Workday Employee Reviews about "proprietary language"

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO, Co-Founder & Chairman Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
994 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture of caring management(in 124 reviews)

  • "It's a great company with great employees that is on a track to success(in 66 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "proprietary language"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Proprietary ecosystem does not work very well"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits, good culture and values, friendly management, nice and relaxed environment (including free foods and drinks), excellent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Proprietary technologies used to develop "the" application does not look as a good choice. Implications are in fact multiple, including the risk for developers to loose their skills about not only common programming languages, but also the entire ecosystem related to them. So not just a proprietary language but even the entire ecosystem. Developers cannot resell outside skills acquired.

    Continue reading
    Workday2020-04-24
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Don't waste your life with this poor management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer III in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The CEO is really smart and awesome - It's a big american company with an office in Dublin, Ireland so you can have the chance to get in touch with people with all around the world. - The view from the 6th floor of the building is nice and also the snack program and the employees clubs are a nice bonus to make your day more enjoyable. - Most colleague are friendly and there is a lot of flexibility in managing your time

    Cons

    - The CEO has stopped to oversee the hiring a long time ago, and the quality upper and lower management of the Dublin office is really poor (with very limited exception like Chris Byrne) - Tons of big policies and procedure for everything, with several levels of approval. They clearly don't trust their employees and they want to get managers involved in every decision, even the technical ones. Most of the policy are so generic that basically leaves a huge discretionary power in the hands of a really poor management. - The company is always saying that they care about you, but it's more true if you are a manager. We are all equal only when it comes to the snack program or a spot in the car park. If you are a individual contributor, you are just a resource to be allocated the a project/team every few months/weeks as they like. - The structure is very vertical, with a manager every 3/4 people and multiple managers from different organizations with different okr, policy, procedures to handle a single team. - They call the management "leadership", but it's just a word, they are not leading anything, they are not providing example, guidance, mentoring or coaching. They only care about their goals/okr/objectives and not about you or your career. They tell you that you career is in your hands, and they mean it, literally since they cannot care less. - There are no quantitative goals to measure your contributions/productivity and no clear path/checklist to get a promotion. It's only based on your ability to sell yourself with smoke and mirrors and become friends of the upper management and not with actual quality deliverables to the customers. - They are running a career check-in every year as an HR compliance exercise, but it's just a one way presentation. First you present you achievement, than you will be given the management review, unrelated to your presentation and with compensation/promotion package predetermined . - If you are already a good friends of the upper management, you can be promoted every 6/12 months, without having to prove anything and you can also get you friend and family hired in senior roles. They call this connections, and they really value it, but I prefer to use another name. - If you have an irish passport, you will get probably an higher level in the company given the same level of experience in the industry, so apply for one before joining the company. They are proud of having a mix of people from all around the world in the Dublin office, but almost all of them are individual contributor. Probably in Ireland there are a lot of managers and very few developer, tester, analyst, etc. It's clearly a coincidence. - There is a toxic culture where you are forced to comply and pretend that everything is awesome, if you try to point out a problem, you will become the problem since you clearly do not understand their magnific work and instead of fixing the problem, they will focus on explaining to you why you are wrong. - If you are unlucky enough to work with xpresso for 1-2 years, your career in the real word is ended. They believe they have created (acquired) a powerful proprietary language/system that it's ten of years ahead of everything. Even if it's an interesting technical solution, it's clearly limited and there is no proper tooling to support the code development. There is a huge ecosystem of plugins written by devs in their spare time to improve the gaps of the language, because the company does not care to have the xo team spend time to improve the dev experience. They are just totally blind and full of themselves

    Continue reading
    Workday2020-05-13
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good in many ways but little room for individuality"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    - Culture of helping unprompted - Very little ego - Nice fruit in kitchen - Generous time off - Culture seems positive and supportive

    Cons

    - Emphasis on teamwork to the degree you lose your sense of individuality - Emphasis on process over function/value - During probation no sick pay - Workday uses a proprietary language across many teams

    Continue reading
    Workday2020-02-06
  4. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee centric culture, bottom up

    Cons

    Proprietary language take a long time to get up to speed

    Workday2020-02-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Solid Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Comparision Shopper/Jack of All Trades Did All Jobs in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good company culture * Good work/life balance

    Cons

    * Proprietary language * Sometimes clueless management

    Continue reading
    Workday2020-01-16
  6. Helpful (21)

    "Great place, but but not great people"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance for some teams. Great benefits Good salaries Good snacks program

    Cons

    People: Some nice people, some very arrogant and toxic people, depending on which team you join. Technology: The core application is a monolithic one, old technology for the teams working in core application, except for some new teams that are using modern technologies. They are trying to update technologies used, but this is moving very slowly. If you end up with working in the monolithic app you will experience all the drawbacks of a monolithic application, like: - Massive code base that is really hard to understand, - Hundreds of developers working in the same code base, - Pipeline blocked most of the time, - Tricky to debug, takes some time, - Poor test coverage, - Bugs can slip out easily, etc… If you will work with XO, their proprietary language, not that bad as a concept, but it's not done in developer friendly way, it has pros and cons. XO Pros is that it helps building features quickly. XO Cons: Takes lots of time to learn it. It limits your thinking to the capabilities it has, which is limited compared to any other language. Tools around it is not great, for example the code review tool is not good. The automation framework that is done on top of it is very bad to work on as well. The UI for the development is not developer friendly, which is basically inside the browser and UI based. People - details Managers hell: I had bad luck and joined 2 different teams in which I didn't have a good time over there. I have seen very poor soft skills, especially communication skills among senior people, and managers, within my team, i didn’t find respect, i wasn’t valued, i didn’t find psychological safety which is very important important for a successful team, Instead I found pointing fingers, blaming, undermining others. I have worked with 2 managers. 1st one was fake, too formal, a kind of person who gives too many instructions which he doesn't follow half of them. A kind of manager that you feel the 1-1 meeting is something you need to prepare and worry about. He used a google doc to track what we say and ask about it next time, which gave the meeting the formality style, which is not good for 1 to 1 meetings, he had very poor communication skills, he would joke about people's mistakes rather than trying to give constructive feedback. Second manager was worse, he looked very nice, funny, friendly, until any mistake happens, or anything that he doesn't like. He turns to the other face, aggressive communication style, blaming, comparing to others. All the things that it is not recommended for professional communication, he was doing it. he has offensive and harsh communication style, that you would feel offended after. Some of our meetings would turn into arguments, shouting, blaming game and whose fault it is. After some time working with this manager i would go to work, feel anxious all the time just thinking that I could have done something wrong that would result of him talking to me in un -pleasant way. Working under these 2 managers in Workday are considered to me the worst time in my life, which turned my hope of working in a great place fades and turns into a nightmare. Disrespect and exclusion Being in these 2 teams, I didn’t feel much inclusion and respect, i was different in terms that I don't like going out to their outings, I don’t like parties or fun the way they see it. I don’t like drinking, I don't talk much about other things than work. I was looked at like I am weird. The culture they advertise is talking about things like value employee, and inclusion. But the true and actual culture is different. There isn’t much stress on applying this culture. I was advised by my manager to try to mingle more and talk more about any nonsense, and to go out with the team for drinks. He didn’t really understand my personality and was as if asking me to change my personality to fit more into the company. Once he mentioned that this how it is in Workday and this is what i need to do to fit the fun culture. He didn’t understand that every person have fun in a different way. Other than managers, i have seen senior and principals that doesn't respect others, talks about other in their backs, not patient, all of these things are missing from them are necessary for someone with such senior position, which makes me wonder how they were promoted. They were hard workers, have been in the company for some time, but that is not enough for someone to be promoted, senior person as well need to be a role model and be able to mentor others. Once one of the senior managers had an org meeting and he was bragging and joking about how much he curse, which just reminded me with high school time. I just wanted to tell him, come on, grow up - how immature!!!

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-11-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time

    Pros

    Snack programme, location, 27 holiday days / year.

    Cons

    proprietary language, little to no transferable skills to move on. Traps employees in in company

    Workday2019-12-16
  8. "Amazing Culture and Workspace!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    really unique culture that prioritizes employee happiness, fun and uplifting work environment, rapidly growing company, relatively high paychecks, a lot of training opportunities

    Cons

    big learning curve for proprietary language (Xpresso), Xpresso can be unintuitive for people used to coding in regular coding languages

    Workday2019-08-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company, Great Culture."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management place importance on a good company culture, with an employee first approach that actually implement. 1-on1's with my manager were always constructive and open. Opportunities to move departments, and for career progression. Competitive salary and RSU's. Opportunity to work with new technologies and to contribute to the selection of stack for greenfield projects.

    Cons

    If you're in a role that is mostly Xpresso(WDay proprietary language), it can limit your career prospects.

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-08-06
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, great benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Unlimited PTO Friendly people Nice benefits

    Cons

    Low salaries Proprietary language is bad Lots of bureaucracy

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-07-22
Found 44 reviews