Yell Sales Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Sales Consultant Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
5 Ratings
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Yell has offered me the chance to maximise my earnings with uncapped bonus and great working hours.

    Cons

    All Positive Feedback :)

    Yell2017-08-09
  2. "Tele Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sales Pay and Working Hours, also weekends off.

    Cons

    Location and no parking included

    Advice to Management

    ................................................................

    Yell2017-04-04
  3. "Superb Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    excellent salary & bonus at every level, great incentives as well as opportunities for professional development.

    Cons

    no cons to be honest

    Yell2017-02-01
  4. "Field Account Manager -A 16 months to forget"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and Car were good

    Cons

    Products are poor with poor results - Off shore customer service is a joke Worst Management Ive ever worked for in south London

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a chance to find their feet before threatening the sack

    Yell2016-11-24

    Yell Response

    December 14, 2016Regional Manager

    Thanks for your review and the feedback you have provided. We read all comments left on Glassdoor, both positive and constructive and are disappointed that your experience of working at Yell did not match up to your expectations before taking the position. Our management team is ...

    Show More
  5. "Expect Too Much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Sales Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    Flexible working hours in field.

    Cons

    Takes over your life. Stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your staff

    Yell2016-06-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Yell/Hibu Newcastle UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy work life balance, good pace

    Cons

    Shocking management, not real people managers. A lot of politics and people who are hanging onto a career because they wouldn't manage to get into another business in sales. Poor Products Dated Poor skilled sales people. Low money

    Advice to Management

    Shocking, and no wonder they have an HR department because a lot of people are paid to leave with low fuss, due to what is going on behind the scenes.

    Yell2016-04-01

    Yell Response

    April 18, 2016Recruitment Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your views. As a business aim to provide the best possible working environment and are sorry that you feel this was not the case during your time with our company. Although the review does not indicate when you left us, I am ...

    Show More
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in yell Belfast for two years and can say it was the best job I ever had. Left due to family commitments. Sales training you get will stand you well for any job in future.

    Cons

    90 minute drive from my home

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work

    Yell2015-09-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "long! 19 years. first 16 were great. the directories used to be a quality product which people needed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    you used to be able to earn a lot money. the directories are dead now. no one uses them, peole dont need yell.com as everyone knows how to use a search engine. i would never advertise my business on yell (or hibu!!!!! as it is now). sorry, it is a dinosaur

    Cons

    unrealistic targets. threat managment. lack of reality!

    Advice to Management

    treat people like adults not children

    Yell2014-05-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "It was singularly the most horrendous working environment I have ever worked in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The wages are ok and some of the staff are lovely.

    Cons

    Bullying, intimidation, lack of support from managers.

    Advice to Management

    Lower management/team leaders are NOT always right and do bully members of staff and on occasions lie outright.

    Yell2014-05-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid at all costs if you value your sanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent training and development with a great opportunity to earn bonus. They run very good incentive schemes.

    Cons

    There is very much a culture of bullying and intimidation. You are given a hard time if you leave for the day before you have hit your target, this also applies to your teams target and your departments target so expect to be in work most evening until 7pm. The novelty of money soon wears off when you realise you have sold your soul to the devil. I remember one occasion when our Christmas leave was cancelled.... PS. I am not a disgruntled ex-employee, I was a very capable salesman and made plenty of money but its simply not worth it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit the culture of bullying and intimidation

    Yell2014-05-07
Found 16 reviews