Workday Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO, Co-Founder & Chairman Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
994 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture of caring management(in 124 reviews)

  • "It's a great company with great employees that is on a track to success(in 66 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Still best employer ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great company culture - People collaborate positively - Best solution/product - Fun combined with hard work

    Cons

    Work-Life-Balance New people managers who don’t understand core values

    Continue reading
    Workday2020-02-25
  2. "Great people, bad work life balance"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with. Great opportunities for training.

    Cons

    Really bad work life balance.

    Workday2019-11-15
  3. Helpful (19)

    "Culture fading with growth"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to value work/life balance

    Cons

    Work/Life balance has been negated by growth outpacing staffing

    Workday2019-09-26
  4. Helpful (23)

    "Possibly a good place to start your career??"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Competitive salaries - For people just starting their careers, might be a good stepping stone - Great snacks!

    Cons

    - In general, weak, inexperienced management - lots of favoritism - Product challenges are creating an internal pressure cooker-type environment - Zero work-life balance

    Workday2019-10-23
  5. Helpful (24)

    "Could Be a Great Place to Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuinely some amazing people Great place for graduates to get on the ladder Shares are a great investment plan Good benefits Ok Salary Internal mobility to get away from the proprietary language Agile coaches to advance teams

    Cons

    Ruinous middle management in some teams. Policy of 'owning your own career' while well intended at the top, is get out of jail free card for middle management to not do their job. While there are some amazing people, rapid growth led to the original culture becoming diluted. Poor work / life balance. Proprietary language limits external career opportunities. Incidents of bullying and bad managerial conduct are not dealt with.

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-05-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work - no kidding!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm encouraged every day to do what I love to do with all the creativity and skills that I possess.

    Cons

    This is a very competitive workplace. You have to be the absolute cream of the crop to advance. That sometimes leads to work/life balance conflicts.

    Workday2019-05-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "It's a big company."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits and perks available.

    Cons

    Work life balance varies significantly by org.

    Workday2019-03-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "It is a Great Place to Work - Not So Much if You're a Recruiter"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Pleasanton, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is truly a great place to work *with exceptions. Benefits Stock C-Level Leadership

    Cons

    The TA Team consistently exceeds its goals, quarter after quarter & year after year. The pace is daunting and more importantly, relentless - quarter after quarter & year after year. Fluidity is part of any organization, especially within an org with constant growth, however the Top of TA sets unrealistic and ever changing expectations with no regard for the how much the team has achieved. There is a line between being consistently very busy and consistently overwhelmed. As as a whole the team enjoys and even welcomes being challenged. Little regard for work life balance. If you have ever had a friend who had a parent that was never satisfied, even if your friend brought home the 1st place trophy. It is very much like that! A former manager once stated “(the leader) is looking for reasons to not pay out bonuses”. When the team smashes yearly numbers and a C-Level has to remind the SV-Level to congratulate the team, there is an issue. It is certainly not a morale booster.

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-03-06

    Workday Response

    March 15, 2019Workday Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. We value it and will keep this in mind. We strive to approach recruiting in a different, and innovative, way, and value our employees’ efforts to make this happen. We’re sorry to hear that you don’t feel recognized for your hard work and will work to improve this. If you feel comfortable sharing any additional feedback with us confidentially, please feel free to reach out via employee.feedback@workday.com.

  9. Helpful (24)

    "Very disappointed after many years of service"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Top Management looks for innovative ways of employee engagement Overall the organization encourages employee flexibility and flexible pto options and believes in work life balance

    Cons

    Work-Life balance Individual departments do not buy into the overall organization policies. You are constantly questioned if you come in beyond 9am (like at 9:05). There is no empathy for working women or men who have kids. You are questioned if you take morning calls from home or work from home because you had had a extremely busy day with a lot of meetings and did’nt find time to commute to work. Processes Our department specifically, management hands over work to individuals at the very last minute when they don’t want do that kind of work. Everyone in the team is afraid to talk to top management. Processes are put in place to slow us down rather than to enable us. And these processes are not followed by management and they constantly override it. Career Enablement You are constantly compared to your peers who have more experience and told that you are not performing to a peer who has way more experience than you. We are supposed to have a career enablement model, how is comparing self to peer a career enablement model?

    Workday2019-02-13
  10. "-"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    Good culture and friendly employees

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging

    Workday2018-12-09
Found 26 reviews