Yell Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Find your next job here

Yell Reviews

Updated 20 February 2018
290 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

290 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good transport links to office; advocates for work/life balance (in 22 reviews)

  • Really good company to work for and really flexible working hours (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • You work long hours, the market constantly changes and you are expected to keep apace with market changes (in 15 reviews)

  • No work life balance and lots of management transfers (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Company have been amazing throughout my time here.
    Supportive to my career, my homelife, and my role.
    Amazing culture - healthy competitive atmosphere in sales, and incredibly supportive culture in Corporate.
    Exceptional tools and processes
    A company wanting to drive to do the best for customers

    Cons

    I think it's a challenging place to work, in terms of what is expected of you - so if you have the right attitude, then the Pro's will all work in your favour - if you don't, then I think it could be quite a tough place to be.

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thank you for the review, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your role with us and that you have found the culture here supportive.

    We understand that at times this can be a challenging... More


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Hard Work Big Rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great clients, good rewards for successful sales people.

    Cons

    Challenging sales targets, poor operational delivery .

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for your review and all your positive feedback, I am pleased to hear that you are enjoying working at Yell.

    To address your ‘con’, we are a fast- paced business and therefore at times we... More


  3. "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Current Employee - Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    well paid treated like an adult well looked after

    Cons

    sometimes put myself under pressure but is expected in sales

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi

    Thank you for your review and the positive feedback you have provided. We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying your time at Yell.

    I can appreciate that sales can at times be a... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Digital Telesales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Telesales Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Digital Telesales Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly & supportive staff from start to end
    Long weekends
    Great opportunities
    Commission as well as a good basic salary

    Cons

    Not so much a con, but it is definitely a challenging role & can test you in so many ways. The key is to be resilient and keep trying.

    Advice to Management

    A big thank you to, Sally Hunt who was my first point of call during my interview stages and Nina, Shelly and Sanj who helped us through TIP.

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thank you for the review, and for taking the time to share your experience so far. I’m really pleased to hear that you are enjoying your role and that you have found the working environment and... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great Products for our clients that produce amazing results. As an employee all the support you could ever need is at your fingertips

    Cons

    I cant actually think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the same thing as it's perfect.

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for your review and the positive feedback you have provided. It is clear that Yell is doing a lot of things right from your perspective, and that you are happy to be with us.

    I completely... More


  7. "Poor business model - feels like a sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Advisor in Birmingham, England
    Former Employee - Collections Advisor in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Department and team managers are generally good and genuinely care about staff and the business

    Hours are good - very few Collections roles allow you to work Monday to Friday 9-5.

    Cons

    Dodgy sales rep selling poor performing and overpriced products (sometimes hundreds or thousands every month). I was once told by a sales rep "we sell them the dream and let you lot (collections) deal with the mess afterwards,

    Senior management like to say that they care about delivering an excellent customer experience but this is not true, as is evident by the fact the business has a low net promoter score.

    The business' stance on customer service and complaints is shocking. If a customer says they were mis-sold, they are told "well you signed the paperwork". If the customer says the product is performing not as well as they thought, they are told "you signed a 12 month contract" and issues customers have are not really dealt with correctly.es not want to upset sales as they are the ones bringing the money in.

    Processes are constantly changing in Operations because sales will complain about something, even if it is not the right thing for the customer or from a compliance perspective. It seems that the business do not want to upset sales as they bring the money in.

    Very few processes in place, or processes that are not fit for purpose.

    Due to most of the above, there is very low morale as you spend most of your day dealing with unhappy customers, people who feel they have been mis-sold etc. and the structures in place in the business mean you cannot properly help them.

    There are opportunities to progress but mostly sideways moves, or upwards moves without a pay increase.

    Advice to Management

    Reputational risk needs to be a priority.
    Be more genuinely customer focused.
    Operations and sales needs to work together a lot better - it is currently as if Operations were subservient to sales, even though it is Operations who have to sort out issues for customers.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digtal Account Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Digtal Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent Induction training with Lots of support thereafter. Very strong product range with excellent proof of value tools.

    Cons

    Lots to juggle, Long hours and have to be committed to succeed

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to feedback from the sales force

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for your review and the positive feedback you have provided. It is clear that Yell is doing a lot of things right from your perspective, and that you are happy to be with us. I would... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Liverpool, England
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great rewards. Fantastic training programme that provides you with all the relevant skills you will need to succeed

    Cons

    None

    Advice to Management

    Great experience. I am really enjoying my time here

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi,

    Thank you for the review. I am so glad to hear that you're enjoying your role at Yell and that you have found the training and rewards fantastic, both these areas are really important to us .... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture, values, people, development, products & customer service

    Cons

    I genuinely cannot think of any

    Advice to Management

    Continue to trust the people you receuit to help

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it’s great to know your enjoying your role at Yell. Our people, values and customers are all extremely important to us so its pleasing to hear positive... More


  11. "PPC Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PPC Executive in London, England
    Former Employee - PPC Executive in London, England

    I worked at Yell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    good training, lots of overtime

    Cons

    high turnover, lots of redundancies

    Advice to Management

    appreciate staff more

    Yell Response

    20 Feb 2018 – Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this review, I am pleased that overall you are enjoying your time at Yell. The feedback around training is particularly encouraging as we believe that offering... More


Showing 290 of 298 reviews
Reset Filters