Yell Employee Reviews about "working hours"

Updated Nov 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 691 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are very flexible, and a good work life balance(in 35 reviews)

  • "fantastic working hours that allows me to balance my work and family life perfectly(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours relative to other companies(in 23 reviews)

  • "Absolutely zero work life balance(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "working hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great so far

      Nov 13, 2020 - Business Development Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly supportive culture - excellent training - great working hours - brilliant earning potential

      Cons

      none that I have come across

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Recruitment

      It's great to hear you have had a positive experience and are enjoying working for us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and wish you success and happiness in your continued career with us.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      This company is going backwards

      Oct 26, 2020 - Sales BDM in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good working hours and basic salary

      Cons

      Micromanaged They raise targets although not many are hitting Selling services that don't work for many customers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Recruitment

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We are pleased you are happy with the working hours and base salary. We do offer flexible working hours as much as we can as work/life balance is key. We are also extremely competitive in the market with our base salary so that is great to hear. We understand that it is harder to achieve target at present given the pandemic so we have lowered everyone's targets across the business to ensure they are still achievable, we are extremely proud of the efforts our sales channel have put in over the last few months and are pleased to see many are achieving or over achieving given the tough times we are currently working in. It is a shame you feel you are micro - managed, our Sales Managers are there to offer ongoing support and coaching as and when you need it. We will acknowledge your feedback though and once again thank you for leaving us a review.

    3. The latest conversations about Advertising

      Join the conversation on

      Advertising

      1y

      a 

      Consultant

      What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

      2,926

      249 Comments

      Advertising

      30K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/advertising/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Yell~14549
      Join the conversation on
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Questionable

      Jun 11, 2020 - Telesales Agent in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent working hours Bonus achievable - £2,500 a month easily L&D team quite good knowledge on yell propaganda (doesn't always match with industry good practice so don't try and do any CPD outside of work) Good office/location

      Cons

      -Most management I have encountered are like football coaches delivering motivational speeches that contain no substance daily. This is a recurring theme throughout the company - plenty of people talk lots but say little. . - be prepared to deal with agitated customers daily, most of the people you call will have been rang 20/30+ times in the last month before you speak to them. - management quote Jordan Belfort so expect that type of approach to customers. - CEO talking a good game but lower/middle management either don't understand the new direction the company is meant to move in or don't care. - always in the press or online for the wrong reason's - embarrassed to work here sometimes.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Going Down Hill....

      Apr 29, 2020 - Customer Relationship Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They can be flexible with working hours. Salary & bonus are ok. Colleagues are nice people making it a fun working environment. Some great team leaders New CEO Now starting to put the customer first New selection of products available to customers

      Cons

      Since Covid-19 understandably a strain has been put onto customer services, management exacerbate this by adding extra pressure & unachievable targets, not taking into consideration individual homeworking situations. Feeling under appreciated. Some Politician Senior leadership team who can never give a straight answer. No progression unless you are in the inner circle. Now being micro managed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Thank you for taking he time to leave us a review. It is great to see a long list of positives. We are very proud of our products and people! It is a shame to see that you are feeling under pressure in these unprecedented times. As a business, we are striving to continue to do right by our customer and the current climate has seen our call volumes dramatically increase. We are adapting our processes where necessary in order to deal with these volumes. We are hoping that the pressure will ease soon!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Proud to work for Yell

      Nov 7, 2019 - Telesales Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fantastic working hours that allows me to balance my work and family life perfectly. i have been in yell for 10 years and there has always been great opportunities to develop and further your yell career whether that be in house or face to face sales fantastic earning opportunities with uncapped bonus great 2 week training programme to allow you to start a new job confidently

      Cons

      no car parking as it is based in town centre

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company that needed to change and are doing that well!

      Aug 23, 2018 - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For the location and the job, the wage is great, especially after an uplift in salary and a new bonus scheme. The office is relaxed and has a good atmosphere. Events are held and ran well with no expenses spared. Fun in the office is also arranged for charity days and sporting events. Great management that support the staff in work and personal circumstances. Training is always held to ensure staff can perform to their best ability in order to hit KPIs for bonuses. Feedback and development is always shared and staff are always aware what is expected of them. The nature of the job is relevant for this digital age we live in and the daily work is rather easy and varied. Opportunities for job role changes or progression is available along with the opportunity to travel at company expense. Working hours are perfect office hours and overtime is paid at double. This is salaried employment with the requirement to work a certain amount of hours per year and if you go over that amount, you can take time and a half pay or days back. You won’t get a better national recognised company to work for!

      Cons

      Employees work on an inbound and outbound schedule for taking/making calls. The office could benefit from the schedules coming out well in advance so staff can plan better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Talent

      Thank you for this lovely response! I know there are some great engagement activities going on within the Scarborough site so its great to see you are taking full advantage of these! Its also lovely to see you are finding lots of opportunities for development and enjoying the hours and pay! I'll be sure to pass your advice onto further management! Good luck with your career here at Yell.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall a good place to work

      Aug 9, 2018 - DCSE in Scarborough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Supportive managers - Progression - Good incentives - Good bonus scheme - People higher up I.e. Head of Onboarding are very approachable and supportive - Accommodate to my personal needs with working hours

      Cons

      - Constant change - Targets are very challenging and can be stretching for a lot of people but the pay reflects this

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Management and things changing every few months

      Mar 8, 2018 - Account Manager in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good basic pay Good working Hours

      Cons

      Management never clear on anything Changes happen every few months and you are not informed Commission they promise is unrealistic and you end up with nothing

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best place I have worked

      Jan 11, 2018 - Tele Sales Executive in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working hours Great Pay Great rewards Great Training Great Work Space Great Management

      Cons

      not a con but it is difficult work in regards to sales, but the rewards do more than make up for this.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Yell Response

      Head of Customer Onboarding

      Hi, Thank you for the review, we are really pleased that you feel this is a great place to work in many ways.

    11. 5.0
      Current Intern

      Great atmosphere!

      Oct 2, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are very friendly and supportive, working hours can be quite flexible, interns get treated as real members of the teams.

      Cons

      I can't think of anything bad to say for now ..

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Yell Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Yell? Share Your Experiences

    or