Yodle Employee Reviews about "low base"

Updated Aug 2, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 613 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Yodle Chairman, CEO and President  David L. Brown
David L. Brown
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, free lunch, great commission structure(in 112 reviews)

  • "Really relaxed work environment where everyone cares about the product and you're given a lot of creative freedom(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growth opportunities are less, Low base salary, long work hours, poor retention policy(in 33 reviews)

  • "Overcoming objections, company cold-call reputations, etc(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "low base"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Better for 20 yr olds on first job.

      Feb 12, 2015 - Inside Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide snacks and coffee which is nice. Seemed like a good product but the hard sell on 1st call is a bit much.

      Cons

      More training, not necessarily longer but more varied and complete. They are so concerned about getting you on the phones people are not setup to be successful. I have managed to become a top 5 agent in the Charlotte division of the team I work on but with such a low base ($20k), I am not meeting my minimum financial goals 3 months in with maximum effort. Managers do not act professional and they BLARE loud music to keep the mood up as you continually cold call. I could deal with that better if I didn't have customers at least once a day asking what all the noise is from the background. Why put an extra obstacle in my way when cold calling is already such a challenge? I just put in my 2 weeks today and they showed me the door instead of letting me finish like a true professional, which hurts my families bottom line. BE WARY, use as a steppingstone if you want my advice. Who doesn't respect a notice?? Management said we love your effort and we want you, turn down that other job now and well forget this letter happened. I asked for 24 hours to speak with my wife and they had me pack up, very petty!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Missing the old Yodle

      Oct 17, 2011 - Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the people I work with at this company. A very fun atmosphere to be around and a part of, with fun people. We have some in and out of office events that continue to break up the mundane feel from making 100+ dials per day. If you can make yourself successful on the telephone and can close business on the spot, this is a great job with decent commission potential.

      Cons

      This is an inside sales job. A lot of chasing and a low base salary, with too many hands involved in getting your sales launched slowing your commission. If you are a younger person with not much experience and hungry, this is a good gig. Because of some recent changes, the atmosphere that many former employees loved, have slowly dissolved. What used to make this office thrive and successful, has been slowly pulled away, making it a little more difficult to stand on a day-to-day basis.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great for your training wheels, but no advancement.

      May 5, 2016 - Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn a lot, great entry into sales. Fun atmosphere, great people. Typical cold-calling sales job, with your hip millennial-friendly perks like ping-pong and happy hour. You can make a lot of money if you work hard.

      Cons

      Little promotion from within. Everything is scripted so at a certain point the development stops. Very little opportunity for growth, as a salesperson, or moving in any other direction. No job security, low base-pay, high turnover.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great job for the patient and diligent!

      Dec 5, 2014 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment. Like most successful sales companies, Yodle prides itself for it's culture. Great pay for the people who can work hard and smart at the same time. This job is not for the whiny or the used car salesman. Since it's mostly based on phone selling and cold calling you have to learn people's tones and pitches and know when to stop. It's a big company so no one will baby sit you. If you want to succeed , most senior reps are always there to help.

      Cons

      Low base. ( But room for high commission) Not for the people who do not want to be on the phones. The training method could change a little.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great for a first sales job..

      Mar 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture. Amazing contests! Amazing payout If you are right out of college looking for sales 101 this is the job for you. I had so much fun and learned a lot in terms of beginning sales skills. if you are old school and looking for the ability to hone in on your consultative sales skills... move on. Very rewarding for a new and up in coming sales professional... not for the faint of heart!

      Cons

      Super low base.( high Pay out) work hard and you can absolutely make sweet money here. Robotic procedure. But efficient. High Rejection rate. Apply if you have guts.. if you don't go find a cushy job.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Cool Place to Work but Did not Believe in Product

      Aug 19, 2016 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Atmosphere. Loud Music kept an upbeat feeling. Free Lunches and Game Room. Commission was great. Training was very thorough. This is a good place for recent college grads to get some work experience.

      Cons

      Micromanaged to the minute on the phones. Very Strict Sales Quota. Felt like I was in High School and needed permission for Bathroom break. Had access to view how the clients I sold were doing and not too many were getting any leads. Making a single Real Estate Agent think they can get to 1st page of an organic google search using an "adversite" is a straight up lie in most markets. They had a close em or burn em attitude about the small business which is a total turnoff (think high pressure car sales or ), it did not fit my personality. Super Low base salary. If you went two weeks with out a sale you are eating Ramen for dinner.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very Fair

      Mar 18, 2014 - Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Comprehensive month long training, you hit the ground running Aggressive commission structure that is definitely pay per performance Great leadership who understands the highs and lows of the job, they are (for the most part) extremely willing to do what they can to help you succeed Fun environment considering the job duties, they know it's not a glorious job so they do what they can to make it fun Company loves its sales reps - lots of awesome contests

      Cons

      Monotony (smile and dial) Low base pay Cold calling is not for everyone Sales factory vibe

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Culture is dying...

      Sep 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great company to work for, they're fair, The interview is pretty simple and you need not have previous experience in sales. Worked there for two years and I've never really had any issues with company proceedings until recently

      Cons

      With our recent acquisition a lot of the culture is dying and there are some things that I don't really approve of going on. Some people complain about the low base, but we have high commission tiers, so I don't really think that's an issue.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sale Representative

      Nov 20, 2014 - Sales Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment. Good guidance and support from the management and director level. Extremely favorable commission structure. Everyone is a genuinely good person. Spectacular for developing a career and quickly moving into management. You learn a lot about SMBs and how to sell and cold call. Top performers have the opportunity to meet the high level executives.

      Cons

      Hard to take time off without having saved up a lot of money as vacation hurts your paycheck severely because of low base salary. Its a hard job and its not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Boiler room with no real leadership

      Mar 5, 2015 - Account Executive in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun people to work with

      Cons

      Where do I start? Low base, Ever changing processes, Turnover, Lack of focus by management, etc As long as you are good at dialing the phone and following a script then you can have short term success. You are considered a old timer if you make it a year. Lack of competitive pay make it hard to keep people and the attitude of the company is they would rather hire someone with no experience who doesn't know any better than anyone with real sales skills. The hype and banter gets old after awhile and when you see people leaving left and right it is easy to get discouraged.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

    Work at Yodle? Share Your Experiences

    Yodle logo
    or