizing to encourage collaboration.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring people from outside the insurance industry when possible to bring in fresh perspectives.

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-03-27
  9. "Great team, Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Coordinator Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Range of different projects to work on provides great experience as an intern; I work with the Retirement Services Team in Benefits, and I have a wealth of knowledge I can access from all my team members

    Cons

    No complaints, I love the time I've spent with WS so far

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-02-14
  10. "WS: a hidden gem in our industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and leadership throughout the organization.

    Cons

    Just like our industry, WS is evolving and change can be difficult. I see it as necessary to continue to compete.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving us in the right direction. Not everyone understands why we have to change but stay committed to doing what is necessary.

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-02-07
Found 88 reviews