World Animal Protection Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 of over 128 reviews

3.7
82%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
World Animal Protection Chief Executive Steve McIvor (no image)
Steve McIvor
11 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Rome wasn't built in a day... a place for those with vision and determination!

    Sep 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organisation does some truly outstanding work, and it takes a different approach to protecting animals than other charities. It has some innovative campaigns and is responsible for some major wins over the years, of which I'm proud to have been a part of. There are plenty of positive, passionate people who you get to work with on a daily basis. If you're lucky, you'll get to witness some of the work first-hand around the world. But not everyone gets this chance, because it's not the primary way change is made. And if you work hard, opportunities will come your way to work on different projects, new campaigns, and with new people, and to step up.

    Cons

    The culture of the organisation has taken a hit recently. It's not perfect. No surprises there. But find me a company without its challenges. There have been big changes across the organisation over the last 24 months, and as with all change there are winners and and there are losers. You tend to find that people who have an axe to grind will find their way to Glassdoor quicker than others, hence the dominating sentiment across most of these reviews. My advice to those people: if you're unhappy, ask yourself why you're still there. You're doing neither yourself nor the organisation and the cause (protecting animals!) any favours. So it does mean that you have to find your motivation from within and not from those you work with. Yes, that can be tough day to day, but you need to remember why you're here and what you're trying to achieve. There's no place in an organisation like this for people who just want to rest on their laurels and complain. Animals need our help, and nothing should get in the way of getting the job done.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ruthless. Nepotistic. Indecisive. Damaging. Avoid.

    Nov 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make animals' lives better. Work with other committed staff. Flexible working.

    Cons

    Overblown planning processes, short term thinking on theories of change; more focused on making noise than real impact. Often short on technical capability. Ruthless and incompetent management, fearful working environment. I only realized how much damage it had done to my integrity and sense of competence after I left. HR are woefully incompetent and careless, making several important mistakes. It was a learning experience, not one I am keen to repeat. My performance reviews were always really positive, but by the end I didn't think I was capable of anything.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great organisation striving to be world class

    Oct 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great organisation making a difference to animals worldwide. Flexibile workplace and not a long hours culture that I have experienced in other charities. Accessible and capable senior management team. Great monthly staff meetings which showcase our work across the world. I am proud to work at this organisation.

    Cons

    Like many organisations going through a change process there is tension in some areas. However, the organisation is working with colleagues to improve the employee experience and culture. Many of these posts on this board relate to the past, not the current working experience which is much improved in terms of accountability and openness and connection to our country offices and our animal impact.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Avoid WAP like the plague. They wouldn't treat animals the way they treat their staff.

    Nov 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the people have great intentions and are there for the right reasons, to make a difference to the lives of millions of animals around the world. Working in pretty unfriendly circumstances brings staff closer together.

    Cons

    Seems to attract the very worst types of management all the way to the top, regardless of which 'regime' is in charge. Significant issues continue around CEO promoting those he is 'close' too. This was a problem with the previous CEO and remains today. Ongoing issue of the organisation raising millions of pounds every years off the back of issues (particularly bears) that very little attention is paid to and a tiny fraction of that money is spent on. This is a dishonesty to the loyal and amazing supporters that is now accepted across the organisation but is appalling. The preservation of organisational and fundraising growth is put ahead of the supporters and benefits to animal welfare. I have never heard of an organisation causing more people to become physically and mentally ill than here. Numerous staff members have been off on sick leave caused at least in part by the pressures the organisation unfairly puts on them and the manner in which they are managed. Seems to be a new (or 'refreshed') strategy every year or so. Causes widespread confusion and doesn't allow staff to plan long-term. Constant issues of budgets being slashed and then suddenly under spends being announced so money is miraculously recovered and spent on projects with little strategy involved. Along with changing strategies comes staff restructures which are expected each year. First comes a protracted consultation (where feedback is routinely ignored) and then staff not seen as loyal to senior management are made redundant, with various payoffs depending what dirt they have on the organisation and the CEO. But then surprise surprise, within a few months virtually the same job is advertised for but with a different job title. I wouldn't recommend this organisation to my worst enemy and I would tell potential donors to go elsewhere if they want to see it a positive difference for animals. Working there creates a bunker mentality and drains all energy possible. I genuinely hope the appropriate governing bodies do a full enquiry into the issues at this organisation as I do not believe anything short of this will actually change the shocking way it has been run.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad management and decreasing reputation

    Sep 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexi working hours WSPA used to do decent job

    Cons

    Helping animals isn't their priority anymore. People who lead the organisation have little knowledge about animal welfare and take important decisions without consulting experts. There is no freedom to do things, everything is dictated from people above you. There is micromanagement at all levels and it really drives you crazy when someone is almost spying on you and not letting you do your job because they are extremely controlling and have trust issues. They never recruit people on time and there are gaps that are not filled for long time, this makes it harder for you to do your job.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Painful...

    Sep 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working hours are good - no need to work extremely long hours.

    Cons

    Coming to work most days makes me want to slit my wrists. A lot of colleagues do not have any interpersonal or teamworking skills and they come across really confrontational. They will not thank you for putting in the hours to do your job but they will make you feel rubbish if you make a mistake, no matter how small it is. It's all a blame game.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Inspiring cause, with hardworking, passionate and intelligent professionals

    Jul 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Inspiring cause, with hardworking, passionate professionals. Good internal career opportunities. If you have initiative, drive and a proactive mind-set, you can shape and lead your work and really contribute to delivering a positive impact. An organisation with a heart, that is moving in the right direction. Informative and inspiring internal monthly staff meetings.

    Cons

    Management relating behaviours, in some teams, could be more courteous, which the organisation is working to address.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Mixed

    Jul 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff dedicated to the cause.

    Cons

    Frustration as rigid strategy interferes with opportunities to get results

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Miserable

    Jul 4, 2017 -  in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Shared trauma creates good friendships.

    Cons

    This organisation is constantly trying to prove to itself that it can do the job it purports to do, but fails in almost every way. Working here was a daily professional and personal slap in the face. As for work environment, you will observe adults behave like spoilt children after following the example set by senior management. Hard workers, late stayers and those with the most relevant sector experience will be bullied, exploited and demoralised, as they watch those in bed with the CEO promoted. I’ve never worked anywhere else with such a high turnover rate, or so many taking stress leave to recover from doing their office-based jobs. Do yourself a favour and work for a charity that cares about its employees, recognises effort, and applauds genuine passion for the cause. Steer clear of this soul destroying black hole in the animal welfare movement, where supporter donations go to die.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Human Resources

    Dec 6, 2016 - Human Resources in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really good opportunities for Learning, Development and progression. Good Leadership at Senior Level.

    Cons

    Need to develop middle management

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 57 Reviews

Popular Careers with World Animal Protection Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at World Animal Protection? Share Your Experiences

World Animal Protection logo
or