Yell Digital Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Digital Specialist Reviews

Updated 13 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
18 Ratings
  1. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team, Good career progression, bonus scheme, lots of benefits, brilliant training

    Cons

    Haven't encountered any so far

    Advice to Management

    I have felt extremely welcomed by my trainer and the general mangers in the office. Everyone is friendly and approachable and I feel supported in my role.

    Yell2019-09-13
  2. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have recently moved into the onboarding role and the training provided for this has been excellent and has given me the confidence to move forward in this position. Family friendly place to work.

    Cons

    I don't have any at the present time.

    Yell2019-09-13
  3. "Like a breath of fresh air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training materials and trainers, Interactive and up to date. Feeling valued. Encouraged to ask questions.

    Cons

    Just finished second week of training. So would have to say none at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Personally, would have to say, during the training to include role plays with another staff member who has not been part of the actual training course. I feel this would be a positive move to practice a few calls with "dummy" customers.

    Yell2019-09-13
  4. "Insights from a Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and working environment.

    Cons

    The time for breaks is limited.

    Advice to Management

    Unable to offer insights at this time.

    Yell2019-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Money when its actually given to you. Some nice people-The odd quiz now and again.

    Cons

    They will move sales out of your name when your off so you don't get paid bonus. Also wide Scale Fraud found throughout the belfast office. Their top consultants and senior management were found to be partaking in wide spread fraud which was never passed onto authorities so the story would break. Pressure is intense on consultants to Make customers Buy at any price so mis selling is fairly common and not... discouraged. It is frowned upon but is an ongoing joke. Targets are increased all the time and even if you do hit them you then have sales moved out of your name so that the manager still gets paid but someone else in your team hits bonus and you don't. You are discouraged from leaving at 5pm when you are finished if you didn't sell that day even when on target. In fact you are told that if you leave there will be serious consequences!! I personally was made to stay until 8pm one night. Work place bullying is common even from upper management and there is an air of sectarianism also. I can genuinely even though i made money here that it was exhausting emotionally and i wouldn't recommend this job to anyone who has any commitments outside of work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff and they will look after the customers..... Training should be provided every few weeks and targets should be lowered to accommodate the time off the phone. Any managers who force their staff to stay after working hours should be punished.I was close to taking yell to an industrial tribunal but decided it would be too much for me having already been broken by the management who cause me... serious issues both mentally and financially. Overall an Exhausting place to work.

    Show More
    Yell2019-09-13
  6. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People you work with and hours

    Cons

    Where do I start? The job itself would be ok if the cancellation rate wasn't so high and we get those sales taken away from us even though it was usually 80% of the time due to performance of the products, customer services and no one doing what they said they would do. It used to be the best place to work for but that all changed, they got money hungry, we work twice as hard as we used to, we get less... money then before, targets always going up and never find out what they are until halfway through the month. Yet the CEO got a 50 million bonus. Access to training materials are great, if we were ever given an opportunity to access it. Expected to perform and have the knowledge of a marketing expert but not given the time or training. All they care about are numbers. The pay used to be great, bonus uncapped, they changed that and now it's like working for a basic telesales company. Not worth what they pay you anymore, yet they still try to convince people that it's better then anywhere else, sorry that's just not true anymore. Most everyone is burnt out and depressed and wanted to just run away. The amount of employees either going on the sick due to stress and pressure is always increasing. Managers speak openly with each other about managing people they don't like out of the business. Then they started messing with people's bonuses and lots of people were ripped off, lied to about what commissions are and then just expected to suck it up when your hundreds short. Basically they take and take and take and don't give back. Long time loyal customers are treated so bad, no respect. I'm glad I got out when I did, it was life sucking

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give people a chance to adjust to changes before you change everything again, give your people time to train and get really good st what they do. Start paying better, basics should be 30k and up for all they deal with. Mental health issues caused by atmosphere is scary.

    Yell2019-08-19

    Yell Response

    August 28, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. It is so disappointing to read your frustrations, knowing that you have already left Yell. We do care about how our people feel and currently we are reviewing feedback from recent focus groups and looking at what we can do to simplify our pay model. We ...

    Show More
  7. "Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very fun and friendly environment. Plenty of in depth training and help along the way.

    Cons

    N/A at this stage, only been here a week

    Advice to Management

    N/A at this stage

    Yell2019-07-12
  8. "DS - Good company atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment with helpful and supportive staff Good company benefits Good work/life balance

    Cons

    not worked here long enough.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Yell2019-06-14
  9. "DS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training, if you are unsure about anything they give you the confidence to ask. Friendly and calm atmosphere. Everybody very helpful. Building very clean with easy parking.

    Cons

    none to report, new to business

    Advice to Management

    none, new to business

    Yell2019-06-14
  10. "Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thorough interview process, self explanatory and you know you're the right person for the job as the vetting of candidates through each step is intense. Good training in first few weeks, explained well and amazing team to work with (both new starters and established staff). Everyone welcoming and friendly.

    Cons

    Took a long time for me after getting through the last stage in-person interview where I was told I had the job but was on "offer hold" a few hours after the interview, to actually getting a start date, the wait period was around three months.

    Advice to Management

    None as of yet, only been here two weeks.

    Yell2019-05-02

    Yell Response

    May 5, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. It is great to hear how welcome you have been made in your new role at Yell. I am not sure what happened during ...

    Show More
Found 26 reviews