Yell Reviews

Updated 31 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Hell on earth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Telesales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Basic salary and rota is good

    Cons

    - Unrealistic targets achieved by small percentage of agents. - Micro managed to insane level. - One day of not selling is not accepted always something you are doing wrong regardless of what you achieved month to date. - Zero tolerance on losing a sale, always could have been put 'over the line today' extreme pressure selling to clients encouraged. - Encouraged to objection handle to the point of harassment. - Talk-time targets set at 3.15 hrs per day cold calling, always your fault if not achieved, encourage to 'objection handle' to extent of being hung up on or abused by customers on the call. - Management styles are none existent, selling or not selling you can always achieve more. literally hell on earth. - Miss-represented the position in interview stage. - was explicitly told 'the wolf of wall street reviews online are completely false' to come into the role and be presented with videos of Jordan Belfort's sales techniques as training my management. the list goes on and on

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased you were happy with the base salary and rota offered to you with this role. It is a real shame and we are sorry you had some negatives to your experience. As a business, we are striving to continue to do right by our customer and our employees and given the current climate we have seen our call volumes dramatically increase which no undoubtedly has put more pressure on to our Sales Consultants to deliver during these unprecedented times. . We are now in a position to start reviewing and adapting these though to ensure all targets continue to be achievable. We are hoping that the pressure will ease soon for all and again are very sorry you had a bad experience.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Superb business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Recently promoted Always supported Always encourage Fantastic working environment

    Cons

    No cons - highly recommended place to work

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    August 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Congratulations on your recent promotion! We are pleased to hear that you feel supported and encouraged. We wish you a happy and healthy future with us here at Yell!


  3. "Rewarding - Development Opportunities - Success"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    I've worked for yell now for 12 years and in this time yell has helped me develop my skills in digital marketing but also helped me develop as a person . I have recently been promoted to one of the pinnacle roles in the business and this wouldn't have happened with out the support from my managers. There is so much opportunity in yell with the growth of the digital market place, so what ever role you inspire to be in - you will be supported the whole way from your managers.

    Cons

    In my 12 years tenure, i have came across no cons about working for yell.

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. It is really great to hear you are enjoying your career at Yell and Congratulations on your promotion and also your tenure with us! We pride ourselves on offering excellent career opportunities and love to promote from within. Keep up the great work :)

  4. "Absolutely brilliant."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Telford, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A clear strategy with the right leadership team.

    Cons

    There are no cons. If you’re committed to hard work and collaboration then you’ll fit in with the culture.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really pleased you are enjoying your career with us and wish you continuous health and success in your future with Yell.

  5. "Telesales Belfast"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Executive in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good wages , some decent staff

    Cons

    Sectarianism , Fraud , Aimless direction , no clue

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really pleased you were happy with your salary and also how you referenced you worked with some good people during your time with us. We do always try our best to deliver an exceptional customer and employee experience at Yell. It is really unfortunate that you had some negative experience though and we do apologise for that. Integrity is one of new Values across the organisation and anyone conducting fraud will not have a future with Yell. We are continuing to review all processes and the behaviours of our staff across every area of our business and will not tolerate any behaviour that does not meet our new standards.

  6. "Supportive Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - L&D Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent team work, supportive with work/life balance and generally a really good environment to work in.

    Cons

    Corporate bonus scheme and benefits previously weren't great, however this year seem to have much more opportunity and much fairer in line with sales.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We are really pleased you are enjoying your career with us. Collaboration is one of our new values so it is great to hear team work as one of your pros! Our people make Yell an even more enjoyable place to work. We have recently changed and improved our Corporate bonus scheme to align with our new internal "Hartley Awards" and to make the bonus more substantial to our employees meaning there is a higher bonus earning potential for all. We are very excited to see our new scheme in action and to celebrate the success of our employees in the near future.

  7. "worst company on earth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none i didnt even get a chance to show whatr i could do

    Cons

    Was told to hand in my notice of job clearing £2000 a month with my bonus included they then furloughed me before training and paid me £1200 a month for 3 and half months then stated i had to complete a task that had a 4 hour deadline with any submissions after 4 hours get 0 points = lose their job to get to keep my job. i did a good job at it and submitted on time. 15 mins after the deadline they contacted me to tell me the rules had changed (obviously the people they wanted to keep their job had not done as well as others that they did not want to keep. they sacked me knowing my wife was due to give birth to our 1st child 2 weeks after sacking me and my first mortgage was due to complete at the same time. so to recap the told me to hand in my notice knowing i was gna work hard because my first child and mortgage where due very soon then dropped my salary to 80% basic then sacked me after an unfair process. horrible company

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry you had a bad experience with Yell and can only apologise. It has been an extremely difficult period for our business and employees given the uncertain times and challenges we all faced during the pandemic. This unfortunately had a knock on effect and meant we had to sadly make several people redundant. It is a shame you did not feel the process was fair as we always ensure we carry out a thorough and fair process when having to make anyone redundant. We ensured we accessed all individuals who were impacted based on capability, performance and previous experience for those who were newer to our business. Again we are very sorry you did not have the experience you hoped for and we wish you and your family health and happiness for the future.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Absolute shambles. Teach you to miss sell then sack you when they are caught out"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Advisors are good to work with

    Cons

    Managers are gangsters and I don't know how they sleep at night

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback to ensure we continue to make improvements where needed. We are pleased you enjoyed working with our Telesales Advisors. Culture is key to success in every business and we like to ensure we hire great people who live and breathe our company Values and Behaviours. It is a shame you felt the Managers were a negative part of your experience, our Managers should also live and breathe our Values and Behaviours. You also mentioned the training being recorded, we offer a 2 week class room training induction at the start of anyone's career at Yell where our team of dedicated trainers and coaches provide you with the tools and knowledge you'll need to set you up to succeed. If our consultants are struggling or need extra support after this then we also provide extra coaching or training sessions. We are sorry you feel your experience wasn't as positive and we wish you health and happiness for the future.

  9. "Rewarding, hard work, so-so environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Executive in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money, rewarding, good culture around success

    Cons

    Bullying culture, but still a nice bunch of people

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    June 26, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are working hard to improve our culture and have taken big steps in this through the introduction of our new values. We are seeing amazing examples of our people demonstrating these daily, however it is a shame to see that you are seeing examples of a bullying culture. Please reach out to your HRBP so that we can explore this further.

  10. COVID-19

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, Education and management support.

    Cons

    Covid 19 and the the problems that came with the pandemic

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    June 26, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very proud of our internal training teams and programmes so it is fantastic to hear that our people feel the same! We are working our way through the issues that Covid-19 has bought to the table, like a lot of Companies and are looking forward to coming out the other side!

Found 527 reviews
</>Embed