Yell "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 458 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
280 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots to juggle, Long hours and have to be committed to succeed(in 17 reviews)

  • "To early to comment, but previous experience work life balance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent company & outstanding training!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frome, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was only with Yell for 6 months, before I had to leave due to a change in personal circumstances. Yell were supportive throughout and offer by far the best training in the industry.

    Cons

    None really, long hours but the monetary rewards are worth it!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Yell2018-10-05
  2. "Value & Earning Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great earning potetnial / feel valued / freedom to manage territory in the way that works for me as long as I'm doing the job / good benefits / plenty of incentives

    Cons

    Long hours ... but if you want the big bucks :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep letting us be focussed on selling, don;t weigh us down with admin :)

    Yell2018-04-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digtal Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Induction training with Lots of support thereafter. Very strong product range with excellent proof of value tools.

    Cons

    Lots to juggle, Long hours and have to be committed to succeed

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to feedback from the sales force

    Yell2018-02-02

    Yell Response

    February 20, 2018Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for your review and the positive feedback you have provided. It is clear that Yell is doing a lot of things right from your perspective, and that you are happy to be with us. I would completely agree that we have a strong product portfolio which is continually improving and ...

    Show More
  4. "South London Premise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premise in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am so happy in my role. The company is the best to work for, my team are truley wonderful, and my manager is an expert at what she does. Love it here!!

    Cons

    Long hours, but this is so that you are prepared for every call and understand each business fully. Making you the 'Top Gun' standard that Yell expect.

    Yell2017-11-15

    Yell Response

    December 10, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thank you for the review, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your role with us and that you have a wonderful team and Manager. We understand that at times the working hours can be long but as you have stated, we work hard to ensure consistently good service for our customers ...

    Show More
  5. "Needs to improve.....a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Good training and people, and staff

    Cons

    Products do not work, Double Glazing Salesman feel to the role, long hours

    Yell2017-11-17

    Yell Response

    December 10, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi Thank you for the review. It’s disappointing to see that things didn't work out for you at Yell, although we are grateful for the acknowledgement and compliments on our training and people. It isn’t clear from the review when you left the business, but during the past 12 months ...

    Show More
  6. "Hard work but worth the effort !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Uncapped earnings potential, own sales territories, nice BMW company car, iPhone 7, latest laptop and the benefits of working from home - I've been with Yell for over 20 years. In essence this job is what you put into it - focus, determination and resilience.

    Cons

    I've read a number of negative comments left by ex field account managers and agree the hours are tough, work/life balance is affected at times with long hours doing admin work etc. Targets are never going to be easy but if you don't put the effort in you won't see the results. Earnings are what you make them. I treat this job like it's my own business - it's down to relationship building with my clients, keeping... a close eye on their marketing campaigns and sourcing & winning new clients.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep on developing the sales force, training is key to keep momentum through the ever changing digital age.

    Yell2017-08-10
  7. "Digital Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Yell offers its employees excellent training & benefits, flexible working practice with the latest technology provided for my role.

    Cons

    You work long hours, the market constantly changes and you are expected to keep apace with market changes.

    Advice to Management

    Field sales staff need to be allowed time for admin/learning in their working day, creating a better work /life balance

    Yell2017-05-11
  8. "excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    fab training, products, customer always first,salary and bonus everything a plus for me

    Cons

    csn be long hours some days

    Advice to Management

    excellent

    Yell2017-04-12
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yell

    Pros

    Great benefits and earning opportunites

    Cons

    Pressure to hit targets and long hours which affects work/life balance

    Yell2016-08-02
  10. "Opportunity to earn is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Open ended earnings opportunities. Superb Sales Training. Great people. Strong leadership team with clear goals and an aligned strategy so you always know what you need to do and why. Regular incentives.

    Cons

    Its a big ship so can be slow to turn around. Can be difficult to be heard within the many voices in a large organisation. Territory can be over an hour from home and long hours are often required

    Advice to Management

    streamlining of processes would save an enormous amount of time and therefore cost. The distraction of process within sales is very high and it takes focus away from sales.

    Yell2016-07-31

    Yell Response

    August 2, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    We really appreciate such insight and feedback from our employees. It is great to see that you have been working at Yell for over 10 years and wish you every success in your career with us.

Found 458 reviews
</>Embed