Yell Sales Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
3 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Sales Manager in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's like running your own business in that you are trusted to HIT target after creating your own plan on how to do it. Create recognition when you succeed

    Cons

    Very long hours which are not always reflected in your results.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Absolutely fantastic company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    People, Culture, Earning potential, Genuinely forward thinking.

    Cons

    There really aren’t any cons. I’ve been here for nearly 9 years now. A lot of change but isn’t that good in a fast paced digital marketplace?

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    March 6, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is really great to hear that you are loving it as much as we are! And, we couldn't agree more, our people are great!

  3. "Potential"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunists throughout the business and a relaxed working environment

    Cons

    Pay is not as competitive for this field as it could be

    Yell Response

    January 8, 2020Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. It is really pleasing to hear that you are seeing the opportunities we provide as a company.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nightmare to work for if you want a life"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Inverness, Scotland
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None. It was ok 20 years ago

    Cons

    The whole thing is a con unless you want to compromise your ethics to make money

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. Reading it, is disheartening, as what you have experienced would go against our values that under pin our culture at Yell. We pride ourselves on our integrity and two years ago created the new service model we have now to onboard a customer to set than up to succeed and then our Inlife, Customer Relationship Managers to support customers in getting the best from their advertising programs. This will mean that all roles now will have to follow processes to ensure that everything we have in place in doing it's part in the customer journey.

  5. "A great place to start a sales career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Sales Executive in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely good training, ok salary. Work life balance

    Cons

    Yell has started to go in the wrong direction. Expanding too quickly and causing some serious issues around finance and unpaid bonus over the last 6 - 12 months

  6. Helpful (3)

    ""Proud to work for Yell", certainly not"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay can be good if you finally manage to hit targets, only a very few managers actually do The business events we have such as recent one are really good, very motivational.

    Cons

    There is a real lack of trust with the most senior managers in Yell, they say all the right things, but you know they are thinking something else We lurch from one saviour idea to another when it doesn't work, with pay changing all the time. There is so much favouritism, if you are not in the "gang" then you don't get on. When senior manager visits our team or larger meetings, they spend most of their time on their phone I find some of the conversations intimidating of late, as performance just isn't anywhere near targets, that's the same for all of us. Work life balance is out the window currently

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    November 1, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. Please speak to some-one within Yell to discuss how you are feeling, either through your line manager or HR services so we can help to support, as we recognise that we have evolved in your operation and which has meant changes to the Premise role. We are still recruiting in Telesales, as well as Premise once again.

  7. "Stay away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary is the only pro

    Cons

    Despite salary being fairly decent the job itself isn't worth the money. Extremely low conversion rate due to being put in an 'evo team' when you join, what this means is you are calling dialed out and are calling the same 15 leads countless times a day. Some of the managers seem quite nice but other managers are extremely inexperienced and should not be managing a team of new starts, you know who you are. They try to fill your head with propoganda about yell being one of the best places to work but I can assure you this is no longer the case. The product you are selling is overpriced and rarely has much benefit to a business. I have recently left, and a few others in my team are on the verge of leaving. Every person bar one or two on my former team all have a similar opinion of that particular manager, and I can safely say that many more will leave that business because of her, and the other issues stated.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    October 14, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. To support our managers in their development, we have just recruited a fourth Call Centre Manager, who brings with them a wealth of experience as a manager themselves, to pass on their learning and knowledge.

  8. "It’s hard but ... Great training, support and personal development"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training Great colleagues Great manager. I will remain proud to have worked here.

    Cons

    Targets are tough but can be achieved with long hours. Hard for working mums to achieve. Male Manager heavy, With a female manager I often saw her bullied and or treated unfairly by her male colleagues.

    Continue reading
  9. "Dishonest, underhand, clicky, non caring"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tele Sales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely none what so ever

    Cons

    Terrible staff management, stressful environment, mis management and non management of issues, non compliance to staff & customers requests, not paying bonuses properly when earned, lies being told and people manipulated, people being promoted on who they know rather than merit, constant changing of staff, teams, managers, data sets, working processes, I know of people who have had 6 different managers in 13 months, no proper training given apart from initial induction and the odd email or short 30 min session, no follow up to training, no real digital marketing expertise despite claims to the contrary, consistently falling short of the standards that new staff are led to believe the company abides by. Quite frankly the worst company I've ever had the mis fortune to work for. They are currently advertising for 20 plus new staff as I write this review. That same amount have probably left during the summer months alone. This cannot be sustained.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    September 30, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your detailed review. Firstly I want to reassure you that anything around compliance is taken seriously and people do not always know what goes on behind the scenes, as this is often sensitive information that cannot be shared. We have a great team set up to look after this area and engage at all levels to ensure we are doing the right things by our people and customers. We are aware from recent focus groups that we need to give more transparency and earlier communication around bonuses. Often the reasons for the delay are to ensure that people are being paid fairly against the data set/campaigns they are working. The Learning & Development team would welcome any specific feedback on the gaps you feel are there on the digital marketing knowledge, this would allow us to review the level at which we train in your area. Telesales has just gone through a rapid period of expansion and we are pleased to say that we have grown the headcount from 190 to 263 in a number of months to support the growth of the business. During this time fortunately our attrition rates have remained stable, which is not normally the case in a period of high volume of recruitment. We do regularly engage with our new starters to gather their feedback and look at ways to improve, so again if you have any specific insight please share with us. We give opportunities to give our people platforms to share how they are feeling, Glassdoor, focus groups, surveys etc. This is critical as you are the driving force behind our business. I am hoping that you can share your insight, thoughts and suggestions with your management at site, if not then please email HR.Services@Yell.com and we can respond personally.

  10. "Terrible place"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Sales Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money, city centre location

    Cons

    Terrible atmosphere, highest levels of management are bigots

Found 59 reviews