Yodle Employee Reviews about "cold call"

Updated Sep 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 613 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Yodle Chairman, CEO and President  David L. Brown
David L. Brown
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, free lunch, great commission structure(in 112 reviews)

  • "Really relaxed work environment where everyone cares about the product and you're given a lot of creative freedom(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growth opportunities are less, Low base salary, long work hours, poor retention policy(in 33 reviews)

  • "Overcoming objections, company cold-call reputations, etc(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "cold call"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Just read the script

      Nov 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A very "millennial-type" atmosphere. Hang out spots that have ping pong and air hockey. A kitchen area with free food, drinks, and coffee. Food trucks everyday. They do more than other companies in terms of employee training. If you can read a script without sounding like reading a script, that's how you ace the interview.

      Cons

      You literally read a script for everything. Every potential customer response has a script, which must be memorized. The product they sell isn't a scam but they're not completely honest with customers regarding their product. And I did feel their was a moral conflict of interest that sometimes came up. Every call is a cold-call. The product is a tough sell and you can expect to make 300-400 calls, per day, in your first 30 days. As you get better, you'll probably be making 200 calls per day with 60 days. Some of the elite salespeople only make 50 calls per day or less, but those are a select few. Most are doing 200+ calls per day with many hang ups, dead numbers, and annoyed small business owners.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      What it's like to work at yodle

      Apr 17, 2013 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great sales training. Learn how to close and cold call. Work attire is typical of the online industry, jeans, t-shirts, shorts in the summer.

      Cons

      Micromanaging. Mandatory meeting 8:45am for 20 minutes. Mandatory break time is 10:45am to 11am. Mandatory lunch time is 12-1pm. Mandatory mid day meeting is a 1pm and don't be late. Mandatory break time again is 3:45-4pm. You must leave at 5:45pm and if you would like to stay later you must get permission from your manager and show that you have hit your compliancy on the phone which is 3 hours of talk time and or 76 dials or more. You MUST follow the cold call script VERBATIM. When you run a demo you must use the demo guide and for a 1 hour pitch also read the script VERBATIM. Careful not to slip because you are being recorded and they have employees that are hired strictly to listen. You will be reprimanded and pulled in to a meeting if you do not comply.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Better for 20 yr olds on first job.

      Feb 12, 2015 - Inside Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide snacks and coffee which is nice. Seemed like a good product but the hard sell on 1st call is a bit much.

      Cons

      More training, not necessarily longer but more varied and complete. They are so concerned about getting you on the phones people are not setup to be successful. I have managed to become a top 5 agent in the Charlotte division of the team I work on but with such a low base ($20k), I am not meeting my minimum financial goals 3 months in with maximum effort. Managers do not act professional and they BLARE loud music to keep the mood up as you continually cold call. I could deal with that better if I didn't have customers at least once a day asking what all the noise is from the background. Why put an extra obstacle in my way when cold calling is already such a challenge? I just put in my 2 weeks today and they showed me the door instead of letting me finish like a true professional, which hurts my families bottom line. BE WARY, use as a steppingstone if you want my advice. Who doesn't respect a notice?? Management said we love your effort and we want you, turn down that other job now and well forget this letter happened. I asked for 24 hours to speak with my wife and they had me pack up, very petty!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Environment, Hard Job

      Oct 22, 2015 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment, the managers and the staff will do anything to help you succeed. The job comes with a lot of perks, like free lunches and happy hours, and the energy is great. They lay out everything for you, so if you can follow directions, you can succeed there. The money is awesome (or it can be), and the benefits are better than any job I've ever had.

      Cons

      It's a cold call job. For creative minds it will get repetitive and boring, and the days just start to feel like they're all the same. They're also slaves to statistics, so if you don't put up numbers, they will get rid of you.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Hardest job I'll ever have...

      May 8, 2012 - Sales Representative in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Peapod- comes once a week -The people- you start to form family-like friendships on your team -Commission structure. There is the potential to make a lot of money. The commission structure has recently changed for the better. -Fun environment

      Cons

      -MICROMANAGEMENT -Inconsistent standards- the company is constantly changing every day. One day you have to make 75 calls, the next day they require you to be on the phone for 3 hours. -Cold calls, cold calls, cold calls -EXTREMELY high turnover rate -The company doesn't care about their clients success- they only care about getting the credit card -They set unrealistic expectations for both their employees and their clients -The product hardly every works -Hardly any room for growth -You have to sell in the form of a robot- how they want you to sell from a script.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best company to work for!

      Apr 9, 2015 - Sales Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thorough training process which is 30 days of on the job training, in which you are very likely to make money, mixed with class time. Trainers are only allowed to be trainers if they were successful sellers. They are sincerely dedicated to individual growth. They don't only care about graduating a big class, they want you to succeed. Continuous growth with this company is very easy if you are willing to learn. Management (the managers are not untouchable here) cares about you individually and will come in early / stay late to help you succeed. Just like the training managers, team managers had to have great success selling before they were promoted (your manager will know what he's doing and what your work entails). The process continues with upper management. This company always promotes within and promote the best candidate for the job. If you are willing to work hard AND LEARN, while following Yodle's sales process, you will make a lot of money here. I remember wondering if I could close a deal every now and then. Looking back, I am so glad I found this job. Free snacks / soda all day long. Wednesday = hump day training (free food for attending) in which you can develop your skills. This company does care about you and will invest as much in you and you invest in you. Continuous improvement after

      Cons

      Let's call the elephant in the room out here.... Cold calling isn't very fun. Whether you've been sucecssful in sales or haven't sold anything, If you're willing to cold call and follow the process then you can make some great money here. If you are looking for a job just for hourly wages, don't come here you won't last. If you aren't coach-able or don't have a strong work ethic, don't come here you won't make money. But if you're like I was before I took this job, eager to learn and ready to make money, but debating if you can handle a sales job.... This is it, I'm not making this up for a good review or star rating, I'd share Yodle with anyone it's that great.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Scripted robots bullying small business

      Aug 27, 2014 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good employees make it somewhat bearable. I guess beer on Fridays (after you are off) and free lunch (if you like processed meat-like cafeteria food)

      Cons

      Every aspect of this place is scripted. You ask a trainer a question and if it is not in his script he memorized you will get something not even pertaining. Cold-calls all day to people that can't afford the service, and if they politely try and say no you berate them with pages upon pages of rebuttles until they are worn down. Super sketchy sales practices, lying to business owners telling them it is not a "contract" yet they are charged and prevented from cancelling, so they will be auto charged monthly. Great job for someone without a soul. Don't let the sales managers fool you with money to be made. They provide you with a lot of hypotheticals, but when it comes down to it, you won't become rich here. 20k base and avg sale commission in the low $300s (and you wont be making sales daily...trust me)

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good for a new grad not great for a seasoned rep

      Oct 19, 2011 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you have just graduated from school and have no exprience cold calling or sales then Yodle is a good fit for you. This is a stepping stone job. Most reps dont last 6months, the turnover is high and management does not care.

      Cons

      The job is tough and is weighted towards the Execs in the company. The high earners do tradeshows and have sales closing calls sent to them, the rest of the reps must source,cold call and close deals all on their own. The base salary is very low. If you have sales exprience then this is not the job for you. They expect you to work more than 8hrs and will not pay you overtime for that.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Big earning if you are a hard closer.

      May 12, 2010 - Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Earning opportunity, lots of growth, young company, young people and engery, fast pace, new industry. People with mad sales skills do great here.

      Cons

      Hardcore sales, dials, dials, dials. Lots of unfriendliness on the other end of the line. Yodle tell new hires that almost nobody else is selling this service, which may be true, but cold calls reveal that prospects are multiple calls per day from other companies selling this product and generally annoyed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Yodle Sales

      Feb 13, 2015 - Sales in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Keep you there. Keep you focused. Keep you calling. Total control of employees by management. Not a place for a critical thinker.

      Cons

      Company could care less about the time of the people you are calling. If they are not buying, dump the call. They use a used care salesman approach to their calls. The assumption is that the customer is stupid. If you are not on a call, you better have a reason for not being. No cold calling. Hardly. Every call is a cold call. If I were running a business, I would buy from someone who really knew my business and cared about helping me succeed. There are no divisions for each sector, just a script for each one. I don't know about the training part. It is more like listen, memorize and get on the phone.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Work at Yodle? Share Your Experiences

    Yodle logo
    or