Wyevale Garden Centres Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wyevale Garden Centres Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 291 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
10%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Wyevale Garden Centres CEO Roger Mclaughlan
Roger Mclaughlan
104 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Head office are useless and have no idea how a shop operates(in 65 reviews)

  • "Overworked, zero staff incentives, minimum wage for hard work(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Retail assistant review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible, nice staff, nice working environment

    Cons

    Pay is a bit above average, can't really complain.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Wyevale Garden Centres2018-08-31
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Driver in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment good people nice work

    Cons

    Long hours tricky to understand customers needs

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-06-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, the lower tier staff are lovely, days are normally standard timings

    Cons

    Shifts are longs with breaks varying, the pay is not great and the hours are too long for what it's worth. Serious flaws in management and some Co workers are just rude. Future of company largely unknown. Chronically understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Look after the lower tier staff, they put up with far too much for far too little.

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-06-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Those left be prepared to be used"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time

    Pros

    Staff discount and many valued workers underneath me made it worth while.

    Cons

    No Progression and if any you did get that chance you would be made redundant with in a year. HR is a joke as are only put there to protect the Managers that had no people skills. Maintenance was quick however constantly overcharged for bodge jobs regularly. Catering team in head office have always been good however the best ones have left and now left with the rude ones. Customer service that dont have a clue how...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Four years ago I would recommend working for Wyevale but now I wouldn't even put a homeless unemployed person through this experience. Stop using your left over Employees and just cash in....

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-06-04
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Disgustingly Useless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The discount there are no others.

    Cons

    Micromanaging. Lack of compassion. Breeding of distrust. Ever changing goalposts in one day. Use and abuse good members of staff. Staff who have been working outside with compost and items covered in rat excrement are dragged into the restaurant to work in the name of multiskilling. A health hazard waiting to happen.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of setting your staff against one another why not try talking to them. Two centres I have worked in, the GCMs are laughable. One who would be found asleep in empty concessions units and one who had zero clue of how to deal with staff members older than himself Before hauling people in to situations, it’s preferable to get your facts straight.

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-06-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Space Planning Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great products, great offer

    Cons

    uncertainty, lack of strategy, level of change

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-04-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time

    Pros

    Good values toward customer experience Colleagues friendly and worked as a team at all levels

    Cons

    Overtime expected at a few hours notice

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-04-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "constant changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House in Diss, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, nice managers

    Cons

    desperate for staff so will hire anybody even if they are useless

    Advice to Management

    more staff motivation

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-04-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Working at Wyevale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible and paid holiday even for part time staff

    Cons

    Very bad at communication with colleagues and also my store in particular hasn’t had a manager since December, apart from when we had a manager for about three weeks before he also left.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with staff better

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-04-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount scheme and pleasant surroundings

    Cons

    Bullying culture, no recognition of effort

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-04-05
Found 291 reviews