Yell Reviews in Birmingham, England | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Birmingham Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
Yell CEO Claire Miles (no image)
Claire Miles
0 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, fantastic people who work there. Hardworking, and fun environment to be in. Supported career progression and training is brilliant

    Cons

    I dont have any cons.

    Yell2019-11-13
  2. "The customer losses tell the story"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is above the market average across most roles

    Cons

    This has become an unfulfilling place to work. The staff are suffering and there has been redundancies with good people losing their jobs. There is negative press coverage and the goal posts keep moving when it comes to targets. Nonetheless, if you do well in sales you’ll be given a certificate and a bottle of wine (old school). In all seriousness the fun and purpose has disappeared and the customer cancellation... rates make you question if there is any value in what you are doing. According to the most recent set of financials published across April, May, June, the company lost 3400 more customers than it gained. That’s more than 55 for each business day so I guess the customer and sales model under the current leadership is simply not working and will soon change again. Before you think about joining here in sales , ask yourself if you know anyone under the age of 65 who actively chooses to use online business directories? ............Me neither.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give the customer what they need. Sellling more of what you currently offer is not working. The productivity uplift realised by promoting ex telesales managers to senior positions is irrelevant if they are cancelling. You need smart leadership and smart products.

    Yell2019-08-07
  3. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Do a good job and you'll have alot of fun. Early finish at 2pm on fridays.

    Cons

    Waiting for lifts in the morning

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Yell2019-06-24
  4. "Failing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRM in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Early finish Friday. Loads of money spent on events.

    Cons

    Pushing customers to breaking point. Taking large sums of money by lying about the quality of products they sell. They don't care if you can't afford it, they'll lie until they sell to you The company is millions and millions I'm debt and won't survive

    Yell2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is good for 9-5 job in central location

    Cons

    Poor leadership and no real company direction

    Yell2019-07-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Yell Have lost sight of what the customer needs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For a long time Yell was a great company to work for. They were always trying to improve their Customer Service and the training was excellent.

    Cons

    Having worked for Yell for over 30 years I have seen a massive shift in the way we deal with our customers. Although there have always been targets the customer has always been our main focus. Recently there has been a shift towards a much more targeted approach to Customer Service which has affected the customer journey in a negative way. I raised this as an issue as the targets are too stretching and are... causing the Customer to be affected. Unfortunately my concerns were ignored and due to the stress it caused I was forced to resign. They try to say they want to look after their staff but unless you play ball they are not interested

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to your employees, especially those who have been in the business a long time rather than rushing in to new procedures and getting it wrong

    Yell2019-06-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Discgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Early finish Fridays. Free tea and coffee if your allowed to leave your desk.

    Cons

    Disgraceful company to work for. No ethics or morals. Trained indirectly to rip off customers. All they care about is revenue. No pay rise at all. Try con people with a elite pay rise which is £100 only for the top 30 best in company. Staff are pushed to drink to be a part of a culture for progression. Unfair interview process for new vacancies. All fixed. No care for staff and personal circumstances. Your just a... number regardless of how long you have been there. Agents are pushed to leave reviews so they look good however they are all fixed cleverly. Always bad press about them and plenty more will come. Everything changes daily and they tell you and change commission scheme 2 days before pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop picking and choosing who you favour fir managing.

    Yell2019-06-04
  8. "Marketing Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    bonus,good,location ,great managers, good energy. also it has an old office terrible lifts from what i remember.

    Cons

    sales sales sales repetitive at time but thats what you sign up for

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Yell2019-04-15
  9. "DAM role - Decent rewards but long hours and massive issues with offshore depts."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Digital Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent basic, bonus and BMW car (or allowance), as well as pension scheme.

    Cons

    The field sales roles are utterly stressful 1) 10 hour+ days with heavy traffic to see the mandatory 4-5 appointments per day, and to find time and enthusiasm and planning ready to sell more digital portfolio, when in reality many of the customers actually wanted to cancel their DDs for advertising they perceived wasn't working. 2) Micro diary management - I actually had my line manager asking one day why my last... appointment was 3.30pm - bearing in mind it was usually 1hr+ appointment and travel time of a minimum of 1 hour to get home! 3) The absurd inability for either Scarborough or Manila call centres to be able to build properly and amend the hugely over-priced (£3.5k for a Duda website!!!) for our customers. I actually had a Scarborough staff member in tears on the phone to me when asking for content updates for a client's new build website. Yell's challenging performance targets means staff are on occasion treated as statistics and all humanity seems to be forgotten. 4) The enormous 40% margins for managing sub-£2k PPC Google Ads campaigns. Yell's culture is to hide the margins from clients and simply present a 'sign here' box on the laptop with total spend rather than transparency - this didn't sit well with me and many cancellations ensued when they realised that £400 of their £1k per month PPC budget was actually going to Yell for management fees. 5) The poor Manila-served PPC management meaning that the Spotzer software used had so many errors and glitches and broad match keywords wasting client's budgets. PPC cancellations alone were running at around 50% ... In summary the DAM role as it stands is more of a fire-fighting, 'keep the customers paying their DD' service role rather than a sales role. We even had to 'self gen' photos while driving (ILLEGAL!) for Belfast to try to convert into sales leads, with regular bollockings if we hadn't sent lots of data in... Management focus was all about what business have you increased / sold today and very very little support with avoiding cancellations. Lots of wine and certificates and bonuses for sales made to new clients which was the easy part, but no consideration for the overwhelming majority of the DAM role's challenge which was to solve tech issues with the existing client base we managed. As the face of Yell, customer-facing staff NEED the time, tools and ability to be able to take ownership and solve the many issues clients have which is essential to retain them. Instead it's all about the revenue and no time or even tolerance is given for solving issues and they are simply fobbed off to a call centre. Yellouts were often the only way of getting ongoing problems fixed once and forall, and I on many occasions felt embarased to be representing the Yell brand with paying clients who simply were not getting the service they deserved.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN to your people! Sympathise with, and HELP solve the challenges when highlighted, don't just pay lip service to it with 'call Manila or raise a ticket' that was the usual dismissal. The Managers themselves have so much pressure to bring in the quarterly targets that they simply have no time or inclination to address the many issues for existing clients and we so often made short cuts to try to keep DDs being... paid rather than actually focusing on preventing the issues arising again. Managers almost never take ownership of solving issues, their focus is 100% on driving new revenue and leads, which is both short-sighted and destructive to Yell's customer service experience.

    Show More
    Yell2019-04-27
  10. "Tele Customer Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Customer Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Culture, people, structure, progression and ethos.

    Cons

    None that I can see so far

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Yell2019-04-02
Found 86 reviews