Yell Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Targets are tough but can be achieved with long hours(in 19 reviews)

  • "To early to comment, but previous experience work life balance(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "I love this job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm new to Yell but already I can see a work place of like minded individuals who are passionate, focused and assertive. The hours are fantastic along with early finishes on Friday. The management actually care about the development of the employees and will help coach you toward success.

    Cons

    There is no real downsides! If you have the right mindset and come in to work hard, you will see the results. Steve Jobs - Our job is to figure out what our customers are going to want before they do Learn. Educate. Succeed!

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-05-26

    Yell Response

    June 12, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to hear how much of a great experience you are having!

    Continue reading
  2. "Really good interviewing process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and working from home opportunity

    Cons

    Could be a shorter timescale from first initial interview to start date.

    Yell2020-02-20
  3. "Love Yell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    1st Class induction and training, Excellent employer, really look after their staff, scope for progression within the business, representing a UK Superbrand, lovely lovely colleagues, fantastic recognition for work well done and incentives that just dont exist at any other company

    Cons

    None - there is no better place to work, im so glad to be part of the Yell team

    Yell2020-02-20
  4. "Excellent Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Consultant in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonus/wage - work life balance

    Cons

    t ew pro cess bu t worth it for th e right people

    Yell2020-02-20
  5. "New starter experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TELESALES Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training with useful insight knowledge on systems, products and processes. Trainer is excellent.

    Cons

    Hotel selection for training could be better

    Yell2020-02-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work !!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ive been working for yell for 17 years and couldnt imagine working anywhere else Career Opportunities, ive been lucky enough to work from home for 10 years, which helped with by work life balance and family Great Uncapped Bonuses very rewarding !!! Great Recognition Events The yell People ( Family :-) )

    Cons

    Targets can be stretching if having a long holiday but other than that nothing!

    Yell2020-02-05

    Yell Response

    February 14, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to have you as a member of our team!

    Continue reading
  7. "Still Here 20 Years Later... Say No More"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Birmingham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Opportunities for promotion

    Cons

    The office environment needs improvement. Sometimes too cold, sometimes too hot and lifts have been poor but are improving

    Yell2020-02-05

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. It is important that people do have a work life balance so it's great to see if referenced in your review.

    Continue reading
  8. "Almost 24 years at Yell and still have so much passion for the company and my input. #morethanajob #proudtobeyell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career, Progression, Earnings, Culture, People you work with. Autonomy within your role. If you want to do well and work hard ... then Yell is a place you can thrive at.

    Cons

    Can be long hours but what job isn't when you want to do it right and build a successful career. It's about having pride in what you do consistently.

    Yell2020-02-05

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    It is really great to understand how you still feel after this many years at Yell, thank you for sharing.

    Continue reading
  9. "There are much worse places to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The people are welcoming - 9-5 working is good

    Cons

    - Salaries weren't great, though this has since been addressed to some extent - Management seemed a little oblivious to what digital marketing actually was - Too much of a push for quantity

    Continue reading
    Yell2020-02-19
  10. "job role review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working for yell.com is a very rewarding company, with great staff and management who are offer great support and the opportunities to progress your career. the best company i have worked for and i would highly recommend having a career in yell

    Cons

    the company is constantly changing which can be challenging but as workers we understand this is done to improve the way yell.com works and offer service to our customers

    Continue reading
    Yell2020-02-04

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    As some-one that has been with us for 1 to 2 years it is great to hear how supportive you are finding the structure we have in place and that you see your job as a career. This is really important to us which is why we created #morethanajob on Instagram to allow people to share their experiences. We will continue to listen and currently are running focus groups around the business around our values everyone has the opportunity to feed into this through as email set up specifically for us to capture our people's thoughts.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 505 reviews
</>Embed