Yell "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yell Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 459 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Yell CEO Richard Hanscott
Richard Hanscott
280 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots to juggle, Long hours and have to be committed to succeed(in 17 reviews)

  • "To early to comment, but previous experience work life balance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "DS - Good company atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment with helpful and supportive staff Good company benefits Good work/life balance

    Cons

    not worked here long enough.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Yell2019-06-14
  2. "New to Yell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TELESALES Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, work life balance, rewards

    Cons

    To early to comment, but previous experience work life balance

    Yell2019-03-26

    Yell Response

    March 28, 2019Telesales Director

    It is exciting to see your review as one of our new virtual homeworking people. Please ensure that you keep talking to us and sharing your experiences and thoughts, either through your manager or CCM.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customer Service, learning alot about the products and providing information which adds value to the products which the customer benefits from.

    Cons

    finding time to have a healthy work life balance.

    Yell2018-10-29
  4. "Great career opportunities and continued development support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    I've been really fortunate to be enrolled on Yell's Amplify programme which is targeted at aspiring managers, aiming to get them ready to step into management roles. I've had plenty of opportunities to progress within Yell and the support that I've had whilst doing this has been exceptional.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is generally good, although not necessarily consistent across the business

    Yell2018-10-17
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance at Yell

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great compared to other jobs

    Yell2018-10-26
  6. "Telesales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Good hours Good pay Great work life balance Good benefits High commission rates

    Cons

    Tough Rubbish management Very competitive market Difficult interview No sexiness

    Advice to Management

    Speak to people as humans

    Yell2018-08-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Varied and interesting work with good opportunities for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been given many opportunities to develop my skills and progress with Yell. Varied day-to-day work and good rates of pay for the local area. Exciting future vision for the site. Fast-paced working environment. Approachable senior management are receptive to ideas and suggestions.

    Cons

    "Flexible" working hours can have an impact on work/life balance. Communication from above is sometimes lacking. The pace of change can be dizzying.

    Advice to Management

    Tighten up communication and keep people informed - especially where change is concerned. Address issues before they get posted on public forums.

    Yell2018-06-05

    Yell Response

    July 11, 2018Director of Customer Operations

    Thanks for the review! Its so great to hear you're enjoying the wide range of opportunities and varied work you've been given. We're always looking for new ideas so continue to discuss these with your managers! We appreciate that working hours can vary during demanding times and ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not good if you have conscience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Basic is great and you really can earn a lot of money, however you really have to sell your soul to do it.

    Cons

    The products do not work and are built abroad. There is an arrogance towards customers and customer service is virtually nil. Every Account Management call because a retention call because the products are so poor. Daily Expectations of you are increased every day so if you want a work life balance I would steer clear

    Advice to Management

    Look after the customer you've got rather than squeezing them for every penny. If you looked after current customers, the growth cancellation rates and growth targets wouldn't be as astronomical as they are

    Yell2018-03-26
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, decent pay and good work/life balance.

    Cons

    The apatite to improve quickly leads to things being rushed.

    Advice to Management

    Have a clear plan for the year and don't underestimate effort and time required to deliver.

    Yell2017-12-14

    Yell Response

    December 27, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi Thank you for contributing to our Glassdoor profile. I am pleased that you find Yell a great company to work for and that you currently have good work life balance within your role. Thank you also for your advice this will certainly be passed on. I agree with you that we ...

    Show More
  10. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Software Engineer in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are very friendly. The work is challenging, but you over the moon when you complete a task. My manger, helps when I have any difficulties. Good work Life balance. I feel like the work I do will have an impact on the business, however small it is.

    Cons

    There are no downsides to working here.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you're doing.

    Yell2017-09-23
Found 459 reviews
</>Embed