Yell Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Sales Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
27 Ratings
  1. "Exceptional place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Ely, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1) The best incentives (I just won a trip to New York) 2) Senior Management who listen to employees 3) Market leading products 4) Culturally fantastic and enjoyable place to work

    Cons

    I have worked at Yell for a combined 12 years. I genuinely have no negatives to say

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do

    Yell2019-03-20

    Yell Response

    March 21, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed the trip to New York.

  2. "It’s hard but ... Great training, support and personal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training Great colleagues Great manager. I will remain proud to have worked here.

    Cons

    Targets are tough but can be achieved with long hours. Hard for working mums to achieve. Male Manager heavy, With a female manager I often saw her bullied and or treated unfairly by her male colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    More ladies in management.

    Yell2019-09-10
  3. "Terrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Sales Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money, city centre location

    Cons

    Terrible atmosphere, highest levels of management are bigots

    Yell2019-07-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Discgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Early finish Fridays. Free tea and coffee if your allowed to leave your desk.

    Cons

    Disgraceful company to work for. No ethics or morals. Trained indirectly to rip off customers. All they care about is revenue. No pay rise at all. Try con people with a elite pay rise which is £100 only for the top 30 best in company. Staff are pushed to drink to be a part of a culture for progression. Unfair interview process for new vacancies. All fixed. No care for staff and personal circumstances. Your just a... number regardless of how long you have been there. Agents are pushed to leave reviews so they look good however they are all fixed cleverly. Always bad press about them and plenty more will come. Everything changes daily and they tell you and change commission scheme 2 days before pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop picking and choosing who you favour fir managing.

    Yell2019-06-04

    Yell Response

    June 12, 2019Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. As a company we regularly benchmark our salaries and recently in some areas of the business we have given pay increased due to our findings. In Birmingham Yell is still one of the top paying companies for the roles we have and with the uncapped bonus potential ...

    Show More
  5. "Shame Glasgow closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, fantastic bonus potential

    Cons

    Having to sometimes walk the 9 floors

    Yell2019-01-29

    Yell Response

    February 4, 2019Telesales Director

    An exciting opportunity is back within the Glasgow area as Yell are recruiting a Virtual homeworking team. We are looking for experience sales people with digital market knowledge. Please go to our Careers page to apply. We would be excited to hear from you. https://careers.yell.com/

  6. "Hard work but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Busy and hard work will bring success

    Cons

    Poor customer feedback can cause complaints

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on getting the customer journey right

    Yell2018-12-14
  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tele Sales Executive in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent basic salary Great commission structure and management team set up to help you hit commission Relaxed environment Most professional 3 week training programme I've experienced 2pm finish on Friday Great opportunity for progression and numerous examples quarterly of employees gaining recognition and promotion

    Cons

    Takes a bit of patience but once established, none

    Advice to Management

    The management at every level in Yell are very down to earth and approachable. Their success stems from your success so its within everyone's interests to make money. No advise needed

    Yell2018-10-31
  8. "Head of Sales Central London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in City of London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company for sales people

    Cons

    Clear visibility no hiding place.

    Advice to Management

    Profit share would be a good idea

    Yell2018-10-18
  9. "Not what you know but who you know!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great basic with good incentives

    Cons

    Your performance depends on if your manager likes you or not! "liked members of staff" get the "gold one" you get the rest! some months you will make a good bonus but when your not making bonus it's a horrible job! You have many metrics to meet! Including 3.5 hours of talk time regardless of how many sales you have made. Also depending what team you go into also depends what product they want you to focus on as... they all have "their way". Good to go to for experience but not long term.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't micro manage!

    Yell2018-08-07
  10. "Field Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Stevenage, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great training, good support structure, great earnings for strong sales performance

    Cons

    High expectations of work load, need to be very organised to not let your work life balance be impacted.

    Advice to Management

    Look at supporting sales teams a bit more in the admin side of things and streamlining some of the systems and processes

    Yell2018-07-14

    Yell Response

    July 18, 2018Head of Talent

    Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you enjoyed all the benefits of working for Yell and felt supported throughout your role! We appreciate this is a fast-paced working environment and appreciate the extra miles our employees in sales go for the business. We will be ...

    Show More
Found 51 reviews