Yorkshire Building Society Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yorkshire Building Society Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Yorkshire Building Society Chief Executive  Mike Regnier (no image)
Mike Regnier
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Much more of an emphasis on people and work/life balance than any of the Big 4 UK Banks with whom I have worked(in 12 reviews)

  • "Flexible working and clear outline of responsibilities(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "no cons - everything is good at YBS(in 8 reviews)

  • "Very little empowerment and zero options for career progression, especially post-restructure(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Accounts controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Controller 

    I have been working at Yorkshire Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, good training, big organisation

    Cons

    Systems are slow, salary could be better

    Yorkshire Building Society2020-01-09
  2. "Good company that went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Yorkshire Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great professional and expertise of colleagues Flexible working

    Cons

    Low salary Too many changes at the top Let most of their good employees in Change go

    Yorkshire Building Society2020-01-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, but poor people development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yorkshire Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The people I work with daily are kind and compassionate- this can be said for 95% of the staff at YBS. - The customers for the most part are lovely, they make the job more bearable - Our products aren't great, but they are competitive, meaning we don't have to deal with as many complaints surrounding rates- probably due to mutuality. - Not a target driven environment when customer facing (I think this is due to changes in financial services environment rather than mantra of the company. ) - Charitable work is encouraged, i feel as an organisation we do make a massive impact with charitable work and ybs gives us hours in which we can volunteer and still earn an income. - this is very rewarding personally. - work life balance/flexibility is good, if you're part time... if you're not given flexible working conditions/part time, expect to pick up everyone's workload - Employees who are sick are treated humanely compared to some places I've worked in the past.

    Cons

    -Poor career progression, especially for branch staff (I know branch staff that have been in the same role for 10 years despite been eager to develop their careers) - If you are looking for a career, do not join as a Customer Consultant. -I've worked at both head office, and branch. head office staff have more facilities, I visited a branch recently where the staff were buying water instead of using the facilities because the water comes out 'rusty'. - They are doing rounds of consultation at the minute, and yet they have things like pool tables at the head office site... wasteful mismanagement. They are also encouraging staff to talk about mental health which is brilliant, however when you consider the consultations this is counter intuitive, the money spent on these initiatives could be used in ensuring these colleagues still have a role. The people who are suffering the most from mental health troubles are those who are being made redundant. -YBS idea of career progression for branch staff is getting consultants to go to head office to shadow different teams, one of the issues with this is that because of resourcing you could get perhaps, 5 hours in a team over a 5 month period, utterly pointless and is done to try appease branch staff because morale is so low- there is no magic wand, but we make record profits every year, please invest in people more. - Mantra of the company is 'real help with real lives' in terms of product offerings, we seem to help wealthy people get wealthier. We did used to help a lot of low income customers get basic cash cards, but they have abandoned this recently, it seems the recent focus of the organisation is getting more money from the wealthy, and making more money from the mortgages. - many staff members already struggling financially are paying their own money towards events for charities as they feel obligated to fulfil corporate responsibility. In a nutshell staff members are paying for YBS's PR,- This is not how a mutual should behave.

    Continue reading
    Yorkshire Building Society2019-12-22
  4. "Was good whilst it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Analyst in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yorkshire Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good holiday allowance and benefits, generally lovely people to work with. Great bonus scheme, equality and diversity ethos and charitably minded.

    Cons

    Poor IT making working practices challenging, very behind with the times. Lots of change for changes sake. Not always open and honest.

    Continue reading
    Yorkshire Building Society2019-12-03
  5. "Good to begin with then lost its way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Yorkshire Building Society

    Pros

    The people. But that is it

    Cons

    Lies. They don’t treat branch level staff with the respect they deserve. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. There’s no progression

    Continue reading
    Yorkshire Building Society2019-12-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bullying, discrimination and harassment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Conwy, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yorkshire Building Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None they all went 2yrs ago

    Cons

    Too many to list but includes bullying, harassment and discrimination. Lies being told even up to CEO level

    Continue reading
    Yorkshire Building Society2019-12-25
  7. "Great place and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ALM Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yorkshire Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Lovely people Lots of opportunity to rotate around jobs internally

    Cons

    Ruthless culture in recent years of hiring and firing In danger of letting too many experienced staff go

    Continue reading
    Yorkshire Building Society2019-11-11
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yorkshire Building Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly people and nice environment

    Cons

    no cons - everything is good at YBS

    Yorkshire Building Society2019-10-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of progression let's it down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yorkshire Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Great staff everywhere Great on development Pay is about average Annual bonus scheme Great pension scheme

    Cons

    No way to increase basic pay No career progression Dont know how to treat staff in redundancies Some managers are poor

    Yorkshire Building Society2019-09-09
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Risk Analyst in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Yorkshire Building Society part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility around hours. Can work from home. Good pay

    Cons

    No clear direction or job security

    Yorkshire Building Society2019-09-10
Found 136 reviews