Wyevale Garden Centres Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wyevale Garden Centres Reviews

Updated 1 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
16%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Wyevale Garden Centres CEO Roger Mclaughlan
Roger Mclaughlan
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Head office are useless and have no idea how a shop operates(in 67 reviews)

  • "Overworked, zero staff incentives, minimum wage for hard work(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays a little more than minimum wage, flexible hours

    Cons

    Small contracts mainly 16 hrs

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-02-11
  2. "Was a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, stunning location surrounded by plants, generous staff discount

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-10-01
  3. "Merchandising, planning and trading."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Brentford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team spirit, discounts and sample sales.

    Cons

    Company is in the process of selling the garden centres.

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-09-22
  4. "Wyevale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Close team Fun environment

    Cons

    Sometimes under staffed Till system out of date

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-09-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Really great experience and opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TILL Operator and Floor Assisany in Kingston near Lewes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working with Wyevale, they got me trained up very quickly on there elearning system, which worked well in moderation. As soon as I was on floor at the job I felt one of the team and everyone was very welcoming and always willing to show me the ropes. During working there I learnt how to use the till which was simple enough and the regular people coming in kept me busy. When I wasn't on the till I... was watering and in-store placing different products. One of my favourites things to do was engaging with the customers, everyone was most of the time very nice and always grateful for your help how big or small.

    Show More

    Cons

    I didn't manage to having many cons at Wyevale, lunch breaks where quite lonely but you get that alot places. My main criticism was a member staff who was particularly discriminating and aggressive. This put me in a state of uncomfort and unfortunately made me go my own ways. However, I would definitely recommend Wyevale just hope you have more luck with your managers.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice, I'm sure the member of staff has been sorted out as there was alot of complaints. But, overall everything was pretty organised and we managed to reach target most weeks which felt good.

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-09-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Staff experience means nothing to Wyevale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The staff discount is great

    Cons

    HO have no understanding of the quantity of stock to send to a small centre. Highly pressurised with quantity of work versus cut in shifts.

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-08-29
  7. "Very quiet job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, quiet workdays, mostly friendly customers

    Cons

    Managers need to do better, underpay fully trained staff members, not allowed to sit down

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-08-19
  8. "Not great at communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Expert 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wyevale Garden Centres full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sociable hours, friendly staff, happy work environment

    Cons

    Head office communication dire, company being sold but no news for over a year and then we hear from customers or the news what is happening

    Advice to Management

    Communicate!!!

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-08-19
  9. "Job at wyevale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time

    Pros

    Generous discount on garden centre products

    Cons

    Very poor management and staff conduct

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-09-11
  10. "Not too bad for a 1st job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

    I worked at Wyevale Garden Centres part-time

    Pros

    Good work, not too hard or complex

    Cons

    Pay could be a bit higher

    Wyevale Garden Centres2019-07-25
Found 303 reviews