Yell Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
29 Ratings
  1. "Really good interviewing process"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and working from home opportunity

    Cons

    Could be a shorter timescale from first initial interview to start date.

    Yell Response

    February 25, 2020Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really pleased to hear that you have had a great experience. Thank you for the feedback regarding the timescale from first initial interview to start date - we will take this back to the recruitment team.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work !!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ive been working for yell for 17 years and couldnt imagine working anywhere else Career Opportunities, ive been lucky enough to work from home for 10 years, which helped with by work life balance and family Great Uncapped Bonuses very rewarding !!! Great Recognition Events The yell People ( Family :-) )

    Cons

    Targets can be stretching if having a long holiday but other than that nothing!

    Yell Response

    February 14, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to have you as a member of our team!

  3. "Still Here 20 Years Later... Say No More"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Birmingham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Opportunities for promotion

    Cons

    The office environment needs improvement. Sometimes too cold, sometimes too hot and lifts have been poor but are improving

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. It is important that people do have a work life balance so it's great to see if referenced in your review.

  4. "Almost 24 years at Yell and still have so much passion for the company and my input. #morethanajob #proudtobeyell"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career, Progression, Earnings, Culture, People you work with. Autonomy within your role. If you want to do well and work hard ... then Yell is a place you can thrive at.

    Cons

    Can be long hours but what job isn't when you want to do it right and build a successful career. It's about having pride in what you do consistently.

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    It is really great to understand how you still feel after this many years at Yell, thank you for sharing.

  5. "Micro managed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Development in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money covered travel expenses

    Cons

    Micro managed, not allowed to use company car they provide as you have to use public transport

    Yell Response

    May 12, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. For our colleagues who are based in London, we do advise that public transport is used, opposed to your Company car, as parking and traffic is difficult in the City Centre. However, as you rightly pointed out, we do expense back the costs our colleagues incur by doing so. It is a shame to hear that you felt micro-managed. Collaboration is one of our 5 key values and pride ourselves in the team ethic we have in this business.

  6. "There are much worse places to start career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The people are welcoming - 9-5 working is good

    Cons

    - Salaries weren't great, though this has since been addressed to some extent - Management seemed a little oblivious to what digital marketing actually was - Too much of a push for quantity

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    February 25, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you met some great people whilst working at Yell - we are very proud of our people. thank you for your feedback and advice to Management. We will be taking these forward. We wish you a all the best in your next adventure!

  7. "job role review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working for yell.com is a very rewarding company, with great staff and management who are offer great support and the opportunities to progress your career. the best company i have worked for and i would highly recommend having a career in yell

    Cons

    the company is constantly changing which can be challenging but as workers we understand this is done to improve the way yell.com works and offer service to our customers

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    As some-one that has been with us for 1 to 2 years it is great to hear how supportive you are finding the structure we have in place and that you see your job as a career. This is really important to us which is why we created #morethanajob on Instagram to allow people to share their experiences. We will continue to listen and currently are running focus groups around the business around our values everyone has the opportunity to feed into this through as email set up specifically for us to capture our people's thoughts.

  8. "Telesales Digital Marketing Consultant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales in Derry, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great competitive salary, recruitment is on the ball with any queries and questions. Very helpful in anyway they can, great overall experience from start to job acquisition.

    Cons

    None have no complaints - Recruitment set expectations no surprises

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    As a new recruit to Yell it is great to see what a great experience you have had so far, thank you for sharing.

  9. "Top job & Top People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment, earning potential and chance for promotion. Iv been there nearly 6 years and if you are driven its the place to be

    Cons

    No onsite parking thats it

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    Thank you for sharing your views. The environment we create in all our sites is really important to us so please keep sharing and always let us know of anything we can do to improve it.

  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Onboarding Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really friendly and relaxing workplace, always fun things going on and approachable management.

    Cons

    short break times, manageable if you don't bring your own food but if need to go to the shop all your break is gone.

    Yell Response

    January 13, 2020Telesales Director

    Great to hear how friendly you are finding your environment, along with the fun element too.

Found 521 reviews
</>Embed