XLN "members of staff" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

XLN Employee Reviews about "members of staff"

Updated 27 May 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
XLN CEO Neil Conaghan
Neil Conaghan
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "People, location, free breakfast on Friday(in 22 reviews)

  • "As a department manager now myself, I know for a fact that through hard work and a good attitude you can get places in this company(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you want to keep your job then jump through hoops and avoid eye contact with senior members of staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not focused on customer service(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "members of staff"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid, Avoid, Avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broadband Specialist in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy to get the job.. for the wrong reasons

    Cons

    As stated in many other reviews, the company is basically a talktalk re-seller, this means you are essentially employed as a middle man to go between end user and talktalks terrible customer service team. technical skills are rarely required as their is nothing in depth technical in XLN's control, As a technical support advisor you are basically logging a fault to pass to talk talk then fobbing the customers off until talktalk decide to fix the issue, you are also expected to sell.. yes SELL! you will be given targets for sales and disciplined when they are not met, so even tho you are more then likely speaking to a customer because the service isn't working correctly you are expected to get them to spend more money and be tied to a company that is failing them for a longer term.. absolute joke!. Management is poor at best, most of the team leaders are young and clueless, they boast about promoting within but it is rarely based on merit and is more a case that if your face fits your on the ladder which leaves most of the hard working and skilled staff demoralised and looking to leave within a few months this creates quite a high staff turnover for such a small company. As for senior management they seem interested in nothing other then figures and keeping up public image, i have witnessed them openly verbally abuse members of staff on site with both personal insults and foul language. i found the atmosphere intimidating where no one dares speak out for the fear of being dismissed, very much a case of keep your head down or be shown the door. i would ignore 90% of the generic reviews as you will spot they are all written in the same corporate spiel by either the company themselves or staff are prompted to place them. Honestly look elsewhere if you are looking to be appreciated and have a good sense of job satisfaction, i think almost anyone deserves better then what this company can offer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not offer to speak to me about the issue or my previous employment because as proved the advise is not taken on board which can clearly be seen over the timeline of reviews on here. Stop focusing on numbers and look to improve

    XLN2018-05-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid if possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They will hire anyone

    Cons

    Micro management kills everything. Directors think they own employees and you spend more time trying to avoid the directors than being able to do your job. If you want to keep your job then jump through hoops and avoid eye contact with senior members of staff

    Advice to Management

    Stop bullying

    XLN2018-01-06
  3. Helpful (8)

    "XLN-ent at making it up as they go along"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is in a nice location in regard to transport links. Free pool table, PS4 with 2 games (good if you love Fifa), 2 TVs in the break room, foosball table, free hot drinks, free fruit on Mondays if you're fortunate to get something you like once the vultures and gannets have taken all the choice items even though it's supposed to be "1 per person" so if you like apples you're sorted and free "breakfast" (mainly undercooked sausages in sweaty buns and processed egg powder in the same buns until they changed suppliers to one who used actual eggs) on a Friday the same "1 per person" rule applies so you need to be faster than Usain Bolt to get something that's edible and warm.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where to begin without sounding bitter about being let go from the "number 1 supplier" in B2B telecoms sadly it'll come across as that to people so I shall just start at the beginning Recruitment and training. The infinite monkey theorem states that a monkey hitting keys at random on a typewriter for an infinite amount of time will type a given text, such as the complete works of William Shakespeare this principle also applies to the slapdash recruitment system of the 1st line agents, the management feel if they recruit everyone in Sheffield they might actually get some good agents with common sense but what they fail to see is that the training is so below par Rory McIlroy would win titles everyday if it was a golf score. The training process if you are fortunate to be given training even though they have a team but what they truly seem to do apart from collect wages at the end of the month is a mystery. The ones who don't get training get lumbered with members of staff who have to train them and it's like a long winded game of pass the agent as training takes time but they still expect you to sweat blood and go above and beyond but sadly you can't do both. Fortunately enough the ones who do get training (which is rare unless it's a big group of new starters) get 2 weeks of learning about telecoms and the tariffs but not how to handle customers which you feel would be high on the priorities for a company that prides itself on service, however XLN go down a different road .... sell sell sell and do you know what sell some more. So with that ringing in your ear you're chucked on the phones to deal with every problem under the sun and told to sell and also get reviews on trust pilot to make it seem like they're a trustworthy company. This leads to another gripe some of the agents who got the most reviews could do no wrong in the companies eyes and got rewarded even though the reviews were based on lies that the agents couldn't deliver and usually ended up in complaints that had to be dealt with by senior members of the staff and usually cost a fair amount to resolve but who cared so long as that 5 star review was still up. The calling floor should've had the sign from the entrance to hell in Dante's inferno "Abandon all hope, ye who enter here" for at times it was hotter than hell due to the company not being able to control the temperature. The general atmosphere was subdued and tetchy due to not being allowed to talk to people in your own team let alone other departments, heaven forbid you go to the toilet as well, this strictness was dependant on who your manager was and whether they were a golden child in the hierarchies eyes. Phones were not allowed for Data protection reasons yet management were allowed there's and so were other departments even though they had access to the same systems. Work attire got changed from office wear to smart casual due to one of the inequalities being challenged successfully much to the despair of the HR team. HR as a rule should be easily accessible and visible so people can go talk to them to raise issues, XLN's however are locked away in their separate room almost hidden from everyone in the company. However raising an issue with something was a sure fire way to be in the firing line for disciplinary proceedings. The disciplinary process is almost laughable as the outcome is 99.9% determined before being raised the recordings and documentation are merely a formality even if you have raised sufficient evidence and pointed out inconsistencies across the business. Staff retention is almost non existent as most people leave after a few months due to targets which are usually unobtainable for commission or over zealous team leaders who just know bullying tactics and have no real skills to interact with people in any other way. This leads the customer getting passed from pillar to post until they eventually end at a senior members desk who has the knowledge to deal with the issue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This one is aimed directly at Christian, please take of your rose tinted glasses that you must wear when going round the office on your hover board, listen to what your employees have to say and not the yes men that you are now currently surrounded by. Staff will come and go but if you want to retain staff you need something in place to keep them without resorting to fear tactics. The company needs a massive overhaul in all departments recruitment and training especially, some of the more knowledgeable members get put in dead end roles or overlooked for the flavour of the month or someone who just agrees with every new rule without questioning anything. So if you truly wish to deliver good service please invest in your staff for if they're truly happy and motivated not just for commission they will truly sell themselves and the products you have and willingly go above and beyond because they know they'll get recognition which is so sorely lacking. Also it tends to help by not raising prices every few months to make short term financial gains but severe long term losses overall.

    Show More
    XLN2016-09-01
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Shambolic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN

    Pros

    Free breakfast on Friday mornings - e.g. bacon/sausage/egg roll - most weeks these are edible Break room with ps4, two large televisions, fussball and pool tables They also SOMETIMES pay you - which is always a bonus when you are employed You will develop a keen interest in employment law It makes any other job look appealing These 'Pros' will seem awfully trivial in comparison with the infinite negatives but I would like to stress that this is all factual and purely for informative purposes.

    Show More

    Cons

    The Company, Despite their affirmations to the contrary, XLN do not care whatsoever about their customer base and loosely adhere to the conditions set out by the regulator. Contracts and invoices are ambiguous and often illegitimate, with their intention to acquire as much money as possible from the customer without their prior knowledge. Whilst, I will not use this platform to outline instances in which XLN have broken protocol set out by OfCOM (primarily as there are too many to count), you will be expected to defend these to the customer, despite how ethically ambiguous they may be. Imagine making a sale for a new 2 year contract and then later that month phoning back the customer to advise the price has gone up 50% and there is nothing they can do about it...this genuinely happens. Environment Staff are packed in like battery chickens, with two people per desk. This was seen as a temporary measure but has been the case for over a year despite numerous complaints. This is compounded by the fact that for some reason the company has never been able to control the temperature on their floor, which sees daily highs of 30 degrees plus. Systems are unreliable and outdated. Training and Development, Training is minimal if done at all. My department recently had new starters who were provided with zero training and this is not uncommon. If you are joining during a large recruitment drive then you may be given a general induction but if not, expect to thrust into the job with little prior knowledge of what it will entail or how should work within it. XLN do not assess the quality of work in a fair or accurate way, as this would make it more difficult to dismiss you at a later stage, making any comment on personal development rather difficult. As there is high staff turnover, positions elsewhere do arise regularly but do not expect your suitability to be assessed based on your work output. This can be particularly damaging to your personal growth as XLN will persistently enforce the idea upon you that no matter how bad it may seem, you cannot do better. XLN did promise to introduce accredited courses you could take to increase your skillset, however this was no more than the offer of entry level BTECH qualification in Customer Service. This naturally came with the condition that if you left the business during this course, you would then be responsible for paying the entire fee and this was not open to those who had already held a higher education qualification. Management Most managers are hilariously out of their depth as recruitment for these positions is not based on merit. As the Directors are far removed from how the business actually works, how the services are received by customers, and are more interested in reducing the pay-out of commissions; the policies they administer are unrealistic, short-sighted and at times nonsensical. This assertion has legitimised managers giving irrelevant and/or monotonous tasks, delivered in an extremely pedantic and inefficient way to 'fill the time.' Should these be challenged, you will be dismissed. Should you provide an alternative solution, you will be dismissed. Should you query these for clarity, then you will be lied to and then disciplined should you query it further. As you can imagine, for a business as unrepentantly haphazard as XLN, service issues arise regularly. Managers are rightly held accountable for department failings but this will be against the initial unreasonable objectives. As such, instead of examining the areas of concern and providing suitable improvements, managers will look to deflect blame on their staff members and will consistently misrepresent the truth to cover their own back. As the company is not concerned with facts, managers will genuinely fabricate anything they wish to in order to ensure you are disciplined for their errors to ensure their credibility is not compromised, even when provided with tangible evidence to prove otherwise. Members of staff have been and continue to be dismissed for falsifications. Micro management is used as a means to detract away from company and managerial deficiencies and place these on an isolated member of staff despite how tenuous this may be. HR Whether it be with customers or staff, XLN like to make their policies up as they go along. There is a common view that this is done with the assumption that you do not know your rights and they will try to exploit this. Whilst this is true to an extent, the reality is that they are so incompetent and careless that they simply do not understand procedure particularly with regards to employee rights. The policies are not worth the paper they are written on and in some instances you may even be reprimanded for following them. Word of advice - DO NOT raise a grievance. HR are purely there to execute the agenda of management regardless of justification. As naturally a grievance reflects poorly on management, instead of addressing the issue, they will attempt to remove you from the business to shut you up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with yourselves and staff and actually listen to your employees. Directors genuinely live in a dream world and continuously tell their staff just how profitable the business is and continues to grow - however staff pay has decreased, customer complaints have increased and are asking to leave XLN at an alarming rate. I would say recruitment and training certainly need revision. Understandably very few people apply to work with XLN, but better screening of candidates and subsequent training is definitely needed. It simply doesn't make sense to put untrained staff in positions where the customer base are small business owners and to pass the workload of rectifying the situation to others - it creates an awful impression to the customer, doubles the workload and generates distain within the business to other staff. Managers should also take more ownership when things go wrong and Directors should also acknowledge the limitations they force their staff to work within. The majority of the above, management are firmly aware of and understand how the staff and customers view them and the business. They simply do not care enough about it to make and view advice or critiscim, constructive or otherwise, as a direct threat to their authority and as such would never acknowledge the above. Despite many reviews echoing the above, if a Director was to see this (which I doubt) it would simply be dismissed or excused as being the result of a bitter ex-employee. On the contary, despite XLN continously trying to advocate the idea that the "Grass isn't always greener" - it invariably is when XLN are concerned. Most staff who have been mistreated have wound up incomparably better off almost immediately, despite XLN's strife to ensure future prospects are diminished regardless of your contribution to the business. Honestly, with all due respect to refuse management assistants, you are better off working as a garbage man, as you will be paid considerably more, have a much less stressful job and increased future prospects. You should remember that your employees and customers are real people. Whenever you arbitrarily decide that you want to reduce commission or change processes to withhold commission from staff, just remember that these people have families and bills to pay and are already being paid next to nothing. The amount of misery compounded on staff is horrific considering how hard many of these guys work and especially taking into account how poorly run the office is. Furthermore everyone has their own ambitions and career goals and whilst no employer likes to see their staff unhappy or wanting to leave, it is deplorable that you as a company feel it is appropriate to potentially ruin future prospects over your own pride and bitterness. The bullying and victimising tactics used on staff when managers are under pressure simply has to stop.

    Show More
    XLN2016-08-24
  5. Helpful (12)

    "HMP Millbank......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retention in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Better that being on job seekers just about!! Like any place there are some genuinely nice people who deserve better than they get. You get breakfast on a Friday which is just about edible. They got a ps4 and pool table in the break room. If your into drugs then got a dealer onsite.

    Cons

    Where to begin..... HR aren't neutral like they should be and to be honest some have no idea how to do the job their paid for. Company policy's are so out of date that if you were to adhere to them you'd get into trouble for doing so. Absence is a joke!!! Dare you take a day off you'd be penalised by the 'Bradford Factor' then more than likely dismissed for being ill and id put money to say it was the company that made you ill in the first place. The company has no idea which direction to take, that goes from service to sales.... Sales want numbers will take absolutely anything, from new acquisitions to ceasing a customers line to put it back through as a new sale. only A tenured agent that does 50% of your sales can get away with that but it's seen as acceptable, (if that's not manipulation of numbers I don't know what is.) if you can't close the deal however don't worry you can run to retentions and the manager will ensure that its agreed at a price to get you on board but then will be forgotten shortly after until the customer raises a complaint..... Which leads me to service.... Service..... What service!!! They pride themselves on time to answer and boast that you'll get through to someone quick (that they do), yet the person on the end of the phone doesn't have a clue probably due to the high turnover of staff and will pass the call back to the sales team, who will do the same or pass you to the broadband team, who will do they're best (this is only due to the fact again that they're new and don't want the inevitable axe to fall just yet.) there is constant pressure to sell their broadband product wether it's standard or fibre yet both are as good as a chocolate teapot. Most customer would choose to leave Xln due to poor broadband or the fact that midway through your contract they will hike the price up, which is fine as they supposedly send a letter or they'll change to a tariff to one that has increased by at least 50%. Which is then where retentions comes in and they will offer them the world and its dog to stay. to which most customers are leaving due to cost then giving them the something that would keep the company in red is ok.... The manager and hierarchy will turn a blind eye to this until it hits the fan then all of a sudden 'we didn't know this was happening, then get their buddies from HR down'. Should anything happen in a department Xln have the most amazing investigation procedure of asking agents who was in and wasn't what happened, now most would just say nothing since actually answering would put you into trouble so things that wouldn't be acceptable in society goes unnoticed as theres not enough evidence to support the claim. Xln will use sales tactics to get agents to perform with lucrative bonuses yet when the time comes for payment they will find a way of not paying the agent exactly what they have earned, and deduct anything they can. Don't believe you're getting anything until payroll is done as even the highest members of staff will lie to you. Like on other review sites I'm sure some of the positive reviews are bogus since every negative one gets a positive straight after looks very similar to their trust pilot and well we know that they only get relatively new customers to sing their praises there so they know no better and don't know that the staff are getting incentivised.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to Respect your employees and you'll find that you get the result you so strive to achieve instead of treating them like naive fools, be honest with them instead of lie through your teeth. Invest in your staff instead of migrate it to another site. You never listened to employees let alone ex employees so this was a waste of my time just like working there.

    XLN2016-08-23
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Lack of compassion, forced to miss breaks and lunches, fired when in hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Specialist in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is generous considering the duties given (I was a broadband specialist on 18000 salary), great location and the company has a good image compared to other broadband suppliers. The opportunity to help independent busineses, even in a small way is great. 9-5.30 working hours in a call centre which is almost unheard of. Fabulous, talented and diverse staff. Good pension and healthcare schemes, free coffee and food occassionally as a special treat. Also, incentives for sales if you work in a sales role. 'Some' management staff were extremely approachable (Stefan) compared to a normal call centre environment, and management would intervene with customers where appropriate, again, an uncommon trait with call centres. Relatively liveraly views (were happy for me to dress in a monkey hoodie coming into work. Diverse and engaging events ( Haloween etc)

    Show More

    Cons

    Staff retention (key members and low level staff left in my short period of employment due to various grievances). Some senior members of staff play games on tablets all day and laugh about it infront of struggling colleauges. Several excellent team members not recognised for consistand outstanding ability (quite typical for a call centre). Not neccessarily the best place to progress your career, however it is possible and I did see one outstanding member of staff progress, but many had been 'outstanding members of staff' for years and got nowhere. Didn't get on well with quality monitoring staff who then openly admitted to other colleauges that I was as 'good as gone' - I wasn't around long enough to find out if this was said in jest, however, I believe it wasn't. Many a true word is spoken in jest, and in todays job market it is a wholly innapropriate thing to joke about when employees are struggling to make ends meet and furthermore, the colleagues that reported this comment to me insisted he was deadly serious. Not sure if he has done this again or before, but something to be aware of before going in. Training crammed with way too much information, excellent trainers but just too much to go through in too short of a time. Expect to spend a lot of time studying up at home for the first few weeks or so. More experienced staff members are also happy to help, but the environment is very fast paced and this is usually not possible. Company appeared to be failing to sell next generation products which puts future of the role in doubt. Also as a result, sales pushed onto support teams where not appropriate, I would argue that trying to sell a small business with a tiny profit margin a more reliable product when their current one is failing is immoral (Customers should never pay for a fix on a broken or unreliable service). An objection that you may or may not agree to - if you are comfortable doing this then no probs, but I wasn't and my objections were ignored. Sales targets were not mentioned in interviews so most were unprepared with no experience, and personally I found it difficult to find appropriate situations to sell the product. Illness / bathroom breaks / using wrap time was treated with extreme suspicion - feeling of constantly being watched over and consequently no real forum to vent frustrations over fear of being sacked. Scripts and 'dummy guides' were used far too often, and employees are treating in a condesending manner. THE REST OF WHAT IS WRITTEN PERTAINS PURELY TO XLN'S ATTITUDE REGARDING SICKNESS / DISABILITIES, IS MY OWN PERSONAL HORROR STORY AND MAY NOT BE RELEVANT TO YOU - BEAR THAT IN MIND Bathroom breaks not allowed - threatened with sack for going to the toilet on mulitple occassions (which was due to a medical condition XLN were aware of, and I also made them aware during the incidents but didn't seem to care / believe me). Managers forced us to skip breaks and lunches (we had to ask permission and most times would be told no), would promise the time back at the end of the day and not deliver. Team leader when asked by employees for their break / lunch , or where not possible an early finish or even just be paid the hours worked would become defensive and insist was the employees fault for not being 'proactive' enough in asking if they could go for these breaks. Sometimes you would ask 5+ times for a lunch, and still not get it. I went a week without leaving my seat and no one noticed, or intervined. 'Favored' staff' however would go at 12:30 every day. Frequenty being forced to skip breaks and lunches which combined with my disability left me severely ill (again XLN were aware of the structure and allowances I needed - I made this clear to the floor manager, my team leader + filled out the paperwork when joining). My health deteriorated and XLN fired me a few days later while I was in hospital on an insulin drip, (obviously they thought I was AWOL but still not acceptable, I could be dead due to their neglect). health issues were largly caused by XLN's lack of structure and willing to make allowances for employees with disabillities, or even provided legally required breaks, so obviously I am was a very happy bunny and this probably comes through in my writing, but this is only one piece of the puzzle and I won't focus to much on this as not relevant to most people. Could potentially have got the job back if I explained the situation, but quite frankly I don't fancy working for them again due to this experience, and I am happier struggling to control my condition due to no money to refridgerate my medication and eat than I am struggling to control it due to lack of compassion or common sense by employers. I also would not like reveal how vulnerable I am as a person with a long term condition to my friends who still work there, but I would not expect XLN to understand this, as they are clearly out of touch with people living with disabilities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Supporting existing customers with faults and attempting to make sales do not go hand in hand, and putting pressure on employees to make sales will not change this. The fact that Broadband support is advertised as a purely support role to this day needs to be addressed, and employees should be aware they are working to sales targets before they even apply for the job. I would like to praise XLN for their 'on paper' employee friendly nature, perks, wages, cleanliness of the office, computer hardware are all absolutely top drawer, very progressive for a call centre, and better than most 'professional' IT service desks. To many call center jobs, or any jobs in the customer service arena offer very the bare minimum to employees and this is a nice change and something that should hopefully replicate across more companies. People should not be punished for enjoying interacting with customers and this is a nice change - still work to be done though. Despite policies being employee friendly, management aren't whatsoever. I still have friends at XLN, a few with hidden disabilities, one in particular who shall remain anonymous with a severe mental health problem. This is not declared due to the embarrising nature of the condition, and the stigma attached. It worries me to think what he would go through with the floor manager if he tried to explain he wasn't able to come into work due to a breakdown. Allowances need to be made for people with health issues, plain and simple, and this needs to be drilled into every manager in the sheffield office. Xln are dependent on their excellent reputation and an incidident like this would irreperably damage the company if someone took them to court for example. You should be more aware of this than anyone as they are a very proactive company who I'm sure will probably even read this (if you are don't worry I dont want to take you to court 6 months wages will do lol!) Lastly, If it hasn't already been done, XLN need to start timetabling breaks for employees on their BB support team ( I worked there from roughly October to December 2015) . I am a special case due to my disability and I recognise that, but even a 100% healthy person should not be forced to skip their lunch / break, and if they do, blaming the employee is absolutely shamefull, and indictive of attitudes all round within some of the management team. The no.1 trait of a manager should be to support their staff, duties which come before KPI's. I'd say some (but not all (love you stefan)) need their heads banging together before something goes terribly wrong.

    Show More
    XLN2016-02-26
Found 6 reviews
</>Embed