XLN Employee Reviews about "hard work"

Updated 24 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
XLN CEO Neil Conaghan
Neil Conaghan
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Monthly drinks and free breakfast once a week(in 26 reviews)

  • "As a department manager now myself, I know for a fact that through hard work and a good attitude you can get places in this company(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Team leaders are a joke and highly unprofessional, HR are as approachable as an house on fire(in 7 reviews)

  • "If you want to keep your job then jump through hoops and avoid eye contact with senior members of staff(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Happy Employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tram Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at XLN for a number of years now and can honestly say I've had fantastic career progression. I started off as an agent and am now in a more senior position. Hard work definitely pays off. Staff are friendly, HR is supportive, Training are helpful and Managers want the best out of you, if you want it too.

    Cons

    The pressure for results is there, personally I thrive in that environment. I wanted a career and that’s what I’m building for myself. A lot of people can’t handle a little bit of pressure and end up being disgruntled, it’s not for lazy people who want an easy ride here. Not really a ‘con’ just a heads up.

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-08-09

    XLN Response

    August 23, 2018HR Manager

    Hi, It's great to hear you've benefited from internal promotions - recruiting from within is something we're really proud of, so it's always wonderful to hear the stories of those who've come up through the business. We're also glad you noticed that we're results driven. Again, it's something we're proud of and it's one of the main reasons for our success. That said, we'd like to note that we do offer support and guidance wherever it's needed, as well as a comprehensive training program to make sure team members are never put into situations they haven't been prepared for. Thanks, Ameena

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn’t recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broadband Specialist in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great friendships to be made, fantastic break rooms and extras included as standard such as free drinks every last Friday of the month, free fresh local fruit on Tuesdays and free breakfast on a Friday Shifts on broadband range from 8am-8pm and 1 Saturday in every 3, not everyone’s cup of tea but personally I have always found this as a bonus as you get a day off in the week and it’s nice to do 11-8 every now and then. They have tried their best to keep staff employed during the corona virus outbreak and majority are working from home with full pay.

    Cons

    No car parking available - can use public car park but this ranges from 40-80 a month. Staff often complain about the office being too hot, never anything being done about this. Little appreciation for hard work, progression can be made but most likely would earn less money as you get no pay rise, put more hours in and no bonus available. When I joined was a great environment people were motivated to progress and opportunities were there if you put your head down but in the past 6-12 months it has become a very negative environment, you over hear a lot of staff who are wanting to leave, a lot of senior agents already gone and now left with newer less knowledgeable people and with less support it is very evident that they are struggling. There is also people who are pals with their managers etc and getting benefits from this, lots of activities taking place which definitely would file a great HR case. Office is also full of people that are out to get you constantly picking up on things that you do in order to try and make themselves look better. Basically like the news of the world listening to everything you say and do and then reporting back. Some managers become power mad, probably because there is little else they can do to warrant their role so throw the power about instead.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-04-24

    XLN Response

    May 26, 2020HR

    Hi there, Thanks for your honest and detailed feedback. Being a sales-led environment and a business that's passionate about leading its sector for customer service, we admit it can feel very competitive sometimes. I would love to chat with you in more detail about your experiences, completely confidentially. Please email me at S.Zahid@telecom-service.co.uk and we can arrange a time to chat. Best wishes, Shamilla

  3. Helpful (4)

    "PLEASE AVOID"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NOTHING. LITERALLY NOTHING. WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED FOR! I am currently working for an amazing company where sales advisers are given proper training and feedback on how to improve sales are given regularly.

    Cons

    They literally sell the job so well. Not worth it at all!!! THEIR PRICES CAN BE BEATEN! Management swear at staff and don't appreciate hard work unless targets are hit. Fail to understand customers have entered new contracts which is why sales are going down. I left the job but was put down as I have been dismissed for lack of attendance (I DID NOT MISS A DAY) I didn't bother disputing it as I would be dealing with a bunch of bullies. I hated the experience and so did most people working there. They are so desperate for sales because the company are most likely loosing so many customers due to their lies and bad service. People had to do fake sales so they could keep their job. People regularly getting fired on the spot and with no warnings.

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-11-08

    XLN Response

    November 12, 2018HR

    Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear this. With so many positive reviews recently and our industry-high staff retention rates, it's a real surprise to hear about these issues. Given the sensitivity of the issues you're referring to - many of which haven't been suggested before - the best thing would be to discuss them, completely confidentially. That would really help us in this instance. So if possible please give us a call on 0207 963 9707. Best wishes, Ameena

  4. "XLN"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management Team Leader in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working at XLN in Sheffield in Janruary 2016 and its been the best two years. I started off working in the Account Management Deprtment i passed probation at just 5 months then after 1 year i was promoted to a Senior Account Manager after a while i plucked up the courage to apply internally for a Team Leader roll which i was successful in! Everyone is valued and progression is an option if your willing to show hard work and determination. Also the hours of work is the hours of which everyone wants! Monday-Friday 9-6 / 8:30-5:30 with one Saturday in four weeks which is only a four hour shift of 10am-2pm. What more could you want? I can honestly say i enjoy coming to work and not many people can say that. Join XLN and you will not be disappointed

    Cons

    I am unable to think of any cons!

    XLN2018-01-18

    XLN Response

    January 16, 2019HR

    Hi there, So thrilled that you enjoy coming to work every day. You're right - not many can say that. Thanks for your attitude and this lovely review - and keep up the good work. Shamilla

  5. "Great department, needs some TLC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The colleagues within the IT department are extremely friendly and hard working. The quality Team, which I worked on does have a great strive for helping to deliver top notch software which meets the requirements of the business. Team leaders within the department were extremely good and accomodating of any requests. The range of development being undertaken is on all aspects of the system so you're always working on something new and the challenges brought up by them have helped me to grow and acquire new skills sets

    Cons

    Upper line manager seems a bit disconnected with the main team which then felt like their was little support from them. Department director had little experience of managing an IT department and this has shown on occasions with how they dealt with issues raised and their attitude towards the department. Also their has been a few colleagues which have left of late which is leading to a very damp atmosphere within the development team.

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-01-18

    XLN Response

    January 19, 2018Copywriter

    Hi there, Thanks so much for your feedback. We’re really pleased to hear all the positives – especially that you’ve been able to expand your skillset. That’s something we’re passionate about. As for some of the issues you’ve raised, we value this feedback greatly. It helps us to better understand the strengths and weaknesses of each department so that we can refine them for the future. Thanks, XLN

  6. "Excellent company with superb growth opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They always want to promote from within and have a hard working culture. Lots of reward days too.

    Cons

    Sometimes inconsistent communication of plans.

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-01-11
  7. "If you're a hardworker, then this it the right companty for you!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progression is key for any hard worker and XLN do it right! Starting off as an agent myself, I have had multiple promotions in 3 years. As a department manager now myself, I know for a fact that through hard work and a good attitude you can get places in this company! Lovely, inviting offices and free breakfast every Friday :)

    Cons

    Nothing to say to be honest except that maybe I could do with free breakfast everyday :)

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-01-10
  8. "It's a great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined the company 3 years ago and have progressed for a level 1 customer service agent to a team leader in that time. I have working in other companies before where if feels like you are just a number, but XLN is a dynamic company where hard work and determination stand out. If you give it your all you can see real change within the business and be recognised for it!

    Cons

    Time flies and sometimes there aren't enough hours in the day. Before I know it, it's time to go home some days!

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-01-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    ""Avoid unless you are desperate""

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hmm...free coffee? Nice office and some excellent hard working employees who are under appreciated...

    Cons

    Terrible atmosphere. Staff are bullied & harassed in front of others. Management want to do everything on a shoestring. Workload is unmanageable. Owners want to jack up the numbers while spending as little on improving the company, probably want to sell it soon. Managers and senior manager don't think on their own but rather do what management team dictate. If you're seeking for manager role and likes to follow orders then this is for you. Useless Sales leaders and managers!! (Watch out if you're applying for Sales role)

    Continue reading
    XLN2017-09-27

    XLN Response

    September 28, 2017HR Manager

    Hi there, I’m really sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced. We pride ourselves on our high-performance culture, but also on the collaborative atmosphere we’ve tried to create. We almost exclusively promote from within, and have an unusually high staff retention rate with several sales managers who’ve been here for a number of years. So, it’s surprising and disappointing to hear your concerns. It would be really valuable for me to speak to you confidentially about some of these issues so I can get a better understanding of them and try to rectify them. We can only improve through honest feedback, so I really would appreciate a short chat. Please call me on 020 7963 9701. Best wishes, Shamilla Zahid S.Zahid@xlntelecom.co.uk Head of HR

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Management in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN

    Pros

    Been working at xln for over a year now and I can honestly say career progression is a reality if you want it to be. Some great benefits and a fantastic new bonus scheme introduced for all make it a better time than ever to work at xln. People are great, trainers are knowledgeable and helpful, Management and Senior Management are approachable for employees of all levels across the business. And with the right working attitude, anyone who is anyone can make a solid career for themselves at xln. It’s upsetting to read the odd ‘bitter’ review and how inaccurate the company is portrayed. Any organisation will have its disgruntled employees who couldn’t cut it. If you want to make it, then hands down I’ve not seen better opportunities than xln for career development and progression. It’s a relatively flat structure and the exposure is there, for good and bad.

    Cons

    It can be tough if you're afraid of hard work. Many products to learn... but the support is there if you need it.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-03-09
Found 14 reviews
</>Embed