Yell Customer Service Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Customer Service Executive Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Training and Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff were very inviting and knowledgeable. They worked very hard to make sure all the new starters were sufficiently trained and supported before entering live calls.

    Cons

    There are no cons I can see with yell.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Yell2019-09-13
  2. "DS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training scheme, very in depth and gives you information step by step. Very friendly feel and made to feel very welcome within such a short space of time. Only been with the company a short space of time, however I have learnt so much and have been given everything I need to be able to go out and do the role with confidence.

    Cons

    None as only with the company for a week

    Yell2019-08-09
  3. "Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really informative, helpful, friendly and supportive across all aspects.

    Cons

    No Cons - Great place to work!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Yell2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Hopefully a stepping stone..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, healthy living incentives, free hot drinks

    Cons

    Poor business plan means lots of customer dissatisfaction - you're taught to get websites online as soon as possible without any care for the quality, low morale in teams even from new starters, not flexible on hours at all, some hostile/passive aggressive managers

    Advice to Management

    Think about your employees at the bottom and demonstrate some faith in the product

    Yell2019-07-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Losing Faith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not applicable at the moment

    Cons

    Constant changes and implementation of new procedures purely to tick a box. Never rolled out efficiently or with time to process changes, yet too quick to penalise. Expectations and work load way too high when main focus should be the customer experience - not achievable with the amount and intensity of daily work load.n

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to understand the frustrations of the vast majority of workers and begin resolving them instead of ignoring them.

    Yell2019-03-13

    Yell Response

    March 21, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. We have gone through a period of fast change to embed our new customer contact model that puts the customer at the heart of what we do. We are due to have focus groups in this area of the business to understand how our people are feeling. In the meantime ...

    Show More
  6. "Constant change of direction & poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It WAS a good Company to work for. It still could be if they listened to those who are closest to what's going on. If you're in with the right click, you will be ok here. If not then sadly no matter how hard you try you will never get on.

    Cons

    Persistant lack of training, support and extremely poor management. The right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. Keeps changing direction and restructuring, bringing in new managers who frankly don't have a clue and are either too afraid to manage staff who aren't performing, or they simply don't care.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your frontline people who are on the phone with better training and support. Recruit people with at least some customer services experience and recruit Managers who have experience in Managing people. Have a consistant approach and stop changing direction it causes confusion, discontentment and poor job satisfaction.

    Yell2019-03-04

    Yell Response

    March 21, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. At Yell it is important to us to understand how our people are feeling. I hope that you had the opportunity to share your thoughts in our recent focus groups. One of the outcomes of these meetings, is a training plan that will support our people. At ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "You give your all and get nothing in return"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get weekends off There are some nice people in the office Good pay rate

    Cons

    The process of how we do things is continuously changed. On occasion there are no proper roll outs to staff when changes are implemented so half of the office are doing things one way, and the other half another Agents are much more knowledgable of the job role than management are which means no real support mechanism apart from two floorwalkers who have to share their capabilities across 75 staff members and... groups of new starters We used to get 5 minutes after every call to write notes on the system and record the call - they have taken that time away from us now so we just have to try and write the notes as quick as we can before another call comes through. They don’t care about any affect this has on our job, as long as the statistics say that we pick up every call that comes through then that means the big wigs look good while all the agents under their management struggle The sales reps who sell products to customers tell the customers that we are ‘highly trained digital specialists’ and they use this to really sell our services and knowledge to customers so they buy into it more. However, our contracts say we are Digital Customer Service Executives. These are two different things - a DS is a skilled person and a DCSE is not, which means they are happy to sell us as skilled people to customers so they buy our products, but they aren’t happy for us to sell ourselves as this or progress into better jobs using DS as a job reference. Micro-management - they are obsessed with managing every single little aspect of your job role which feels clinical and overwhelming They continuously implement things that make your job harder. They give you more things to do and less time to do it, and it feels like they will never stop asking for more from you. Mentally, it has pushed me to my limit, and although the £19000 salary is respectable for the type of job it is, I think every penny is earnt and deserved by us

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To be more down to earth in terms of understanding what it is really like to do our job role. I feel like management come across as robotic sometimes when they are enforcing the business’ objectives, and this puts a wall up in terms of being able to build a good honest relationship with them

    Yell2019-02-28
  8. Helpful (22)

    "In lieu of an exit interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Increased incentives of late – genuine attempts being made to make the company look like it cares for its employees Decent pay for the area By and large my line manager has been great

    Cons

    The Quality Assurance role: In many ways the role is a truly Sisyphean task – no matter how much feedback and training and support we offer, the quality of the end-product never changes. Just when we think we’ve managed to get the writers/designers to do something right, that ol’ offshore boulder rolls right back down to where it started. And then we do it over, and over, and over… At the risk of mixing metaphors,... this really does create a downward spiral leading to a poor end-product for the customer. We’re given far too little time to fix the magnitude and multitude of errors that are created when a company insists on offshoring as many products and services as possible, which results in the customer on most occasions getting something at best underwhelming, and at worst completely wrong for them. The team is generally under-utilised and frequently threatened with redundancy, which creates an unhappy work environment – nobody likes to feel as though their contribution means nothing. Personally, all of the above left me feeling fatigued and worn out, which is why I have found a new job elsewhere. Yell as a whole: Upper management in Yell is seemingly at a loss with what to do with itself most of the time. Senior management positions are swapped and changed between a small number of people with what appears to be little thought about who actually has the right experience for each job – a case of blindly smashing different shaped blocks into different shaped holes until something fits. This disjointed approach leads to a constant stream of poor choices, with the entire senior management team working in a reactive rather than proactive manner – what’s of vital importance one month is tossed thoughtlessly aside the next when a shiny new process/product/idea comes into view. This shouldn’t be a huge issue – Yell is, after all, a company working in the digital marketplace, where fast decisions and changes are a matter of course. The problem begins, however, when the company has an approach to rolling out anything new which can be most kindly described as shambolic. There’s far too much ‘blue-sky thinking’ as they call it, and any attempts to discuss possible difficulties which could arise are often waved away as petulant naysaying. In my mind, when introducing a new product/process etc, a company should engage with the staff who will be using it day to day to get a better idea of any potential pitfalls, in order to tackle issues BEFORE they arise, rather than after. Speaking of the staff working in the office – there are some very talented, very savvy people working here. Yell doesn’t even know what it’s got half the time, as there are resources untapped which could honestly make the company much better than it is. However, there’s little chance of advancement of any kind for all but a select few. For example, there’s the way that anyone choosing to become a manager or trainer or coach will be put on one secondment after another, rather than being offered a concrete role following the initial bedding-in period. It’s a genuinely awful way to treat employees who want to exceed and give more to the company. On the plus side, at least these roles are still onshore – Yell is unnecessarily zealous about offshoring EVERYTHING they think they can get away with. Large chunks of our customer service department? Offshored. Most of HR? Offshored. PPC creation? Offshored. Website design? Offshored. Copywriting? Oh you’d better believe that’s offshored. As mentioned above, this leads to Yell’s customers receiving subpar products across the board. This, I feel, betrays a profound and flagrant misunderstanding of how to create satisfied customers – simply harping on about ‘great customer service’ while providing disappointing products isn’t going to lead to happy clients. For example, if I were to frequent a restaurant that served nothing but wasp-stinger sandwiches and nettle-juice, the fact that the serving staff were peppy and helpful wouldn’t be enough to make me rate the establishment, not to recommend it to anyone– the quality of the product should be of paramount importance. Ignoring the customer-facing side of things, possibly the biggest issue that Yell has (and has always had) is a real issue with accurate data management and analysis. At no point do any of the figures reported in the office match up with the work put in – at some points, they cease to even display any sense of logic at all. As an example, there was at time when the entire quality team (in preparation for an incentive) was ranked as working -0.something jobs an hour. MINUS. To do that, we’d have had to create new work for ourselves, and then not do it. When this issue was raised, we were waved away with an attitude of ‘well, that’s what the stats say’. Logic has no place here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All in all, what’s most frustrating is that Yell could be a much better place to work, and a much better run company to boot. It just refuses to address some fundamental issues with its business practices, namely: • Fear of experts – instead of hiring people who know what they’re doing from outside the company, they just shuffle around the same handful of people internally • Offshoring – it’s relentless, it’s... damaging, it’s short-term gain for long-term loss • Data management – hire some proper analysts; as above, it’ll cost more in the short term, but pay off in the long As mentioned, the pay really isn’t bad for the area, and if you settle into your rut you can get along alright. However, after 6 years of the same old thing, I really just needed to move on.

    Show More
    Yell2018-11-08

    Yell Response

    November 27, 2018Head of Production and Process Quality

    Thank you for your feedback. It is not clear when you left the Scarborough site from your review, however, I am very confident that if you visited our site you will see some very big differences. We have seen some very positive change at Yell as part of our digital transformation ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Respect is earned, not given!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2 years and 2 months I dedicated my time serving the public in regards to their online presence for the customers of Yell. I met some amazing colleagues who I very much miss and met some fantastic customers along the way. My journey began very positively as it was somewhere I believed I could really shine and pursue my career. I moved 60 miles to the area in the hope of finding my feet and a new chapter in my life... under the Yell umbrella. Yell gave me great insight into a large organisation why it isn't for me.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wanted to pursue in my career but unknowing to me, this wasn’t going to be the case due to my work ethos. I worked hard, always reached and excelled targets with glowing reviews from yells customers but I was overlooked in terms of anything promotional or anything with more management experience. Then I began to see a pattern in trends when it came to new roles and promotions appearing across the office. It became... clear that if you were friends or related to higher ranking staff then it was a clear sign you were in for the running regardless of it you wanted it or not. I didn’t want to befriend an individual due to their work stature and believed that promotions and new roles should be given to the individual best suited for the job and not because they are your friend. The targets increased which meant it was extremely difficult and unreasonable for anyone to complete these in a timely manner with precision. It meant that none of my team except a few managed to hit these goals. 45 hour weeks became the norm and breaks were reduced to 15 minutes in an entire day. Having to choose between getting a drink and have a toilet break was something I wasn’t happy about.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you would like to keep staff and reduce staff turnover, look after them. Take care of them and give them respect. If you look after your staff, then your staff are going to look after your customers. Show them that they can excel in anything if they work hard enough and encourage this.

    Yell2018-08-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Lovely people, pace of change too quick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Can be flexible with hours Recent pay review means that salary is very good

    Cons

    Rate of change is far too quick Rationale behind big decisions isn't communicated effectively Company values quantity over quality Company is reactive rather than pro-active Bonus scheme seems to be unobtainable

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees' concerns; they may know more than you! You also need to value those people who have a lot of experience and knowledge in digital marketing, in particular SEO. The website product does not perform well because the copy is written by an offshore team who, despite their best efforts, cannot write engaging, original or well-optimised content, and because despite the copy lead's push for change,... SEO practices are years out of date. Quality needs to be prioritised, and those who work on the onshore quality assurance team should be valued a lot more than they currently are. Without them, there would be far more customer complaints relating to quality as some of the copy on the websites that is seen before it is edited, is shocking and could genuinely cause real issue's for Yell's reputation. In order to be a leader in digital marketing, Yell needs to do things better than any competitor. That doesn't just mean the number of sites you can get through in a week or a reduction in the time taken from sale to live, but it's also about the quality and performance of the product. In order to boost quality and performance, I think a real review of where content is written is needed, and the experience and knowledge of the copy lead and the QA team should be listened to.

    Show More
    Yell2018-06-22
Found 19 reviews