Yell Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 459 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
280 Ratings
  1. "Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Scarborough, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really informative, helpful, friendly and supportive across all aspects.

    Cons

    No Cons - Great place to work!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Yell2019-08-09
  2. "Insights from a Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and working environment.

    Cons

    The time for breaks is limited.

    Advice to Management

    Unable to offer insights at this time.

    Yell2019-08-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Money when its actually given to you. Some nice people-The odd quiz now and again.

    Cons

    They will move sales out of your name when your off so you don't get paid bonus. Also wide Scale Fraud found throughout the belfast office. Their top consultants and senior management were found to be partaking in wide spread fraud which was never passed onto authorities so the story would break. Pressure is intense on consultants to Make customers Buy at any price so mis selling is fairly common and not... discouraged. It is frowned upon but is an ongoing joke. Targets are increased all the time and even if you do hit them you then have sales moved out of your name so that the manager still gets paid but someone else in your team hits bonus and you don't. You are discouraged from leaving at 5pm when you are finished if you didn't sell that day even when on target. In fact you are told that if you leave there will be serious consequences!! I personally was made to stay until 8pm one night. Work place bullying is common even from upper management and there is an air of sectarianism also. I can genuinely even though i made money here that it was exhausting emotionally and i wouldn't recommend this job to anyone who has any commitments outside of work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff and they will look after the customers..... Training should be provided every few weeks and targets should be lowered to accommodate the time off the phone. Any managers who force their staff to stay after working hours should be punished.I was close to taking yell to an industrial tribunal but decided it would be too much for me having already been broken by the management who cause me... serious issues both mentally and financially. Overall an Exhausting place to work.

    Show More
    Yell2019-09-13
  4. "More than a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach (Sec) in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I began my career in digital sales in Sydney, working for one of the largest News and Media Companies in Australia. I then moved on to Yell as I believed it to be a competitive company with a lot to offer to progress. Yell was the obvious choice; competitive salary, offered digital marketing solutions; and was voted the employee’s choice of best places to work. I was led by an amazing manager who educated us daily... on digital marketing. Looking back now, I can only explain working at Yell as a fulfilling adventure that I never expected. I now work under world class leadership and I continue to grow professionally and personally. Yell has a positive culture, everyone is friends and the best part is that they care about their customers, their employees, and not to mention Yell is number 1 for Digital Marketing Solutions in the UK. When you hear stories or see videos on what its like at Yell remember this, it’s not every thing they say it is, it’s so much more! I would encourage anyone who wants a successful career, who wants to work in a place where you can grow, feel supported and valued then Yell is the place to be.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are not allowed to sleep over!

    Yell2019-08-05
  5. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People you work with and hours

    Cons

    Where do I start? The job itself would be ok if the cancellation rate wasn't so high and we get those sales taken away from us even though it was usually 80% of the time due to performance of the products, customer services and no one doing what they said they would do. It used to be the best place to work for but that all changed, they got money hungry, we work twice as hard as we used to, we get less... money then before, targets always going up and never find out what they are until halfway through the month. Yet the CEO got a 50 million bonus. Access to training materials are great, if we were ever given an opportunity to access it. Expected to perform and have the knowledge of a marketing expert but not given the time or training. All they care about are numbers. The pay used to be great, bonus uncapped, they changed that and now it's like working for a basic telesales company. Not worth what they pay you anymore, yet they still try to convince people that it's better then anywhere else, sorry that's just not true anymore. Most everyone is burnt out and depressed and wanted to just run away. The amount of employees either going on the sick due to stress and pressure is always increasing. Managers speak openly with each other about managing people they don't like out of the business. Then they started messing with people's bonuses and lots of people were ripped off, lied to about what commissions are and then just expected to suck it up when your hundreds short. Basically they take and take and take and don't give back. Long time loyal customers are treated so bad, no respect. I'm glad I got out when I did, it was life sucking

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give people a chance to adjust to changes before you change everything again, give your people time to train and get really good st what they do. Start paying better, basics should be 30k and up for all they deal with. Mental health issues caused by atmosphere is scary.

    Yell2019-08-19

    Yell Response

    August 28, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. It is so disappointing to read your frustrations, knowing that you have already left Yell. We do care about how our people feel and currently we are reviewing feedback from recent focus groups and looking at what we can do to simplify our pay model. We ...

    Show More
  6. "BIGGEST JOKE.. still makes me laugh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telemarketer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely no positives whatsoever

    Cons

    Where oh where to start. They basically watched Wolf of Wall Street(great movie) and decided to insult the whole thing by creating a 6 week training programme based upon it.. hahahahahahahaha!! If you are a serious sales person do not reduce yourself to working here, luckily I got out early for a real company and real money.

    Advice to Management

    There aren’t enough words haha.

    Yell2019-08-30
  7. "The customer losses tell the story"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is above the market average across most roles

    Cons

    This has become an unfulfilling place to work. The staff are suffering and there has been redundancies with good people losing their jobs. There is negative press coverage and the goal posts keep moving when it comes to targets. Nonetheless, if you do well in sales you’ll be given a certificate and a bottle of wine (old school). In all seriousness the fun and purpose has disappeared and the customer cancellation... rates make you question if there is any value in what you are doing. According to the most recent set of financials published across April, May, June, the company lost 3400 more customers than it gained. That’s more than 55 for each business day so I guess the customer and sales model under the current leadership is simply not working and will soon change again. Before you think about joining here in sales , ask yourself if you know anyone under the age of 65 who actively chooses to use online business directories? ............Me neither.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give the customer what they need. Sellling more of what you currently offer is not working. The productivity uplift realised by promoting ex telesales managers to senior positions is irrelevant if they are cancelling. You need smart leadership and smart products.

    Yell2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "When its' good it's very good but when it's not it really is not good at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Sales Induction Manager in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great earnings opportunities. Possibility to work near home location and manage own time.

    Cons

    Constant changing of strategy is challenging for employees, managers and customers. It can feel quite stressful and there is often an 'in crowd' at all levels.

    Advice to Management

    Commit to supporting all sales employees in skill development, allocating 'off target' time on a consistent basis. Maintain a strategy for more than 3 months to allow it to embed and realise its potential.

    Yell2019-07-25
  9. "Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very fun and friendly environment. Plenty of in depth training and help along the way.

    Cons

    N/A at this stage, only been here a week

    Advice to Management

    N/A at this stage

    Yell2019-07-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hopefully a stepping stone..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, healthy living incentives, free hot drinks

    Cons

    Poor business plan means lots of customer dissatisfaction - you're taught to get websites online as soon as possible without any care for the quality, low morale in teams even from new starters, not flexible on hours at all, some hostile/passive aggressive managers

    Advice to Management

    Think about your employees at the bottom and demonstrate some faith in the product

    Yell2019-07-19
Found 459 reviews
</>Embed