Yell DCSE Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell DCSE Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Positive changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Yell, particularly at the Scarborough site are what make it an enjoyable place to work. The senior management team here make a real effort to recognise, motivate and inject enthusiasm running regular reward incentives and organising events. Scarborough has gone through some big changes this year which has brought challenges, but with the leadership of our head of department we are now in a great... position to really positively impact our customers.

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of the changes this year have happened very quickly, with some individuals having to adapt to new roles in a short space of time, which has brought its challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the motivation and recognition and ensure communication stays consistent throughout the site.

    Yell2018-08-09

    Yell Response

    August 15, 2018Head of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Reviews help us to continue to develop the business we all work for. It is great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us and enjoy the incentives that our Scarborough Management Team host. Change is inevitable to ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great training, clicky environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is fantastic and I’m so grateful to Yell as I have now landed my dream job as a content writer on an amazing salary thanks to ‘paying my dues’ at Yell. I would never have got my current job without the marketing knowledge I picked up at Yell and the ongoing training (which felt tedious at the time!!)

    Cons

    It’s a clicky environment with lots of back stabbing. They expect so much of you in terms of targets, hardly anyone managed to hit them. If you care about your customers you take work home with you, you can help it. Yell do not care one tiny bit about their customers, they just see dollar signs which is a real shame. The CEO hasn’t a clue how hard the customer service executives work and the pressure they are... under..,he’s probably too busy on his Yacht!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The pay for DCSE’s should be higher, it’s a tough job and if you want your staff to care you need to give them that incentive - it just grinds you down after a while. The targets are almost impossible when dealing with human being and not robots who sometimes simply will not answer the phone.

    Yell2018-10-13

    Yell Response

    October 23, 2018Agency & Onboarding Director

    Thank you for your feedback. It is really great to hear that the training we provided whilst you were working at Yell has really helped you to succeed in your future career. However, we would like to address the other feedback provided. The Senior Leadership in Yell acknowledge ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Has its plus points but appalling treatment of staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for the area The team I am on is great Some managers care about their teams There have been some improvements

    Cons

    Treatment of staff by some members of management is appalling. I have seen several people leave in tears or go on long term sick due to stress, you are often spoken down to by some individuals (not all, some managers are fine). It feels like staff welfare is far down the list of priorities, and is pushing many to breaking point. The same types of people get opportunities over the ones that work the hardest. I've... known very skilled people turned down for roles for more popular types. The basic role is not suitable for creative types. Whilst some things have changed for the better (pay, variety of work types) , you get the feeling it is give with one hand, take away with the other, and messages are very mixed, one minute positive and uplifting the next serious and authoritarian.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a serious conversation with some managers and support roles about people skills. Staff should not be forced, guilt tripped or threatened with disciplinary to stay long past their leaving time without notice, or take on work they cannot manage if they are at capacity. The way you approach your staff is a key reason why so many people are either leaving, or want to leave. I used to have pride in working here but... it is long gone sadly. People on site feel so disposable and Dare not speak out of line. Please let them know they matter

    Show More
    Yell2018-10-31

    Yell Response

    November 6, 2018Agency & Onboarding Director

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it’s great to see you’re happy with the pay, culture within your immediate team as well as the level of care that some managers demonstrate to their teams, along with the acknowledgement that improvements have been made. We are ...

    Show More
  4. "Scarborough Is On The Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Recent changes have lead to an industry leading customer experience. - Senior site leaders are approachable, honest and are very much “for the people.” - Development is there for those that want it and are willing to put themselves out there and get noticed. - Support from the majority of Team Leaders is at a good level; this could be improved if time was managed better. - Very good salary for the area -... Training is very good, although there has been a lot of change and new things to learn lately; the pace of change should now slow for an embedding period. - The people who work in the office are fantastic, it’s easy to get on with everyone - The employment package as a whole is competitive for the area and has some great benefits and bonuses. - Recently appointed CCMs have made positive changes and are committed to ensuring that the office becomes a centre of excellence for customer experience. - Some very knowledgable people work here and it’s always easy to get input and support from them. - Senior Site Leaders are committed to making sure their people shine.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pace of change has been very quick, too quick in my opinion. This has been driven by the SLT - not site leaders - and it’s important to remember that. - Because of the pace of change and because of Organisation changes within the SLT the office morale is below par at the moment. The site leaders are doing everything they can to amend this and bring positivity back to the site. - SLT are very blinkered to the... goings-on and low morale at the office; this needs to change and more SLT need to visit the site and speak to the people and not just managers and site leaders.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior Site Leaders: Continue how you are. Continue to support YOUR people and have the open door policy that you have. Continue the push to show that this site IS THE centre of excellence for customer experience. Push back to SLT on things that your people are telling you don’t work or won’t work - we do the job day in, day out and know what works best for our customers. SLT: Take more notice of the front line... agents, listen to them. As above, we are the ones talking to our customers and working the job. We don’t need spreadsheets to tell us “what good looks like.” Visit this site more and actually talk to front line agents and take onboard their points around how things can be improved, both internally and for the customer. Finally and this one is huge: Targets need to be looked at. I’m not suggesting they are too high or too low, but the actual KPIs themselves. I do not know of a Contact Centre that has a “productivity” target. The role isn’t a “production” role anymore and the targets should reflect this. Productivity is not a true reflection of the work an agent puts in on a day to day basis. Utilisation would be much better as a KPI and would give a better indication of productivity. You, the SLT, have said time and time again that being on the phone categorically improves productivity- put your money where your mouth is, believe in what you’re telling us and make contact centre related KPIs.

    Show More
    Yell2018-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive managers - Progression - Good incentives - Good bonus scheme - People higher up I.e. Head of Onboarding are very approachable and supportive - Accommodate to my personal needs with working hours

    Cons

    - Constant change - Targets are very challenging and can be stretching for a lot of people but the pay reflects this

    Advice to Management

    I feel like this change a lot at Yell and instead of just doing them straight away we should think them through more before embedding them. Senior management are very supportive, I could go to them with anything and they would always try their best to resolve it. I understand the business needs change and we have to make changes but I think letting people get use to their targets before upping them would be... a good start, so people feel confident.

    Show More
    Yell2018-08-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Hours can be accommodating for family/childcare needs. - Good incentives - Good bonus scheme - Senior management are approachable and passionate about what they do Whilst the pace of change can be challenging, changes have been made in order to make this easier for us all. Recently, a wage increase has been implemented which now makes it a very competitive wage for the area. In my opinion, the Head of... Onboarding and Call Centre Managers are very approachable, supportive and do do their absolute best to make this a good place to work. It can be easy to forget that they have also had to adapt to the rapid change, but if you have a problem, 9 times out of 10 a member of senior management will address and discuss the issue with you the same day. Senior management aren't afraid to muck in if team managers aren't available.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pace of change has been difficult to adapt to, but is improving - Progression can be difficult - Targets are high, can seem un-achievable for some

    Advice to Management

    Management are aware of the issues that the site is facing and are trying to find a way forward. The rate of change needs to slow down, give time for targets etc to embed and people to get used to them before increasing them again. In terms of monitoring of progress, the implementation of frameworks needs to be fully thought out before embedding something that isn't quite fit for purpose. Perhaps waiting a little... longer, and getting it right first time would be less stressful and sit more positively with members of staff. The whole site has gone through a huge change over the last 8 months and both staff and management alike need to be commended for the way in which they have dealt with it. A turbulent few months, but there is light at the end of the tunnel.

    Show More
    Yell2018-08-09
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Awful place to work AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff are treat horrendously Lied to, Bullied, Patronised, lots covered up not what it pretends to be at all.

    Cons

    Paid wrong. Lied to, bullied, spoke about by management who do have a clue what they are doing. Constantly spoke down to, Pile the pressure on and tell you you are rubbish at your job Bad training, all round bad company to work for

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying. Sort your ship out. Don't lie to or try bully people and use other management to cover up, Stop using scare tactics on staff Scarborough building is horrendous awful environment gossipy and negative,

    Yell2018-08-02

    Yell Response

    August 8, 2018Head of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Firstly, I am sorry that your experience of working at Yell did not match up to your expectations and was not in keeping with the positive experience of the majority of people who work here. I can assure you that we have ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Nothing to Yell about"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free tea!! Good work colleagues!!

    Cons

    No one has a clue whats going on. Always things changing.

    Yell2018-06-20

    Yell Response

    July 11, 2018Director of Customer Operations

    Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your work with your colleagues! We are are a fast paced organisation and therefore do undergo change, however, if feel certain issues affected your work with us, I would encourage you to get in contact with one of our ...

    Show More
  9. "Yell as a business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good job experience, good benefits, nice employees and managers that care.

    Cons

    Workload, pressure, targets, daily schedule changes and misleading information from the higher ups. There's been a lot of negative reviews lately and yes my overall score was only 2 out of 5 however, the office in Scarborough has gone through a lot of change lately from a production site to more of a contact centre which is why the majority of people left. With staff leaving it has meant that their workload has been... given to other people making their jobs much more stressful. Unfortunately staff are taking the increase in stress home with them which again means a few people may be on long term sick and when they go on leave their work also gets passed out. It's currently in a vicious cycle and until they can get more staff in (or move some of the work to another office, which is in process at the moment) it's going to continue that way. None of it is the managers fault, as they can only do what their told, I believe it is the fault of senior management (nobody at the Scarborough site) they are trying to rush through process changes without wanting to cause any disruption to the outputs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff to deal with the inputs (I already know that recruitment is on the horizon). Make workloads more even nobody should be taking 8 Inbounds a day when others get 1 or 2.

    Yell2018-05-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible target driven hell hole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning how websites and search engines actually work

    Cons

    Micromanagement at its best and recieving disciplinary for not hitting the targets which are impossible to hit. The people are what make the place a hard place to work, can be a VERY toxic workplace. Very clicks groups and favoritism is rife. I observed so many people getting turned away for jobs in favor of managers friends who had no clue, which she s why the company fails to deliver. If you have a better idea... than your line manager don't pitch it, you'll only be dumbed down. Overall a very clicky place with a lot of spite from snobby staff, avoid like the plague.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously please take this onboard - managers in your Scarborough office are heavily under knowledgeable, people skills are non existent and whip cracking/micromanagement seem to be the trend. Taylorism exists in its fullest here and if I'm being honest it's not a very nice environment to work in. A lot of people I know personally have sent you all e-mails explaining this from that particular office and yet I hear... nothing has changed. I was forced out of your company through the bullying culture and as the U.K. S leading digital agency I feel this culture shouldn't exist in a company of this scale

    Show More
    Yell2018-05-08

    Yell Response

    May 23, 2018Director of Customer Operations

    Thank you for your review, I wanted to set your mind at rest in a few areas that you have raised concern about. Since the creation of the Customer Operations channel we have been working incredibly hard behind the scenes to ensure we have a team fully set up to deliver the best customer ...

    Show More
Found 14 reviews