Yell Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Dec 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 691 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are very flexible, and a good work life balance(in 35 reviews)

  • "fantastic working hours that allows me to balance my work and family life perfectly(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours relative to other companies(in 23 reviews)

  • "Absolutely zero work life balance(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Fantastic Career

      Jun 3, 2020 - Digital Sales Manager in Plymouth, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's like running your own business in that you are trusted to HIT target after creating your own plan on how to do it. Create recognition when you succeed

      Cons

      Very long hours which are not always reflected in your results.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      review to access

      Dec 9, 2020 - Customer Service in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lots of opportunities provided, lots of communication

      Cons

      long hours relative to other companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Recruitment

      Thank you for leaving us a review. We are all certainly feeling the added pressure that this year has put on the world, given the uncertain times we are all living in with the global pandemic we are really pleased with how our employees have settled and accommodated so quickly with working from home. We do appreciate some peoples work load has increased and we will continue to offer you support through your Line Manager on how best to manage your time effectively.

    3. The latest conversations about Advertising

      Join the conversation on

      Advertising

      1y

      a 

      Consultant

      What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

      2,926

      249 Comments

      Advertising

      30K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/advertising/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Yell~14549
      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A total rollercoaster

      Oct 20, 2020 - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary and benefits and the line managers are great

      Cons

      Absolutely zero work life balance. Long hours and constant stress.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Recruitment

      Thank you for leaving us a review. We are pleased you are happy with your salary, benefits and you mention our managers as being great which is really good to hear. It is a concern to hear you feel your work/balance and hours aren't suitable so I would recommend speaking to your Manager directly to see if he/she can help accommodate this better for you. Work/Life balance is a big part of every role at Yell so it is important to us that you feel you have this too.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good

      Jun 4, 2020 - Account Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay team spirit and brand

      Cons

      Long hours, targets and future uncertainties

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Almost 24 years at Yell and still have so much passion for the company and my input. #morethanajob #proudtobeyell

      Feb 5, 2020 - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career, Progression, Earnings, Culture, People you work with. Autonomy within your role. If you want to do well and work hard ... then Yell is a place you can thrive at.

      Cons

      Can be long hours but what job isn't when you want to do it right and build a successful career. It's about having pride in what you do consistently.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Telesales Director

      It is really great to understand how you still feel after this many years at Yell, thank you for sharing.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s hard but ... Great training, support and personal development

      Sep 10, 2019 - Sales in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training Great colleagues Great manager. I will remain proud to have worked here.

      Cons

      Targets are tough but can be achieved with long hours. Hard for working mums to achieve. Male Manager heavy, With a female manager I often saw her bullied and or treated unfairly by her male colleagues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent company & outstanding training!

      Oct 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Frome, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was only with Yell for 6 months, before I had to leave due to a change in personal circumstances. Yell were supportive throughout and offer by far the best training in the industry.

      Cons

      None really, long hours but the monetary rewards are worth it!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Value & Earning Potential

      Apr 17, 2018 - Digital Account Manager in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great earning potetnial / feel valued / freedom to manage territory in the way that works for me as long as I'm doing the job / good benefits / plenty of incentives

      Cons

      Long hours ... but if you want the big bucks :)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Digital Account Director

      Feb 2, 2018 - Digtal Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Induction training with Lots of support thereafter. Very strong product range with excellent proof of value tools.

      Cons

      Lots to juggle, Long hours and have to be committed to succeed

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Customer Onboarding

      Thanks for your review and the positive feedback you have provided. It is clear that Yell is doing a lot of things right from your perspective, and that you are happy to be with us. I would completely agree that we have a strong product portfolio which is continually improving and growing, and this is an exciting time for us. In relation to your cons and advice to management thank you for providing this feedback, it is always useful to help us to continue to improve. You mentioned you have lots to juggle and the hours can be long. I appreciate that this is a fast-paced business with ambitious goals which can sometimes mean there is a lot to do. We are always appreciative of our employees that go the extra mile to achieve, but do make sure you give yourself time and permission to switch off and use the support of your manager and team. We wish you all the best with your continued career.

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      South London Premise

      Nov 15, 2017 - Premise in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am so happy in my role. The company is the best to work for, my team are truley wonderful, and my manager is an expert at what she does. Love it here!!

      Cons

      Long hours, but this is so that you are prepared for every call and understand each business fully. Making you the 'Top Gun' standard that Yell expect.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Customer Onboarding

      Thank you for the review, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your role with us and that you have a wonderful team and Manager. We understand that at times the working hours can be long but as you have stated, we work hard to ensure consistently good service for our customers and we are very appreciative of all employees that go the extra mile. We wish you the best of luck in your career with Yell!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Yell Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Yell? Share Your Experiences

    or