Working Solutions Employee Reviews about "independent contractor"

Updated 6 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Working Solutions Chief Executive Kim Houlne
Kim Houlne
286 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is by far the best Work from Home Company I have Contracted for in my 13 years of Working From Home(in 145 reviews)

  • "I have worked for a lot of WAH organizations but have never felt as valued as I do by WSOL(in 37 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "independent contractor"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Great job - if you don't have a personal life"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Virtual Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Working Solutions part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home. This is a legitimate work from home opportunity for working as an independent contractor (no taxes withheld, no benefits).

    Cons

    Ongoing technical problems coupled with constant pressure to maintain quality and schedule adherence. Dealing daily with audio static, echo, system lag and login failures, despite investing in the right equipment. It can be difficult to get daytime, weekday shifts (everyone jumps on the schedule at the same time when it's released weekly). The 20 hour/week minimum is only your 'available' time taking live calls. The calls can be difficult in nature, so breaks are a must - and unpaid. There is a lot of training time and quality assurance review time required to adhere to their expectations - this is done on your own time also. Even if you pick up weekend shifts, expect pressure to work more weekend hours. The login process borders on ridiculous as it can take up to 10 minutes just to log in to each shift (also unpaid).

    Continue reading

    Working Solutions Response

    May 14, 2019CMO

    I hope you have reached out to our technical team with the issues you are raising. That is certainly not the norm.

  2. Helpful (8)

    "A very compassionate company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Working Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management is compassionate, understanding and they are willing and actively trying to improve the customer experience, their independent contractors experience as well as the overall success of everyone

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons for this company.

    Continue reading

    Working Solutions Response

    February 18, 2019CMO

    Thank you so much for your feedback and positive review. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that things are working well!


  3. "Deceptive"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Working Solutions for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home contract work

    Cons

    Very much a clique of progressive females who pick and choose whom gets onto what projects and how much it pays and who does not depending on who you know here and who you "lol" with in the chat rooms. The projects are not really described honestly and allowing you to move about the projects is also deceptive because if you say one thing about a project not suiting you, you get black balled from all other projects no matter how great you did on the project or how hard you worked or tried. Basically all recommendations are made using emotions and playing favorites and not really caring about serving the needs of the Client that is paying them to get the best people on the project. If the recruiters do not like you, for no reason either.....you will be denied all projects and they even twist your words to validate their actions. Not to mention, there is a ton of gossiping and non stop emailing every day about something they want you to do without pay. They expect you to work for free a lot of time joining their round tables and expanded training sessions which are only needed because the Original Training is so bad. Was expecting College level Instruction but got middle school teachers that love to play internet games and draw on the white board then disappear for long periods. Just very poorly run at the Recruiting and Training levels. Sadly, upper management may not be aware that The Recruiters play favorites and hire upwards for better projects only from their cliques risking their contracts. Or that their trainers disappear a lot (maybe picking up their kids at school while supposed to be training) leaving you hanging most of the time. JUST TOO MANY FEMALES and no male energy to keep things Professional. Low pay for the work they ask and 8 or more weeks of unpaid training and lack of flexibility for their highest turn over project, Travel Agent. Which is also deceptive as you will not be a Travel Agent, you will be a Call Center grunt in a Travel Related business which is very abusive with tons of complaints from the callers. Highly stressful and non stop nagging about everything you do. Clients are also mainly females that cannot operate their software properly and call in attacking you when it was clearly their mistake. So, think twice before thinking you will be trained on Sabre and properly and for sure you will not be booking trips but mainly handling big complicated complaints for low pay and zero respect. The Micro managing is beyond belief and I suppose they must have a lot of free time to do so....so this will not feel like an Independent Contractor job, it will feel like a Call Center pushing metrics even when the client says to give White Glove Service. They offer incentives but I have never seen any one receive anything promised. They always say , "oh we didn't hit our goal so we cannot give away any incentives" after pushing you to believe you will. So just a major disappointment and please ignore the fake reviews here that say all is wonderful because it is not. They also require you to give a minimum of 20 hours and will get on you if you do not do it, however, they will cut your hours without notice when they feel like it so just be aware that things are not as they appear to be at this job. If upper management would take this seriously and make the changes, the Model would work but right now it is way out of control with a lot of Managers not doing anything to make this company better. In fact they are making it worse. Monitor Recruiters and their actions and maybe move them around so it is not the same person shutting you down when you are applying for other projects. They are hurting WS by not being professional and they are NOT serving the clients needs. Most of the time they are getting paid to do nothing or nag others. VERY Disappointing and there are signs of losing big contracts soon and this comes directly from the callers. I would like to think you care but not convinced as this seems to be long standing issue that has been ignored since I have read same in the real reviews for a few years......Good luck with keeping contracts with the crew you have now. It would be nice to have some Male energy in Recruiting because Men tend to be more professional in dealing with employees and women tend to be PERSONAL hence hurting the company.

    Continue reading

    Working Solutions Response

    June 19, 2019CMO

    Thank you for your feedback...but I am just one more "female" responding to you....so can't help you in providing "male" energy....

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Comments on WSOL"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Resources Coordinator in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Working Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love working with WSOL. Have been with them almost 5 years. Love being a independent contractor . Management Team is always great on each project. There here to help us not hurt us. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need help. Irene

    Cons

    hate when sometimes hours are not avail.

    Working Solutions Response

    July 25, 2017CMO

    Thank you so much for your review and feedback. So happy that you have such positive feedback and have been with us for 5 year. Let's keep your track record going! We appreciate you and what you do for our clients and their customers.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Resource Coordinator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Working Solutions

    Pros

    make your own schedule, awesome leadership and resources, provided training for program, some programs do not require a landline

    Cons

    pay is low, independent contractor, calls are back to back for some programs, long application process, must have decent computer and sometimes two monitors

    Working Solutions Response

    January 18, 2018CMO

    We appreciate your feedback and review

  6. Helpful (2)

    "WSOL in a Nutshell"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Working Solutions Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Working Solutions

    Pros

    Flexibility of Independent Contracting Industry Leading Telecommuting Company Open Door Policy Amongst Management Easy Access to Helpful Resources for Professional Development Provides Quick & Efficient Technical Support WSOL Makes an Excellent Effort to Advocate for their Independent Contractors Major Team Spirit & Excellent, Diverse Culture Among Co-Workers

    Cons

    Scheduling is Difficult (Systems are Old/Outdated & Slow) Email Platform is Not User Friendly

    Working Solutions Response

    July 26, 2017CMO

    Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We certainly appreciate your kind words. We are always working on improving our systems. I know our tech and ops teams would love to hear your feedback on improvements. Please comment directly to them or on the Vyne. Thanks!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "WSOL Independent Contractor-Agent Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Independent Contractor in Freehold, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Working Solutions for more than a year

    Pros

    Very well organized and run. Agent support staff is extensive and sincerely dedicated to providing outstanding support to Independent Contractors so that we in turn can provide great service to the many wonderful Working Solutions clients.

    Cons

    Only that there aren't more companies like Working Solutions.

    Continue reading

    Working Solutions Response

    January 18, 2018CMO

    Thank you so much!!! Not sure how I missed your review but certainly appreciate it!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome remote job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Guest Relations Reservations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Working Solutions for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working from home as independent contractor flexible schedule great team management great love this place highly recommend

    Cons

    The pay per min ,hours can flucuate as with any job overall great remote job

    Working Solutions Response

    March 24, 2017CMO

    Thank you so much for your "awesome" review...we really appreciate it!

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Flexible"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Agent in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Working Solutions for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work from home.

    Cons

    Low pay, and independent contractor

    Continue reading

    Working Solutions Response

    February 9, 2017CMO

    I'm sorry you did not have an optimal experience in working with us but thank you for your feedback. Good luck with your next opportunity.

  10. Helpful (20)

    "This company used to be phenomenal and now it is a joke"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Working Solutions

    Pros

    It is a work at home job, which provides some level of flexibility

    Cons

    This company used to be phenomenal . Fantastic trainers, amazing leadership, amazing. They have lost several huge contracts with very reputable companies. When that happened, they gave their independent contractors' two weeks notice before the holidays with no fair warning. The project manager's have resorted to bullying when the schedule is not filled and forcing the contractor's to move over to different areas of the project even if they are not scheduled for it. The training is awful and the agents' are completely unprepared. The projects that are now available are sub-par to anything that was previously contracted. One is a vacation scam (basically) and the other is a health project that gets horrible reviews. I'm shocked that Working Solutions has resorted to this just to say that they have projects. Several of the things that project managers' are doing is completely illegal in regards to independent contractor laws. Scheduling is a joke. When you try to schedule hours, everything is gone within seconds and you're stuck trying to peace meal a schedule and when you inquire about it with upper management, they're reply is "if you're not happy, resign."

    Continue reading

    Working Solutions Response

    January 24, 2017CMO

    I am sorry that you are having such a negative experience with us. The company leaders including myself are very open to speaking to any agent that has issues particularly if you feel you cannot go to your direct manager and have exhausted other possibilities. If you want to discuss I can be reached at grigler@workingsol.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 English Reviews