Xercise4Less Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Xercise4Less Reviews

Updated 6 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
23%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
Xercise4Less   (no image)
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "RBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RBM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xercise4Less full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family feel, Loyalty, Free Gym, Chaining peoples lives! I value every one of my team members and i feel they wold say the same about me. 6 years strong!!

    Cons

    Hours can be long but extremely rewarding - you get what you give just as you do with any business. Fast pased - not for the faint hearted

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing your doing a great job! Here's to 100 clubs

    Xercise4Less2017-11-14
  2. "Good in club management will see the company thrive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employed Personal Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Xercise4Less part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some amazing friends along the way. Clubs with good management thrive.

    Cons

    Management was very cold and could not take constructive criticism. Management was also very hard to communicate with as was always met with a very strange and negative response. Company continuously changed the structure on which we worked and this was communicated very poorly in the past to the point in which employees were down £200 in wages because company had only communicated to few clubs and only via email. Company expected staff to work overtime for free even after these employees were continuously conned out of commision and class payments.

    Show More
    Xercise4Less2020-01-06
  3. "Good people but poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SGM in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Xercise4Less full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good people (if still there) Use of gym.

    Cons

    Cutting number of roles in gym by increasing workload for others. Bonus is terrible now. Paid annually and maxed out at 10% of basic. Lots of factors to juggle for a whole year. If company doesn't make a profit that year you lose your whole bonus even if achieved. HR are puppets to company. Not a service for employees or to protect your rights. All roles will be doing openings, closings and weekends, regardless of peak times to engage with members. Older gyms get very little done to keep standard even at a minimum. Health and safety ignored for long periods if involves a cost. It's a shame because it could be so much better...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your teams in store. Support and help them offer a better service to members. Communicate with teams as lack of information makes the whole team unsettled. Redundancy, roles being renamed and closing gyms seems to point to a bleak future.

    Xercise4Less2019-11-22
  4. "No frills, not difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Experience Team Member in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xercise4Less part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job Customers pay a little, generally expect a little in return. Free gym membership

    Cons

    On your own a lot Members not restacking their weights Targets are always just out of reach

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget that some of the poorly paid staff that you have are highly qualified. We don't need patronising. We just want to make a living.

    Xercise4Less2019-10-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Bother - You are not given the support or tools you need to achieve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Xercise4Less full-time

    Pros

    None - The whole experience was terrible

    Cons

    Senior Management - Financial Management

    Xercise4Less2019-11-04
  6. "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Xercise4Less part-time

    Pros

    Great way to gather information on how the gym industry works.

    Cons

    Blame culture from Head Office.

    Xercise4Less2019-08-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wolf of Wall Street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Xercise4Less full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There isn't any at all!

    Cons

    Company's beliefs and values are completely wrong!

    Xercise4Less2019-08-14
  8. "Brilliant progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xercise4Less full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Xercise4Less for 4 years. Throughout my time working for this company I have progressed massively. I started my very first role as a Receptionist at the Stockton South branch, I have recently purchased a property in Leeds with my now Fiance where I moved to the Leeds North branch to progress my career as a Membership Consultant. The job roles where very different but support was given to me through the role which made my confidence grow is changing peoples lives through exercise. After moving to Leeds North, I received a call from Stacey Gould, who manages recruitment within head office, asking if i was interested in progressing by moving to Head Office as a PA for Peter Wright (CEO) and Helen Gauden (CFO) as well as having the role of Head Office Administrator. I jumped at the chance and I thought it was wonderful of Stacey to take me into consideration for this role as it was clear she saw my passion and capability of doing well in the role. I started my job in Head Office in February 2019 where I was supported by everyone within the office to expand my skills and grow in knowledge. As a long term career, I am very interested in working within the HR department in which Carl Atkinson, the Head of People, saw my potential and allowed me to partially take on a part of HR which has now given me the opportunity to shine. Through my interested in HR and being driven to get there, I received the amazing news that I had been successful after and I had been promoted to HR Administrator, along with a pay increase and enrollment onto a course, after completion, will give me the qualification of a CIPD Level 3 with progression onto higher levels once completed.

    Show More

    Cons

    I hoped that we wouldn't have to work Bank Holidays moving from club land to now working in an office and I wish we had more holidays to take.

    Xercise4Less2019-05-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Xercise4Less part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership That’s it

    Cons

    Boring Nothing to do No one to talk to Mind numbing boredom Depressing job Breaks are bad

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the communication Shouldn’t have a separate receptionist to sales team, there’s things the receptionist can’t do in terms of sales etc and when there’s no one else here the receptionist looks stupid. Train everyone in sales to avoid this Actually give employees a contact to sign

    Xercise4Less2019-06-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "One of the worst companies I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Xercise4Less full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Team members, big gym

    Cons

    Head office are rude, Treat members appalling, un-realistic bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Treat every employee the same, set decent bonus targets and ensure customers are the vocal point of what the company should be about.

    Xercise4Less2019-04-30
Found 81 reviews