Yell Digital Customer Services Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Digital Customer Services Executive Reviews

Updated 28 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
3 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The day-to-day office grind is a thing of the past since I started with Yell. I enjoy going to work, I enjoy working with the people I work with and I enjoy the constant change of pace. Training and development are second to none! Coming from an SME background I expected to be siloed at Yell and only know those working within my team, or close by - wrong! Everyone at the office is friendly and willing to help each... other, support each other and all because we have one main aim - our customers satisfaction. Everyone from the DCSEs to the Team Managers to the Ops Managers and beyond always have a welcoming "Hello" and are on hand to support. I have one of the most supportive TMs (DH) who LEADS and COACHES rather than manages - I can't thank him enough! Such a fantastic approach! Their approach to flexible working hours works very well, with give and take on both parts of course. Their enthusiasm to promote special occasions for charities is second to none - Children in Need, Christmas Jumper Day, Halloween Bake Sales all proceeds for charity. Overall a fantastic work environment, working with people who are passionate, a real sense of team work and great working conditions.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not enough team building lunches/activities Opportunities for junior management are few

    Advice to Management

    Promote more team building activities - paintballing, go-karting, lunches out Create some more junior management roles to enthuse DCSEs to strive for something - something around TM level or assistants to TMs And the big one... TMs calendars are often flooded with senior management meetings allowing them less time to support team - this fix needs working on sooner rather than later!

    Yell2016-12-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "You give your all and get nothing in return"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get weekends off There are some nice people in the office Good pay rate

    Cons

    The process of how we do things is continuously changed. On occasion there are no proper roll outs to staff when changes are implemented so half of the office are doing things one way, and the other half another Agents are much more knowledgable of the job role than management are which means no real support mechanism apart from two floorwalkers who have to share their capabilities across 75 staff members and... groups of new starters We used to get 5 minutes after every call to write notes on the system and record the call - they have taken that time away from us now so we just have to try and write the notes as quick as we can before another call comes through. They don’t care about any affect this has on our job, as long as the statistics say that we pick up every call that comes through then that means the big wigs look good while all the agents under their management struggle The sales reps who sell products to customers tell the customers that we are ‘highly trained digital specialists’ and they use this to really sell our services and knowledge to customers so they buy into it more. However, our contracts say we are Digital Customer Service Executives. These are two different things - a DS is a skilled person and a DCSE is not, which means they are happy to sell us as skilled people to customers so they buy our products, but they aren’t happy for us to sell ourselves as this or progress into better jobs using DS as a job reference. Micro-management - they are obsessed with managing every single little aspect of your job role which feels clinical and overwhelming They continuously implement things that make your job harder. They give you more things to do and less time to do it, and it feels like they will never stop asking for more from you. Mentally, it has pushed me to my limit, and although the £19000 salary is respectable for the type of job it is, I think every penny is earnt and deserved by us

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To be more down to earth in terms of understanding what it is really like to do our job role. I feel like management come across as robotic sometimes when they are enforcing the business’ objectives, and this puts a wall up in terms of being able to build a good honest relationship with them

    Yell2019-02-28
  3. Helpful (22)

    "In lieu of an exit interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Increased incentives of late – genuine attempts being made to make the company look like it cares for its employees Decent pay for the area By and large my line manager has been great

    Cons

    The Quality Assurance role: In many ways the role is a truly Sisyphean task – no matter how much feedback and training and support we offer, the quality of the end-product never changes. Just when we think we’ve managed to get the writers/designers to do something right, that ol’ offshore boulder rolls right back down to where it started. And then we do it over, and over, and over… At the risk of mixing metaphors,... this really does create a downward spiral leading to a poor end-product for the customer. We’re given far too little time to fix the magnitude and multitude of errors that are created when a company insists on offshoring as many products and services as possible, which results in the customer on most occasions getting something at best underwhelming, and at worst completely wrong for them. The team is generally under-utilised and frequently threatened with redundancy, which creates an unhappy work environment – nobody likes to feel as though their contribution means nothing. Personally, all of the above left me feeling fatigued and worn out, which is why I have found a new job elsewhere. Yell as a whole: Upper management in Yell is seemingly at a loss with what to do with itself most of the time. Senior management positions are swapped and changed between a small number of people with what appears to be little thought about who actually has the right experience for each job – a case of blindly smashing different shaped blocks into different shaped holes until something fits. This disjointed approach leads to a constant stream of poor choices, with the entire senior management team working in a reactive rather than proactive manner – what’s of vital importance one month is tossed thoughtlessly aside the next when a shiny new process/product/idea comes into view. This shouldn’t be a huge issue – Yell is, after all, a company working in the digital marketplace, where fast decisions and changes are a matter of course. The problem begins, however, when the company has an approach to rolling out anything new which can be most kindly described as shambolic. There’s far too much ‘blue-sky thinking’ as they call it, and any attempts to discuss possible difficulties which could arise are often waved away as petulant naysaying. In my mind, when introducing a new product/process etc, a company should engage with the staff who will be using it day to day to get a better idea of any potential pitfalls, in order to tackle issues BEFORE they arise, rather than after. Speaking of the staff working in the office – there are some very talented, very savvy people working here. Yell doesn’t even know what it’s got half the time, as there are resources untapped which could honestly make the company much better than it is. However, there’s little chance of advancement of any kind for all but a select few. For example, there’s the way that anyone choosing to become a manager or trainer or coach will be put on one secondment after another, rather than being offered a concrete role following the initial bedding-in period. It’s a genuinely awful way to treat employees who want to exceed and give more to the company. On the plus side, at least these roles are still onshore – Yell is unnecessarily zealous about offshoring EVERYTHING they think they can get away with. Large chunks of our customer service department? Offshored. Most of HR? Offshored. PPC creation? Offshored. Website design? Offshored. Copywriting? Oh you’d better believe that’s offshored. As mentioned above, this leads to Yell’s customers receiving subpar products across the board. This, I feel, betrays a profound and flagrant misunderstanding of how to create satisfied customers – simply harping on about ‘great customer service’ while providing disappointing products isn’t going to lead to happy clients. For example, if I were to frequent a restaurant that served nothing but wasp-stinger sandwiches and nettle-juice, the fact that the serving staff were peppy and helpful wouldn’t be enough to make me rate the establishment, not to recommend it to anyone– the quality of the product should be of paramount importance. Ignoring the customer-facing side of things, possibly the biggest issue that Yell has (and has always had) is a real issue with accurate data management and analysis. At no point do any of the figures reported in the office match up with the work put in – at some points, they cease to even display any sense of logic at all. As an example, there was at time when the entire quality team (in preparation for an incentive) was ranked as working -0.something jobs an hour. MINUS. To do that, we’d have had to create new work for ourselves, and then not do it. When this issue was raised, we were waved away with an attitude of ‘well, that’s what the stats say’. Logic has no place here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All in all, what’s most frustrating is that Yell could be a much better place to work, and a much better run company to boot. It just refuses to address some fundamental issues with its business practices, namely: • Fear of experts – instead of hiring people who know what they’re doing from outside the company, they just shuffle around the same handful of people internally • Offshoring – it’s relentless, it’s... damaging, it’s short-term gain for long-term loss • Data management – hire some proper analysts; as above, it’ll cost more in the short term, but pay off in the long As mentioned, the pay really isn’t bad for the area, and if you settle into your rut you can get along alright. However, after 6 years of the same old thing, I really just needed to move on.

    Show More
    Yell2018-11-08

    Yell Response

    November 27, 2018Head of Production and Process Quality

    Thank you for your feedback. It is not clear when you left the Scarborough site from your review, however, I am very confident that if you visited our site you will see some very big differences. We have seen some very positive change at Yell as part of our digital transformation ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Respect is earned, not given!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2 years and 2 months I dedicated my time serving the public in regards to their online presence for the customers of Yell. I met some amazing colleagues who I very much miss and met some fantastic customers along the way. My journey began very positively as it was somewhere I believed I could really shine and pursue my career. I moved 60 miles to the area in the hope of finding my feet and a new chapter in my life... under the Yell umbrella. Yell gave me great insight into a large organisation why it isn't for me.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wanted to pursue in my career but unknowing to me, this wasn’t going to be the case due to my work ethos. I worked hard, always reached and excelled targets with glowing reviews from yells customers but I was overlooked in terms of anything promotional or anything with more management experience. Then I began to see a pattern in trends when it came to new roles and promotions appearing across the office. It became... clear that if you were friends or related to higher ranking staff then it was a clear sign you were in for the running regardless of it you wanted it or not. I didn’t want to befriend an individual due to their work stature and believed that promotions and new roles should be given to the individual best suited for the job and not because they are your friend. The targets increased which meant it was extremely difficult and unreasonable for anyone to complete these in a timely manner with precision. It meant that none of my team except a few managed to hit these goals. 45 hour weeks became the norm and breaks were reduced to 15 minutes in an entire day. Having to choose between getting a drink and have a toilet break was something I wasn’t happy about.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you would like to keep staff and reduce staff turnover, look after them. Take care of them and give them respect. If you look after your staff, then your staff are going to look after your customers. Show them that they can excel in anything if they work hard enough and encourage this.

    Yell2018-08-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Lovely people, pace of change too quick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Can be flexible with hours Recent pay review means that salary is very good

    Cons

    Rate of change is far too quick Rationale behind big decisions isn't communicated effectively Company values quantity over quality Company is reactive rather than pro-active Bonus scheme seems to be unobtainable

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees' concerns; they may know more than you! You also need to value those people who have a lot of experience and knowledge in digital marketing, in particular SEO. The website product does not perform well because the copy is written by an offshore team who, despite their best efforts, cannot write engaging, original or well-optimised content, and because despite the copy lead's push for change,... SEO practices are years out of date. Quality needs to be prioritised, and those who work on the onshore quality assurance team should be valued a lot more than they currently are. Without them, there would be far more customer complaints relating to quality as some of the copy on the websites that is seen before it is edited, is shocking and could genuinely cause real issue's for Yell's reputation. In order to be a leader in digital marketing, Yell needs to do things better than any competitor. That doesn't just mean the number of sites you can get through in a week or a reduction in the time taken from sale to live, but it's also about the quality and performance of the product. In order to boost quality and performance, I think a real review of where content is written is needed, and the experience and knowledge of the copy lead and the QA team should be listened to.

    Show More
    Yell2018-06-22
  6. "DCSE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    plenty of options to move around the teams and learn new skills

    Cons

    bare minimum in terms of earning more money secondments offered are a minimal increase in pay for the responsibility and just get extended

    Advice to Management

    push the voices of the teams more

    Yell2017-01-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Customer Service Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    • Relaxed working environment • Salary is OK • Achievable targets Overall my time at Yell has been great. It is an ideal starting position for anyone who wishes start a career in advertising or digital marketing.

    Cons

    • Difficult to progress • Progression to producing higher spec websites does not lead to an increased salary • Bonus structure offers little extra reward for massively overachieving

    Advice to Management

    • Tiered salary structure to reward the employees who progress to building the higher-spec websites. • When offering progression opportunities, no more 'secondments' that carry no additional pay increase - I do not want to progress if it means doing the job of management for the same salary I am currently on

    Yell2016-06-23
  8. "The worst job I have ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people there. The work is interesting and once the systems are learnt, enjoyable.

    Cons

    There was a 1970's boot camp atmosphere where threats of action plans, performance improvement plans and disciplinary procedures were prevalent from day one. There is an interesting approach to 'flexible working' If you decide to risk working here make sure you understand it and then keep a record of all the additional hours you work as mistakes can be made when it comes to payment. The outdated operational... practices need to change. Overall, it was the worst six months of my working life and I was really happy to leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure team leaders have good management and communications training. What some perceive as bullying, others see as poor communication. Either of these has a negative impact on performance. Treat the staff as if they want to perform well and support them in this rather than treat them as if they are all lazy and recalcitrant and need to be threatened in order to work at all. There is a limited talent pool in the... area so a high staff turnover, although keeping pay low, is not a good long term strategy.

    Show More
    Yell2016-07-25

    Yell Response

    August 2, 2016Senior Operations Manager - Scarborough

    Thank you for letting us know your views and we’re sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your time working at Yell. We have a zero tolerance policy to bullying of any kind and look to ensure we have a working environment where everyone is treated fairly, with the training and development ...

    Show More
  9. "Fun place to work, lovely people, not much progression except for manager roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2 weeks initial training, lots of people to support you, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, lots of insight into the digital world, realistic targets, supportive if you are struggling

    Cons

    Always changing with not much warning, a lot of expectation to "just adapt" without in-depth training, not much information/communication about other teams in the business and their roles therefore lack of customer satisfaction

    Yell2016-05-31
Found 9 reviews