Xero Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Xero CEO Steve Vamos
Steve Vamos
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Maybe the middle management (team lead) is a bit weak in management skills(in 21 reviews)

  • "US business managed from NZ/Australia - management unfamiliar with US market's needs(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hyper Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager EMEA in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    Hyper growth company Focus on staff growth and product development

    Cons

    Global head office in NZ and a lot of functions in NZ and AUS results in time delays and lack of quality in developers due to talent pool size in NZ/AUS vs US/UK

    Xero2020-06-03
  2. "excellent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    progressive, supportive, leading edge, freedom, support

    Cons

    nothing, nothing, nothing, nothing, nothing

    Xero2020-05-29
  3. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Specialist in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, Growth opportunities & the benefits

    Cons

    Working in a location that's not HQ can be challenging

    Xero2020-05-25
  4. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Specialist in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, competitive salaries, growing company

    Cons

    Slightly forced culture, usual workplace politics that come with a large organisation

    Continue reading
    Xero2020-04-21
  5. Helpful (6)

    "An honest, unbias review of Xero MK"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great office space, clean and well maintained. It's modern with free toast in the morning and free cans of pop. Big emphasis on well being and ensuring desk place assessments take place. A relatively good culture dependent on whether you fit the Xero mold. The people. The people are incredible and are primarily why I stay.

    Cons

    If you're looking to work at Xero and want an honest review from someone not within the Xero bubble and also not filled with toxicness, then look no further. After 5 years of working at Xero, here are the cons: You will only succeed within Xero if you know the right people and have the right face. The 'Yes man' as it were. This is really important to know as Xero sells a culture that it doesn't fulfill. The same people praising Xeros name and rejoicing about how amazing it is, are the same people so deep into the Xero bubble and so keen to succeed that they're willing to agree to any decision made. If you're someone who challenges the status quo, DON'T join Xero. It's ironic because one of Xero's 'values' is #Challenge but I can't stress how far away from the truth this is. I have known many many amazing workers over the 5 years I've been at Xero that have been turned away opportunities due to them challenging the status quo or not agreeing with ridiculous decisions. A lot of people end up feeling trapped at Xero. It pays pretty well for the job titles provided and because of some of the share scheme and good office space, people feel like they can't leave. And unless you're one of those aforementioned 'yes men' or in with the 'inner circle', you will remain static within your role until you slowly become resentful. I've seen this happen to many very intelligent people who were extremely hard working. The main take away is that if you're someone who wants to succeed within your career, and you work hard, but you refuse to brown nose to get there or you have an opinion, Xero isn't the place for you. However if you're someone who isn't afraid of a little clicheyness, maybe you should give it a go.

    Continue reading
    Xero2020-04-03
  6. "Nice culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    Good employee benefits. Nice work culture.

    Cons

    Can be quite 'clicky'. If your face fits then you'll progress

    Xero2020-04-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    Collaborate culture and super flexible work environment

    Cons

    None at this stage, great experience

    Xero2019-09-27
  8. "Amazing culture and purpose."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Sales Team in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time

    Pros

    Great team of people, from management right through. Great product and purpose. Good benefits and pay. Incentives in place to reward us for great performance. Good opportunities for progression and lots of opportunities to further develop.

    Cons

    Fast growing businesses are always challenging so keep up what you’re doing and continue to look after your staff.

    Continue reading
    Xero2019-09-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing culture, values and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Experience Business Partner in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shares scheme - everyone owns a bit of Xero! Free breakfast, barista coffee and fizzy drinks Awesome culture No dress code

    Cons

    I haven't got any negatives to say at the moment

    Continue reading
    Xero2019-08-22
  10. "n/a"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Apprentice 

    I have been working at Xero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary compared to competitors.

    Cons

    More paid charitable working days will be nice.

    Xero2019-08-26
Found 401 reviews
</>Embed