Workplace Systems Reviews

Updated May 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 of over 92 reviews

4.6
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workplace Systems CEO David Farquhar
David Farquhar
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits are unbeatable and the work/life balance is unreal(in 10 reviews)

  • "The best part of working at Workplace is the senior management team(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It does have some legacy technical debt(in 7 reviews)

  • "I have yet to find too many cons, it is hard work and there is a pressure that comes from a strong need to play your part and support your peers(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    679

    219 Comments

    Tech

    82.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Workplace Systems~12294
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The company you can learn a lot from

      May 22, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managing changes in a good pace in a safe environment.

      Cons

      Some more benefits would have made the company more attractive for employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Employer of my Career

      Aug 24, 2016 - Software Test Engineer in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely the best working environment I've ever had the good fortune to find myself in. A fantastic culture, a world class product team, great and trusting management who Actually Get It, motivated and passionate coworkers. I can't see myself moving on for a good long time, which in this industry is about the most glowing review I could give! After years of mediocre jobs, this has been the absolute jewel in my career. And, surprise surprise given all this, I've never worked harder for a company.

      Cons

      If I was pressed I'd say the lack of hierarchy means career progression opportunities in a traditional sense are limited, but given the recent takeover this seems likely to change anyway. No complaints - professional development IS on offer.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      Thanks for such a heartening review! I really holpe you get the opportunities you deserve under the new regime. - David

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great place to work

      Aug 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Workplace is a great place to work. Now I'm not saying that everything the Company does is perfect (there are always things for every Company to work on), but its the one place I've worked that tries to do everything the right way, putting its employees first to ensure they get the best out of them. When I first arrived, I was totally unprepared for all the 'Good Ship Workplace' vernacular and actual team spirit that I'd arrived into.....it was not something I'd ever experienced......and once you get over the shock of working for a Company that actually lives by its core values (not just has them printed on a wall somewhere and ignored) you soon start to embrace it and love it. Workplace's collaborative team mentality is amazing to work within, and new ideas are encouraged, listened to and implemented. This kind of atmosphere encourages an awful lot of hard work because everyone wants to do their best in return.

      Cons

      Too minor to raise on here

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      This is so encouraging and really kind of you to say so. Although you can follow your own belief system you never really know whether you are haing the desired effect. Your coments made me smile today. - David

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice place to work

      Jul 26, 2016 - Software & Customer Support Analyst in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice place to begin your career

      Cons

      salary may not be great for a start

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      We always strive to deliver on our promises as I believe the other reviews reflect. It would have been god to have the chance to discuss any concerns before you left but thanjks anyway. - David

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome team, awesome company

      Jul 8, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's hard, but hard in the right way. The team is fantastic and the culture is wonderfully nurturing. The work is tough but the ambition and drive for quality is awesome. The shared sense of care for the work we do transcends all levels of the company and they've created a wonderful environment where people can be successful.

      Cons

      The roof currently leaks and engineers would really benefit from higher resolution external screens. Engineers are battling with a lot of legacy code but in reality, who isn't? There's also a great drive to make it better rather than just living with it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      Thanks for the feedback: you've clearly fully imbibed what we're trying to achieve. I have passed your request for high res screens on to Dale, Ronan and Angela. - David

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great team, great culture, great company!!

      Jun 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At the companies I've worked previous to Workplace I've thought about leaving after 2 weeks as the role/culture wasn't as described or the company didn't feel like the right fit, so before joining Workplace there was a little trepidation in terms of will it be as they say it is? Since joining Workplace I'm very happy to say that I haven't had those feelings, everything is as described during the interview process and Workplace feels like the company I've been looking for. From the minute you walk into the building you can feel/see a completely different culture to any where you may have worked before. What I enjoy most about working here is the openness to change and being able to bring new ideas to the table without being told "Well we've always done it that way, so why change?!". Workplace is a fast paced company and during my time here I have been consistently challenged and enjoyed being to able rise to that challenge. Since joining the company I have been able to improve my Agile knowledge, extend my management skill set, work with a great team and learned that my career path doesn't have to be one dimensional.

      Cons

      No kitchen roll in the thirdspace

      1 person found this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      Thanks for the vote of confidence! I am delighted that we have lived up to the expectations set at interview. Oh, and I'll mention the kitchen roll to Dale... David

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great products, great company

      Jun 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's nothing better than working in an environment where everyone believes in the products that we have created. Everyone at Workplace is constantly striving for further innovation and ways to make the products we sell better for our current and prospective customers. Additionally, Workplace employees enjoy flexibility and a good work-life balance.

      Cons

      There is space for improvement on some of the additional work benefits but, I believe, this is something which is being looked at and there have been improvements in the last few months, i.e. flexibile benefits portal, Cycle to Work schemes etc.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      I'm glad you've cited our appetite for innovation: the key thing is it that thanks to your spirit, it comes from the whole crew not top down from management. I'd agree we have room to develop the additional benefits: please discuss your suggestions with Angela, Claire and the EEG. Calire is publishing more of these every month. Thanks! - David

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Software developer

      Apr 20, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have computers and allow you to write software that works really well if you write it correctly with the correct syntax and no bugs.

      Cons

      You can be told off if you stop working or if you stop going into work without a valid reason that you can get away with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      Pros Fun, you could have: Replace a semi colon (;) witha Greek question mark (;) in your friend's C# code and watch him pull his hair out over the syntax error. Cons: "Getting Away with It" was the first single by the English band Electronic, which comprised Bernard Sumner of New Order, ex-Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr, and guesting vocalist Neil Tennant of Pet Shop Boys. I never liked New Order, The Smiths or the Pet Shop Boys, but thanks for the entertaining review. Lovin' the 5 stars, dude - David

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing atmosphere

      Apr 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture is amazing, the place is full of excellent people who enjoy working and having fun together. This is also an organisation that truly embrace agile methodologies, starting from engineering to all across professional services. People at Workplace thrive to get better at what they do and how they do it together.

      Cons

      Continuous success in bringing in more sales, acquiring new customers or upselling to existing ones result in extra pressure all across the business due to technical debt and legacy issues on the technical front.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      Thanks for the great feedback. This is what mnakes us successful and different from your average software company. Growing pains are inevitable and the engineering guys are investing heavily in simplifying and making the deployment of our software easier all the time. I promnise we'll keep up that effort. - David

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Brilliant Place to Work

      Nov 30, 2015 -  in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having been a part of Workplace for over a year now, I can honestly say, time has flown by. The interaction and support between the execs, management, departments and global offices reflects a true collaborate working team atmosphere. It's a breath of fresh air to work for a company that truly cares for both their employees and customers.

      Cons

      I don't feel that there are any cons

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Workplace Systems Response

      Group CEO

      And it's very reassuring to know that you can feel the benefit. I promise we will keep on the voyage - our work here is far from done! - Thanks, David

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 90 Reviews

    Work at Workplace Systems? Share Your Experiences

    or