Yelp "fully stocked kitchen" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yelp Employee Reviews about "fully stocked kitchen"

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1,371 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer a very good benefits program as well as free food and drink everyday(in 233 reviews)

  • "Great Culture, Fun Environment, Great People(in 171 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only downside in my opinion is that we are not able to interact with more business owners face to face(in 217 reviews)

  • "Sales are drive through cold calls, you'll need to have a growth mindset(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fully stocked kitchen"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A Company with a great culture that also requires you to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Yelp for awhile and from the start I knew exactly what I was getting myself into. It is an outbound sales job (cold calling) you sell Ad spaces from Small to Mid Size businesses, the training is two months and after the training you either roll out together as a team or on a different team, just like every sales job it requires you to work hard, even though you are done training, the company still gives you training and resources to do better at your job, whether it's one on ones or group training. The job itself is hard however you do have a good work/life balance and you have a ton of resources especially employee resource groups that allows you to do other things outside of your day to day job. They have a fully stocked kitchen, great benefits and also really good team bonding experiences

    Cons

    The platform has changed a lot and its growing however most people see the platform as a "Review site" you tend to move to different managers or teams, it can be a good thing in a way but sometimes it may be the best for others

    Yelp2020-01-28

    Yelp Response

    January 31, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree that hard work pays off at Yelp! We're happy to hear that you've found a healthy work/life balance in your role and that you've found the support from the many Yelp Employee Resource Groups. We're so glad to have you on the team and can't wait to see all of the growth that 2020 will bring!

    Continue reading
  2. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen for meals

    Cons

    Consistent sales metrics hard to achieve, aggressive sales methods

    Yelp2019-12-31

    Yelp Response

    January 2, 2020

    Thank you for taking a moment to leave your feedback. In the Account Executive role, like in most other sales roles, metrics are an important measure of success, although we understand that sometimes it can be overwhelming to reach more challenging numbers. It can be helpful to remember that your manager is here to support you and provide additional support and coaching you may need to get you to a point where you feel confident in the work that you do every day. We encourage you to hang in there and to lean on your teammates and leadership. We're thankful to have you on the team and we can't wait to see how far your career at Yelp will take you!

    Continue reading
  3. "Good Steady Job, Difficult Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    FREE INSURANCE, stability, stocked kitchens, baristas. ability to move up after one year

    Cons

    difficult job, really REALLY emotionally taxing and draining. not for the faint of heart.

    Yelp2019-12-02

    Yelp Response

    December 3, 2019

    Thank you for your review! It’s good to see that you enjoyed the perks offered here like the fully stocked kitchens, baristas (our favorite), and the opportunity to move up after a year. While the responsibilities of a sales role can be exciting for most, we understand that the challenges of the job can be overwhelming to some. We work hard to create a supportive and vibrant culture that continues to motivate and inspire you even through the tough calls, and train managers that can provide continued coaching when needed. We understand that a job in sales may not be for everyone, and we’re thankful for your feedback. Thank you for all of your hard work at Yelp, we wish you the best of luck in your next role!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Better Options Available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Partner in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training program Company-paid benefits (this is going away) Fully stocked kitchens Co-workers

    Cons

    I spent five years with Yelp, which was filled with many ups and downs. I started my career as an Account Executive and quickly worked my way to the national side of the business. The company felt like it was in a slow decline throughout my tenure, which was consistently confirmed by taking a quick look at the stock price after earnings calls. The Account Executive role is challenging and continues to get harder as better advertising options (Facebook, Google, etc.) are available. You spend the majority of your day cold calling business owners who have been called HUNDREDS of times by past AE's which leads to plenty of rejection and negative days. I worked as an Account Executive for just about a year before moving to the national side of the business. You would think to move from local to national would result in a pay increase, and at Yelp, you would be sadly mistaken. The national business is broken, which has resulted in an exodus of many top reps over the years, and to be honest, it makes sense. Who uses Yelp to find a Subway? I was able to move out of the national business into a local client partner role where you work with business owners post-sale to upgrade their programs. This role was decent for a few years, but the management in that department became unbearable. You don't have to work somewhere where 30-year-old managers spend 6 hours instant messaging with each other. Also, you truly learn in that role that the Yelp advertising product isn't great, but you are forced to ask your clients to upgrade regardless. This message is for both people considering Yelp as a career and current employees. There are MUCH better options available. I have been so happy since leaving Yelp, and you can be too! I remember reading Glassdoor reviews of Yelp while I was an employee just for confirmation that I wasn't the only one feeling so down on the company. The Glassdoor reviews speak for themselves! You are better than a company that is about to drop below three stars. You don't need to be stressing yourself out every day because business owners have been called 1,000 times and don't care about your scripted sales pitch. You don't have to work for a company where managers instant message each other all day and then yell at your team when you are behind. Life is too short to be unhappy in the workplace.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-12-16

    Yelp Response

    December 18, 2019

    Thank you for your thorough feedback on your experience at Yelp. We’re glad to hear that enjoyed the training you received during your time here as well as your co-workers! It’s unfortunate that you may have not seen the impact of your work during your time here. We feel more confident than ever that Yelp is positioned to see even more growth and success than we already have. With ongoing improvements and updates to our ad product, we feel that our offerings now better align with what business owners want and need. These changes were made directly because of feedback we received from our clients, and we're positioned well to continue bringing even better value to business owners. This means that there is plenty of growth on the horizon for Yelp and our employees! We will pass along your feedback to our team so that we can continue to make Yelp a better place for all. We’re thankful for your commitment throughout your five year tenure here and we wish you the very best of luck in the next step of your career.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elite Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for someone just starting out. You learn a ton, and they help you with basic sales knowledge. The pay is very transparent, and the ability to make good commission is not impossible (although can be very challenging). Decent benefits, stocked kitchens with snacks, fun company culture.

    Cons

    It can be very difficult to make commissions due to factors outside your control (territory plays a major role). Managers tend to have no prior management/leadership experience. Plus, the job is a grind, and the call volume can be overwhelming.

    Yelp2019-11-06

    Yelp Response

    November 7, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback! We love hearing that employees are learning new skills in their role and loving the perks and benefits we offer. It never hurts to have an open conversation with your manager if you're feeling overwhelmed. We want to make sure that we continue to support you and provide the resources you need to be comfortable in your job. We're happy that you've been with us for over 3 years now and look forward to many more years of success and growth!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free snacks, fully stocked kitchen, fun environment, amazing coworkers. At Yelp you work in teams and you get so close to them. I worked out of the D.C. office and the only reason I didn't want to leave is because of the people I met. Definitely a crash course into sales. Monthly team outings are great too because they're paid for.

    Cons

    At Yelp you get territories and you're responsible for knowing everything about them, the businesses, and you sell to them. What they fail to tell you is that your territory has already had 10+ reps from Yelp call them a million times so once you introduce yourself and where you're calling from they already hate you. Businesses in your territory are burnt out especially if you have small town areas or areas with no large cities near by or foot traffic. The only time you may get lucky with a close is when its a new business. And most of the time those businesses just don't have the funding for advertising.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-10-31

    Yelp Response

    November 1, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry that your time at Yelp D.C. wasn’t the best. We agree that cold calling isn’t for everyone and we strive to create an upbeat and positive culture so that employees can feel satisfied even when they face tough calls. Our managers know that this isn’t an easy job and that sometimes, one-on-one coaching may be necessary to help you get over the hurdles you may be facing. This can come off as micro-managing and we understand that this style of leadership may not be for everyone. We appreciate your honesty and wish you the best of luck in your next role!

    Continue reading
  7. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    stocked kitchen, good work atmosphere, culture

    Cons

    micro management, lack of privacy

    Yelp2019-09-20
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Managed to survive almost a year, would never do this again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good insurance that's paid by the company. - A fully stocked kitchen that has some good stuff (that you'll end up avoiding after a few weeks in the job). - Meeting new people your age since they'll keep you sane when the work kicks in. You might make a few friends.

    Cons

    So I managed to stay here longer than I wanted to, but the truth is that I wanted to quit 3 days into the job though I lasted 10 months. Every day felt the same, vet 10 in, kick 10 out, have a round-up where the same goals and topics about reaching business owners are repeated non-stop, and make calls for 8 hours a day. I felt like I was stuck in a never-ending loop. Whenever someone on my team got on a call and went to the first live search, managers would barge in and feed us lines which, at the end of the call, they would congratulate us for fighting the business owner and defending the company even though we said the lines they fed us word for word. Speaking about managers, many of them; if they had worked for another company; would've been fired for acting like children or college freshman and the incentives they gave out were also childish at best (Make a 3.24 before noon and get a breakfast sandwich or be out at 2 PM? Am I in elementary school?). I endured plenty of stress and panic attacks, including having two of them within 24 hours, just to stay afloat in this job for a paycheck that's laughable with a commission structure that isn't all that's promised along with a business model that needs to be updated and not centered around harassing business owners every two days. Plus the opportunities to advance are thin unless you want to be calling mid-size businesses with 5-9 locations, national businesses or be a manager in the hopes you roll out with a team of new hires into the vet org.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-09-25
  9. "Great place for 1 year tops than get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great sales training program 2. Trial by fire. You'll develop thick skin after 3. Stocked Kitchen 4. You learn how to sell to people who hate your product which may be one of the most difficult things to do

    Cons

    1. Daily grind, smile and dial. Youre entire job is centered only around calling and selling over the phone. You're a telemarketer pure and simple. 2. Some serious cool-aid going around the office. People have convinced themselves that Yelp is the answer to every small business owners problems 3. Ethical boundaries are often crossed. Manager pushes you to sell to those who probably don't have the money and/or fully understand the product. 4. They will pay you the bare minimum and expect you to make all your money on commission. When i started my starting salary was $35k/year which equates to about $900 bi-weekly after taxes.

    Yelp2019-09-30

    Yelp Response

    October 10, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Yelp! Many of our Account Executives reap the benefits that come from our sales training programs, and it's good to hear that you've had a similar experience! A good portion of our employees are Yelp users themselves and and love to talk about it with business owners, but we totally understand that not everybody may feel the same way. It is concerning to hear that you felt like ethical boundaries were crossed during your time at Yelp. We take this feedback very seriously and want to make sure all our employees feel good and confident about the job that they do every day here. If you feel you'd like to share more with our team in regard to this, please feel free to e-mail us at employeefeedback@yelp.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Regrets, Just Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elite Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -meet some of your best friends here -build a back bone (lots of rejections from both business owners and managers/directors) -fun environment -good managers sometimes, luckily i had the best managers while there for the most part but some managers aren't that great so luck of the draw -barista, fully stocked kitchen, stocks (i don't know if they still offer), 401k, health, gym reimbursement,

    Cons

    -80+ cold calls a day -territories do matter so pray you get a good one -if you don't drink the kool aid you will be negative and not make it, so drink it in the beginning -you don't need to stay here longer than a year, get your 6-12 month experience and go somewhere else before you lose sight of the real world and think this is it -college vibes if you are not into happy hours, the gem saloon, and office drama then this is not the place for you -retention (if your accounts don't keep paying then it is deducted from your commission) -figure out your path early on or else you will be endlessly dialing until indeed, yext, or some other sales place taps your shoulder and offers you the same job for 5-10k more -strict with time - you can't really just leave whenever to get a coffee outside.. 8:30-5:30 lunch from 12-1

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-07-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 170 reviews
</>Embed