XLN Account Management Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

XLN Account Management Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
XLN CEO Neil Conaghan
Neil Conaghan
0 Rating
  1. "XLN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management Team Leader in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working at XLN in Sheffield in Janruary 2016 and its been the best two years. I started off working in the Account Management Deprtment i passed probation at just 5 months then after 1 year i was promoted to a Senior Account Manager after a while i plucked up the courage to apply internally for a Team Leader roll which i was successful in! Everyone is valued and progression is an option if your willing to show hard work and determination. Also the hours of work is the hours of which everyone wants! Monday-Friday 9-6 / 8:30-5:30 with one Saturday in four weeks which is only a four hour shift of 10am-2pm. What more could you want? I can honestly say i enjoy coming to work and not many people can say that. Join XLN and you will not be disappointed

    Cons

    I am unable to think of any cons!

    XLN2018-01-18

    XLN Response

    January 16, 2019HR

    Hi there, So thrilled that you enjoy coming to work every day. You're right - not many can say that. Thanks for your attitude and this lovely review - and keep up the good work. Shamilla

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (8)

    "XLN-ent at making it up as they go along"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is in a nice location in regard to transport links. Free pool table, PS4 with 2 games (good if you love Fifa), 2 TVs in the break room, foosball table, free hot drinks, free fruit on Mondays if you're fortunate to get something you like once the vultures and gannets have taken all the choice items even though it's supposed to be "1 per person" so if you like apples you're sorted and free "breakfast" (mainly undercooked sausages in sweaty buns and processed egg powder in the same buns until they changed suppliers to one who used actual eggs) on a Friday the same "1 per person" rule applies so you need to be faster than Usain Bolt to get something that's edible and warm.

    Cons

    Where to begin without sounding bitter about being let go from the "number 1 supplier" in B2B telecoms sadly it'll come across as that to people so I shall just start at the beginning Recruitment and training. The infinite monkey theorem states that a monkey hitting keys at random on a typewriter for an infinite amount of time will type a given text, such as the complete works of William Shakespeare this principle also applies to the slapdash recruitment system of the 1st line agents, the management feel if they recruit everyone in Sheffield they might actually get some good agents with common sense but what they fail to see is that the training is so below par Rory McIlroy would win titles everyday if it was a golf score. The training process if you are fortunate to be given training even though they have a team but what they truly seem to do apart from collect wages at the end of the month is a mystery. The ones who don't get training get lumbered with members of staff who have to train them and it's like a long winded game of pass the agent as training takes time but they still expect you to sweat blood and go above and beyond but sadly you can't do both. Fortunately enough the ones who do get training (which is rare unless it's a big group of new starters) get 2 weeks of learning about telecoms and the tariffs but not how to handle customers which you feel would be high on the priorities for a company that prides itself on service, however XLN go down a different road .... sell sell sell and do you know what sell some more. So with that ringing in your ear you're chucked on the phones to deal with every problem under the sun and told to sell and also get reviews on trust pilot to make it seem like they're a trustworthy company. This leads to another gripe some of the agents who got the most reviews could do no wrong in the companies eyes and got rewarded even though the reviews were based on lies that the agents couldn't deliver and usually ended up in complaints that had to be dealt with by senior members of the staff and usually cost a fair amount to resolve but who cared so long as that 5 star review was still up. The calling floor should've had the sign from the entrance to hell in Dante's inferno "Abandon all hope, ye who enter here" for at times it was hotter than hell due to the company not being able to control the temperature. The general atmosphere was subdued and tetchy due to not being allowed to talk to people in your own team let alone other departments, heaven forbid you go to the toilet as well, this strictness was dependant on who your manager was and whether they were a golden child in the hierarchies eyes. Phones were not allowed for Data protection reasons yet management were allowed there's and so were other departments even though they had access to the same systems. Work attire got changed from office wear to smart casual due to one of the inequalities being challenged successfully much to the despair of the HR team. HR as a rule should be easily accessible and visible so people can go talk to them to raise issues, XLN's however are locked away in their separate room almost hidden from everyone in the company. However raising an issue with something was a sure fire way to be in the firing line for disciplinary proceedings. The disciplinary process is almost laughable as the outcome is 99.9% determined before being raised the recordings and documentation are merely a formality even if you have raised sufficient evidence and pointed out inconsistencies across the business. Staff retention is almost non existent as most people leave after a few months due to targets which are usually unobtainable for commission or over zealous team leaders who just know bullying tactics and have no real skills to interact with people in any other way. This leads the customer getting passed from pillar to post until they eventually end at a senior members desk who has the knowledge to deal with the issue.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-09-01
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Shambolic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN

    Pros

    Free breakfast on Friday mornings - e.g. bacon/sausage/egg roll - most weeks these are edible Break room with ps4, two large televisions, fussball and pool tables They also SOMETIMES pay you - which is always a bonus when you are employed You will develop a keen interest in employment law It makes any other job look appealing These 'Pros' will seem awfully trivial in comparison with the infinite negatives but I would like to stress that this is all factual and purely for informative purposes.

    Cons

    The Company, Despite their affirmations to the contrary, XLN do not care whatsoever about their customer base and loosely adhere to the conditions set out by the regulator. Contracts and invoices are ambiguous and often illegitimate, with their intention to acquire as much money as possible from the customer without their prior knowledge. Whilst, I will not use this platform to outline instances in which XLN have broken protocol set out by OfCOM (primarily as there are too many to count), you will be expected to defend these to the customer, despite how ethically ambiguous they may be. Imagine making a sale for a new 2 year contract and then later that month phoning back the customer to advise the price has gone up 50% and there is nothing they can do about it...this genuinely happens. Environment Staff are packed in like battery chickens, with two people per desk. This was seen as a temporary measure but has been the case for over a year despite numerous complaints. This is compounded by the fact that for some reason the company has never been able to control the temperature on their floor, which sees daily highs of 30 degrees plus. Systems are unreliable and outdated. Training and Development, Training is minimal if done at all. My department recently had new starters who were provided with zero training and this is not uncommon. If you are joining during a large recruitment drive then you may be given a general induction but if not, expect to thrust into the job with little prior knowledge of what it will entail or how should work within it. XLN do not assess the quality of work in a fair or accurate way, as this would make it more difficult to dismiss you at a later stage, making any comment on personal development rather difficult. As there is high staff turnover, positions elsewhere do arise regularly but do not expect your suitability to be assessed based on your work output. This can be particularly damaging to your personal growth as XLN will persistently enforce the idea upon you that no matter how bad it may seem, you cannot do better. XLN did promise to introduce accredited courses you could take to increase your skillset, however this was no more than the offer of entry level BTECH qualification in Customer Service. This naturally came with the condition that if you left the business during this course, you would then be responsible for paying the entire fee and this was not open to those who had already held a higher education qualification. Management Most managers are hilariously out of their depth as recruitment for these positions is not based on merit. As the Directors are far removed from how the business actually works, how the services are received by customers, and are more interested in reducing the pay-out of commissions; the policies they administer are unrealistic, short-sighted and at times nonsensical. This assertion has legitimised managers giving irrelevant and/or monotonous tasks, delivered in an extremely pedantic and inefficient way to 'fill the time.' Should these be challenged, you will be dismissed. Should you provide an alternative solution, you will be dismissed. Should you query these for clarity, then you will be lied to and then disciplined should you query it further. As you can imagine, for a business as unrepentantly haphazard as XLN, service issues arise regularly. Managers are rightly held accountable for department failings but this will be against the initial unreasonable objectives. As such, instead of examining the areas of concern and providing suitable improvements, managers will look to deflect blame on their staff members and will consistently misrepresent the truth to cover their own back. As the company is not concerned with facts, managers will genuinely fabricate anything they wish to in order to ensure you are disciplined for their errors to ensure their credibility is not compromised, even when provided with tangible evidence to prove otherwise. Members of staff have been and continue to be dismissed for falsifications. Micro management is used as a means to detract away from company and managerial deficiencies and place these on an isolated member of staff despite how tenuous this may be. HR Whether it be with customers or staff, XLN like to make their policies up as they go along. There is a common view that this is done with the assumption that you do not know your rights and they will try to exploit this. Whilst this is true to an extent, the reality is that they are so incompetent and careless that they simply do not understand procedure particularly with regards to employee rights. The policies are not worth the paper they are written on and in some instances you may even be reprimanded for following them. Word of advice - DO NOT raise a grievance. HR are purely there to execute the agenda of management regardless of justification. As naturally a grievance reflects poorly on management, instead of addressing the issue, they will attempt to remove you from the business to shut you up.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-08-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Management in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN

    Pros

    Been working at xln for over a year now and I can honestly say career progression is a reality if you want it to be. Some great benefits and a fantastic new bonus scheme introduced for all make it a better time than ever to work at xln. People are great, trainers are knowledgeable and helpful, Management and Senior Management are approachable for employees of all levels across the business. And with the right working attitude, anyone who is anyone can make a solid career for themselves at xln. It’s upsetting to read the odd ‘bitter’ review and how inaccurate the company is portrayed. Any organisation will have its disgruntled employees who couldn’t cut it. If you want to make it, then hands down I’ve not seen better opportunities than xln for career development and progression. It’s a relatively flat structure and the exposure is there, for good and bad.

    Cons

    It can be tough if you're afraid of hard work. Many products to learn... but the support is there if you need it.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-03-09
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Would not recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Management in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work One Saturday in every 4, free breakfast on a Friday and free coffee.

    Cons

    Team leaders are a joke and highly unprofessional, HR are as approachable as an house on fire! No progression and you will be treated like a number not a human! Also you will be absused by the customers on a daily basis as the company is the biggest rip off ever and only use the cheapest products!

    Continue reading
    XLN2015-10-28
  6. "Training over!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just finished my two weeks account management training, feeling ready to take my first calls, training was extensive, fast paced but with plenty of time for revision, and help whenever you need it! I would highly recommend this training structure to others. Thanks Matt!

    Cons

    Learning about faults was somewhat sped through but in all honesty there was a lot to learn, but if you were stuck then there was support when needed.

    Continue reading
    XLN2015-07-17

    XLN Response

    September 15, 2015Director

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review . I am glad your experience has been a positive one, we pride ourselves on the training we provide our new starters and work hard to give everyone the best start possible with their career in XLN. Sam Williams, Senior HR Director.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Too funny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Management in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN

    Pros

    Clearly they are taking this seriously as they are getting managers to write fluff....foreign concept ??? I think from what I hear across the floor is what's foreign is the ability to make a sale ..

    Cons

    Where have all the good managers gone ? Ran away from CEO ????

    Continue reading
    XLN2015-08-07

    XLN Response

    August 12, 2015Director

    Hi, I would like the opportunity to further understand your concerns. I’m in Sheffield this Thursday & Friday this week (13th & 14th August) so let’s catch up. Saeed Sheikh, Director of Account Management.

    Continue reading
  8. "Account management induction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just finished my 2 week training course with Matt broadbent, excellent experience and excellent trainer, very informative and friendly and I feel comfortable going on to phones. As well as the training the company on a whole seems like an amazing place to be and work and highly looking forward to impressing and progressing as far as possible. As well as a great environment the people here are also great to get along with as well with being more than happy to lend a hand.

    Cons

    No cons up to now

    Continue reading
    XLN2015-04-24

    XLN Response

    April 27, 2015PR & Social Media Manager

    Thanks for the great feedback! We're so happy you enjoyed the training and have the confidence getting on the phones this week. Good luck! Thanks :)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Don't work for XLN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN

    Pros

    I heard the new offices, in Sheffield are very nice and modern. (rented not owned as far as i know)

    Cons

    Bad management, very questionable business practices, disgusting treatment of staff, bully culture. 0 pay rises, you can work for 10 years and still be on the exact same wage.

    Continue reading
    XLN2015-03-12

    XLN Response

    March 18, 2015PR & Social Media Manager

    Hi there, your feedback is much appreciated. You have raised a number of concerns which we take very seriously and will look into as a priority. If you’d like to discuss this in more detail, please drop us an email at HR@xlntelecom.co.uk or we're happy to discuss in person should you wish to – thanks

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews