Younique Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Younique Founder & CEO Derek Maxfield (no image)
Derek Maxfield
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Being able to work from home and the compensation is incredible(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good environment, lots of great people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is hyper-focused on the bottom line and has forgotten completely about the people working there(in 5 reviews)

  • "No full time positions/ benefits(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Younique Presenter Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Marketing Consultant in Melksham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Younique part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love Younique, low start up cost of only £69, amazing kit with makeup and samples, free website, free training (worth £8k), the support is amazing and the other Y-sisters are so uplifting. ❤

    Cons

    Free makeup, new friends made, family life balance, no more 9-5, incentives & free trips 🙌

    Younique2019-03-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "This company is changing lives"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Younique Presenter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low start up £69 - includes an amazing kit & all business tools you will need like own website, back office & support. Work from home or anywhere, great support network of other Y-sisters, all building each other up. Paid within 3 hours of a sale, unlimited earning potential. Build confidence, self-esteem & make friends.

    Cons

    You will earn lots of free makeup. Trip incentives. No boss, so must be self motivated. Must create good habits like doing daily personal development.

    Younique2017-07-05
  3. "Marvellous"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Presenter in Bridgend, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique part-time

    Pros

    You can make at least 20% on makeup sales and earn half price items too! A few regular customers and you'll never have to pay for makeup yourself again. Great!

    Cons

    Not a con really but you get out what you put in. Daily commitment needed but only 15 mins of posting spread out through the day

    Younique2017-05-28
  4. "Presenter"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique full-time

    Pros

    Amazing uplifting company, fantastic mission

    Cons

    Personally none, really fantastic company

    Younique2016-11-10
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Younique rep"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Assistant in Thetford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Younique for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to test the products yourself and meet new people

    Cons

    You pay out money to join which you do eventually earn back but you have to have it upfront to join. Friends loose interest once they purchase goods and being in a small town once you recruit people who also recruit people it's hard to get buyers locally and have to go further afield as now my town has loads of reps with most friends in common .

    Continue reading
    Younique2016-10-18
  6. "n/a"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Younique full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    it was fun while it lasted

    Cons

    going down and not much hope

    Younique2020-05-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Younique full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally, good people work here. Most roles allows for hands-on experience that is very useful.

    Cons

    A family business that grew large and plateaued/sank. Upper management is hyper-focused on the bottom line and has forgotten completely about the people working there. There just isn't enough experience at the c-level as they are mostly buds with the founder, Derek. There is also a strange cult worship of Derek.

    Continue reading
    Younique2020-05-12
  8. "Highly motivated and friendly team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique part-time

    Pros

    Be your own boss Work from home

    Cons

    high turnover and a lot of reorganizing

    Younique2020-04-20
  9. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    they have good benefits

    Cons

    Hard to move up or achieve anything in terms of personal growth

    Younique2020-04-25
  10. "No transparency and corrupt management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premier Team/Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Younique full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met some amazing people that I worked with, and some that became best friends! Opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Mass layoffs multiple times, promises that weren't kept, judged off of who you're friends with, not taken seriously, and talked to like a child. I was one of the top agents on my team with stats that showed. I was loved by multiple Black Status leaders and continued to excel at my job. Unfortunately, I was spoken to multiple times for talking to much or not talking enough(confusing, right?). I was the employee who asked the hard questions in team meetings and would be punished because of it. It's a really strange environment, but if you have a motivated attitude and don't give a crap about management then you'll be fine.

    Continue reading
    Younique2020-05-17
Found 119 reviews