Yell Field Sales Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Field Sales Consultant

Yell Field Sales Consultant Reviews

Updated 24 Nov 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "If you have the skills and put in the effort - you will get the rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    Financial reward! The targets are achievable and earning potential is excellent, far in excess of many similar roles - though you will have to work hard to achieve them. The training is absolutley first class; over 3 weeks residential course when you join and ongoing training every few weeks and months. Fellow employees are always willing to help each other and there is a very strong team spirit in the sales... office; support when you are not performing so well and applaude when you get a great sale. Managers are very helpful and supportive and are there to help you get the best from yourself.

    Show More

    Cons

    Despite the company being very keen to promote a healthy "work . life balance", if you really want to achieve you have to put the hours in.

    Advice to Management

    Don't cut back on the support and the training.

    Yell2008-08-31
  2. "Field Account Manager -A 16 months to forget"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and Car were good

    Cons

    Products are poor with poor results - Off shore customer service is a joke Worst Management Ive ever worked for in south London

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a chance to find their feet before threatening the sack

    Yell2016-11-24

    Yell Response

    December 14, 2016Regional Manager

    Thanks for your review and the feedback you have provided. We read all comments left on Glassdoor, both positive and constructive and are disappointed that your experience of working at Yell did not match up to your expectations before taking the position. Our management team is ...

    Show More
  3. "Expect Too Much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Sales Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    Flexible working hours in field.

    Cons

    Takes over your life. Stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your staff

    Yell2016-06-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Yell/Hibu Newcastle UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy work life balance, good pace

    Cons

    Shocking management, not real people managers. A lot of politics and people who are hanging onto a career because they wouldn't manage to get into another business in sales. Poor Products Dated Poor skilled sales people. Low money

    Advice to Management

    Shocking, and no wonder they have an HR department because a lot of people are paid to leave with low fuss, due to what is going on behind the scenes.

    Yell2016-04-01

    Yell Response

    April 18, 2016Recruitment Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your views. As a business aim to provide the best possible working environment and are sorry that you feel this was not the case during your time with our company. Although the review does not indicate when you left us, I am ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "long! 19 years. first 16 were great. the directories used to be a quality product which people needed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    you used to be able to earn a lot money. the directories are dead now. no one uses them, peole dont need yell.com as everyone knows how to use a search engine. i would never advertise my business on yell (or hibu!!!!! as it is now). sorry, it is a dinosaur

    Cons

    unrealistic targets. threat managment. lack of reality!

    Advice to Management

    treat people like adults not children

    Yell2014-05-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "If you don't like it, get out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Sales Consultant in Perth, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell

    Pros

    Good basic Nice car (but you pay for it handsomely)

    Cons

    Huge workload Constantly changing their offering to try and catch up with little training Yellow Pages a dying product Management use bullying tactics Senior management say things like "leave if you can't hack it" Commission payments can be messed up and not paid You get treated like a number not a person

    Advice to Management

    Senior management - stop hiring the best salespeople as middle managers. You are killing the company by putting these power hungry horrors in charge of your front line staff

    Yell2011-03-04
Found 6 reviews