Yell Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 458 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
280 Ratings
  1. "Bonus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Great bonus and incentive prizies

    Cons

    Targets sometimes were high and achievable

    Yell2019-04-18
  2. "Marketing Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    bonus,good,location ,great managers, good energy. also it has an old office terrible lifts from what i remember.

    Cons

    sales sales sales repetitive at time but thats what you sign up for

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-04-15

    Yell Response

    April 25, 2019Telesales Director

    We really appreciate you leaving a review and to see that are enjoying the bonus opportunity in your role and your Manager is having a great impression on you. Yell is extremely people focused and we know our Managers play a great part in how they make you feel. We are working with the landlord regarding the lifts , they have replaced all 4 lifts with new ones which shows commitment on their part to resolve the issue.

    Continue reading
  3. "DAM role - Decent rewards but long hours and massive issues with offshore depts."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Digital Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent basic, bonus and BMW car (or allowance), as well as pension scheme.

    Cons

    The field sales roles are utterly stressful 1) 10 hour+ days with heavy traffic to see the mandatory 4-5 appointments per day, and to find time and enthusiasm and planning ready to sell more digital portfolio, when in reality many of the customers actually wanted to cancel their DDs for advertising they perceived wasn't working. 2) Micro diary management - I actually had my line manager asking one day why my last appointment was 3.30pm - bearing in mind it was usually 1hr+ appointment and travel time of a minimum of 1 hour to get home! 3) The absurd inability for either Scarborough or Manila call centres to be able to build properly and amend the hugely over-priced (£3.5k for a Duda website!!!) for our customers. I actually had a Scarborough staff member in tears on the phone to me when asking for content updates for a client's new build website. Yell's challenging performance targets means staff are on occasion treated as statistics and all humanity seems to be forgotten. 4) The enormous 40% margins for managing sub-£2k PPC Google Ads campaigns. Yell's culture is to hide the margins from clients and simply present a 'sign here' box on the laptop with total spend rather than transparency - this didn't sit well with me and many cancellations ensued when they realised that £400 of their £1k per month PPC budget was actually going to Yell for management fees. 5) The poor Manila-served PPC management meaning that the Spotzer software used had so many errors and glitches and broad match keywords wasting client's budgets. PPC cancellations alone were running at around 50% ... In summary the DAM role as it stands is more of a fire-fighting, 'keep the customers paying their DD' service role rather than a sales role. We even had to 'self gen' photos while driving (ILLEGAL!) for Belfast to try to convert into sales leads, with regular bollockings if we hadn't sent lots of data in... Management focus was all about what business have you increased / sold today and very very little support with avoiding cancellations. Lots of wine and certificates and bonuses for sales made to new clients which was the easy part, but no consideration for the overwhelming majority of the DAM role's challenge which was to solve tech issues with the existing client base we managed. As the face of Yell, customer-facing staff NEED the time, tools and ability to be able to take ownership and solve the many issues clients have which is essential to retain them. Instead it's all about the revenue and no time or even tolerance is given for solving issues and they are simply fobbed off to a call centre. Yellouts were often the only way of getting ongoing problems fixed once and forall, and I on many occasions felt embarased to be representing the Yell brand with paying clients who simply were not getting the service they deserved.

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-04-27

    Yell Response

    May 5, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review and the time you worked with us. I want to reassure you we have done a lot recently around management and the culture they create and we will continue to work with our Managers to ensure they are looking after their people. Starting from April everyone will be scoring their Managers on their leadership so we will have transparency and can then ensure that we have the right training to support. To support the DAM's and our Customers to ensure they do get the right level of service we have firstly increased our headcount in our Inlife department so we now have significantly more CRM's (Customer Relationship Managers) to allow more opportunity to pro-actively contact our Customers. Secondly we have now created a new role in what was our Collections and I & R department and all the People are currently going through a training programme to support them in their new role as Customer Retentions. I hope this reassures you that we are listening as some of the changes have come from our People feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good pay and bonus potetnial is huge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Bonuses are really good.

    Cons

    Can be difficult to hit

    Yell2019-04-08

    Yell Response

    April 15, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. One of the things that we pride ourselves in particularly in the Belfast job market is the bonus opportunity we offer to our people. Our bonus schemes are paid monthly and are uncapped to enable people to strive for their personal earning and life goals. #morethanajob

    Continue reading
  5. "Tele Customer Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Customer Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Culture, people, structure, progression and ethos.

    Cons

    None that I can see so far

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-04-02

    Yell Response

    April 15, 2019Telesales Director

    I am really pleased that you have taken time out so early on in your career with us to leave a review and such a positive one too. I hope that you enjoyed our Cycle event in the Cineworld last week and the evening celebrations that followed. Please ensure that if you do have any advice to management or any cons that you talk to us to ensure that we can provide you with support you may need. Good luck! #morethanajob

    Continue reading
  6. "New to Yell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TELESALES Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, work life balance, rewards

    Cons

    To early to comment, but previous experience work life balance

    Yell2019-03-26

    Yell Response

    March 28, 2019Telesales Director

    It is exciting to see your review as one of our new virtual homeworking people. Please ensure that you keep talking to us and sharing your experiences and thoughts, either through your manager or CCM.

    Continue reading
  7. "Digital account manager new role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Blackpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Profession company and unbelievable brand

    Cons

    I have been in the business 6 weeks and I can safely say I haven’t got any as of yet

    Yell2019-03-25

    Yell Response

    April 15, 2019Telesales Director

    I am really pleased that you already share our passion for our brands! Thank you for your positive review and as you progress in your new role, please ensure you keep talking to your manager about how you are feeling. Good luck! #morethanajob

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Stressful, low staff morale, unobtainable bonuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, regular site updates (afternoon off!)

    Cons

    Targets that are regularly reviewed so you JUST miss out, really high staff turnover, high long term sick level usually down to stress, constantly being trained on new products and services (quick PowerPoint presentation then back on the phones whether you feel confident or not) No admin time allowed, if you're found off the phones you're put straight back on to available even if you are not ready to take a call. Staff morale extremely low, not many long standing staff members left.

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-04-24

    Yell Response

    April 25, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your comments. It’s great to hear you were happy with the salary, communication through site updates and early finish Fridays. In terms of our bonus scheme, its important we review the way this works in order to make it fair for everyone, and we’re proud of the fact that over the last 6 months over 80% of the people in our Onboarding operation earned quarterly bonuses. Through the site updates you reference, and through clear communication from your team manager we try to be transparent with all of our people regarding the reasons why detail within our bonus scheme may at times change. In terms of the lack of admin time you’ve referenced, we’ve worked hard to establish an operating model whereby significantly more organic time is available for all of our people to action any work in-between calls. There has been, and always will be the opportunity to take the time to catch up where necessary, and encourage our people to speak to their manager or RTA if this is the case.

    Continue reading
  9. "Exceptional place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Ely, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1) The best incentives (I just won a trip to New York) 2) Senior Management who listen to employees 3) Market leading products 4) Culturally fantastic and enjoyable place to work

    Cons

    I have worked at Yell for a combined 12 years. I genuinely have no negatives to say

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-03-20

    Yell Response

    March 21, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed the trip to New York.

    Continue reading
  10. "Worth considering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Having left Yell last year after many years of rewarding employment, I read the recent reviews with interest. There appears to be high numbers of both satisfied 5 star reviews and highly dissatisfied 1 star reviews. My opinion rests somewhere in the middle. I witnessed many people develop and gain promotions more quickly than they would have in other companies of a similar size. I think Yell is a good place for people to learn, whichever office you join or even in the field. There are so many committed individuals and I was fortunate enough to meet some lovely people, the company culture is one of respect amongst colleagues. I understand some people may not agree but this was my personal experience in the office I worked from. I also think that the CEO has done a good job of turning around a print directory business to a point where it delivers healthy digital profits. Overall I would recommend it as a employer but be prepared for a challenging, changing and sometimes frustrating, yet rewarding environment.

    Cons

    It seems as though too much authority for executing the company sales and customer strategy has been put in one place. This has brought a reactive approach and it looks like delivering change at speed is more important than delivering change successfully. It has created a management culture where they are simply doing what they are told and reacting to the wishes of reactive leadership. There is no balance, no smart thinking, no long term thinking and no challenging. The leaders are chasing short term acquisition targets and up-sell targets to the detriment of the employees and the customers, leading to inevitable cancellations. The pace of change presents opportunities for people but it also causes problems where they don’t feel engaged or understand what the company is trying to do. They see initiatives launched, then canned and then returned to at at a later date. It does not fill them with confidence and they have to bare the brunt of complex processes being re-trained time and time again. It is impossible for them to become the experts they need to be.

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-03-30

    Yell Response

    April 2, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your in depth review. People often say they meet life long friends at Yell due to the great people we have working here. You are correct we have moved the business at a very fast pace to ensure that we deliver our new contact model that puts customers at the heart of what we do. This has had a real positive impact moving our transnational NPS score to +19 and Trust Pilot to 8.4 demonstrating our Customers are happier. Regarding your advice to Management, FY20 is the year of our people and at our kick-off events this month, we will be launching as part of our values, a 4th behavior for leaders in Yell, around looking after their people, the culture they create and ensuring we have an environment where people feel that it is #morethanajob I wish you every success in your next venture and thank you for your many years of hard work and service.

    Continue reading
Found 458 reviews
</>Embed