Yell "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 458 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
280 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots to juggle, Long hours and have to be committed to succeed(in 17 reviews)

  • "To early to comment, but previous experience work life balance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Shame Glasgow closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, fantastic bonus potential

    Cons

    Having to sometimes walk the 9 floors

    Yell2019-01-29

    Yell Response

    February 4, 2019Telesales Director

    An exciting opportunity is back within the Glasgow area as Yell are recruiting a Virtual homeworking team. We are looking for experience sales people with digital market knowledge. Please go to our Careers page to apply. We would be excited to hear from you. https://careers.yell.com/

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Hours, Great Pay, High Pressure, Clicky Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell

    Pros

    Great Hours Great Bonuses Casual Wear Great Training Great Incentives Great People

    Cons

    The management team are all off the same conveyour belt and trained to beat you with a big stick until you do things. You can't approach management with any underlying issues or concerns as you are not taken serious enough. Far too clicky - all living out each others business, holidays together, nights out, living beside each other - Its like they are creating some sort of cult

    Advice to Management

    Just because you are paid the wages you are dosnt make you better than the rest of us. Stop with the clicky friendships and be managers

    Yell2018-10-15
  3. "Great training and plenty of time given for learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    quality service well managed and great people to work with

    Cons

    none yet, i am sure they may be some soon.

    Yell2018-06-11

    Yell Response

    July 11, 2018Head of Talent

    Thanks for the review! Its great that you are enjoying the service and making the most of our training opportunities. We are committed to developing each employee and hope that you carry on thriving within the business!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. For a large office it is very friendly with not many cliques. The work is interesting and very varied though targets are tough and you have to work hard. The salary is great for this area. There have been some major issues in the best and the pace of change is rapid. Recently they have brought in 2 new people as ops managers and they are listening and working really hard to get the best... for the staff and create a good atmosphere.

    Show More

    Cons

    for things to change the people at the top need to listen and there has been little evidence of any sustained attempt to do that. Targets are really tough and movement is sideways for the majority of people. There’s little career progression so good people will inevitably move on

    Advice to Management

    There has been quite a few years of change a history of not listening to the concerns of staff in Scarborough. Please listen to the new people, give them the freedom to put right what is wrong. If you do I believe they can turn the place around. Create some kind of career structure that keeps good people at the company or your staff turnaround will continue to be high and you will keep having to spend mpmoney... training new people.

    Show More
    Yell2018-06-07

    Yell Response

    July 18, 2018Head of Talent

    Thanks for your review. So pleased to hear that you are enjoying your working environment at Yell! We are currently re-designing our employee platforms that enables our colleagues to be able to voice opinions and influence within the business. We also have many new courses ...

    Show More
  5. "It was true !!! Its a great company to work for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ok wow... 2weeks in so far and already won £250 and a brand new ipad as a incentive for reffering someone else... currently in training phase, and its very organised ans at a steady pace.. professional environment and the staff make you fee welcome and are very good at thier job for training others.. lovely office and great people.. i am loving it

    Cons

    Nothing so far at all and thats the honest truth !! Im only in training phase atm but since i have joined everything has been so smooth.. from applying, to phone interview, throughout interview phase and assesments till training, very impressed no cons so far

    Advice to Management

    So far i would say keep the process the same its great

    Yell2018-03-19
  6. "Telesales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TeleSales Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great forward thinking company. Great products, great people. Very rewarding.

    Cons

    Nothing to add in this column

    Yell2018-03-19

    Yell Response

    July 11, 2018Director of Customer Operations

    Thank you for your review! i will be sure to pass your lovely comments onto senior management! I wish you a long and happy career at Yell.

  7. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I received Great training and worked Great people

    Cons

    We Had to work late one night a week to speak with businesses. Not required in this day & age

    Advice to Management

    They Should have kept Glasgow office open

    Yell2018-03-06
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, decent pay and good work/life balance.

    Cons

    The apatite to improve quickly leads to things being rushed.

    Advice to Management

    Have a clear plan for the year and don't underestimate effort and time required to deliver.

    Yell2017-12-14

    Yell Response

    December 27, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi Thank you for contributing to our Glassdoor profile. I am pleased that you find Yell a great company to work for and that you currently have good work life balance within your role. Thank you also for your advice this will certainly be passed on. I agree with you that we ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Reviews don't tell the full story"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    most of the staff are great people, who try to make work enjoyable and work hard with what products, skills and resources are available

    Cons

    sales - double glazing salesmen at the best (not always the sales teams fault) production - dont believe the recruitment ads, you are to be a grunt, trained on the minimum needed, you are not website designers, you fill in forms and off to India it goes to have a template filled out to your instructions. ever increasing targets that make no sense... i could go on and on. i implore and applicants to think... again, this is not the employer they make themselves look.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    get your heads out the sand, look at what your changes are doing, accept the products aren't good value and that's the main reason the Net Promoter Score (NPS) is so low, stop making changes for the sake of it and to justify your employment

    Yell2017-11-28

    Yell Response

    December 28, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi, First of all, thank you for your review and comments. I'm disappointed to hear that you are not enjoying your time at Yell, without knowing what department or role you are in it is difficult to respond to your specific concerns. If you’re still with us and feel this way, then ...

    Show More
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCSE in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, oppurtunitys and experience. I have gained a lot f knowledge digital-wise working here

    Cons

    Somnetimes the office can get hot/cold depending on the weather

    Advice to Management

    We need more info concerning what flexi time hours we have gained etc

    Yell2017-03-28
Found 458 reviews
</>Embed