Younique Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Younique Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 111 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Derek Maxfield
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Being able to work from home and the compensation is incredible(in 8 reviews)

  • "We are a mission-first organization, focused on uplifting, empowering and validating women(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Items sometimes go on backorder or out of stock for a short time(in 4 reviews)

  • "Meine Upline aus UK war irgendwann weg(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Younique Presenter Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Marketing Consultant in Melksham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Younique part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love Younique, low start up cost of only £69, amazing kit with makeup and samples, free website, free training (worth £8k), the support is amazing and the other Y-sisters are so uplifting. ❤

    Cons

    Free makeup, new friends made, family life balance, no more 9-5, incentives & free trips 🙌

    Younique2019-03-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "This company is changing lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Younique Presenter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low start up £69 - includes an amazing kit & all business tools you will need like own website, back office & support. Work from home or anywhere, great support network of other Y-sisters, all building each other up. Paid within 3 hours of a sale, unlimited earning potential. Build confidence, self-esteem & make friends.

    Cons

    You will earn lots of free makeup. Trip incentives. No boss, so must be self motivated. Must create good habits like doing daily personal development.

    Younique2017-07-05
  3. "Marvellous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Presenter in Bridgend, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique part-time

    Pros

    You can make at least 20% on makeup sales and earn half price items too! A few regular customers and you'll never have to pay for makeup yourself again. Great!

    Cons

    Not a con really but you get out what you put in. Daily commitment needed but only 15 mins of posting spread out through the day

    Younique2017-05-28
  4. "Presenter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique full-time

    Pros

    Amazing uplifting company, fantastic mission

    Cons

    Personally none, really fantastic company

    Younique2016-11-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Younique rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Thetford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Younique for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to test the products yourself and meet new people

    Cons

    You pay out money to join which you do eventually earn back but you have to have it upfront to join. Friends loose interest once they purchase goods and being in a small town once you recruit people who also recruit people it's hard to get buyers locally and have to go further afield as now my town has loads of reps with most friends in common .

    Advice to Management

    If your product is that amazing you should give your reps sample tester kits to show people or monthly give them a product free for their kits to share with potential customers . And stop charging for the catalogues as that's silly money!

    Younique2016-10-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It's not about the makeup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Younique for more than a year

    Pros

    Some very nice makeup, mascara is great

    Cons

    it is about recruiting others

    Younique2016-07-12
  7. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Younique full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people. Stand for equality and diversity. Have a great and fairly affordable cafe. Great benefits if you are able to get them. Temps and part timers will not have access to these benefits.

    Cons

    Force you to be full time, but send you home whenever they want, sometimes even after only working 5 hours an entire week. Treat their Temps terribly. 90 day evaluation period for temp employees to be hired on turned out to be 7-8 months. Promise pay raises happen quickly but they don't. You cant get pay raises or benefits as a full time temp employee even after almost a year. The pay is about 12 an hour. Training is...

    Show More
    Younique2019-06-20
  8. "Dont Join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Younique full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    salon, gym, and cafeteria (the food is not that great but it is better than nothing)

    Cons

    Management is horrible, if you put in your notice to leave you will loss all of your PTO hours (no PTO payouts), they wont match competitive salaries, releases every other weekend, and no career progression.

    Advice to Management

    try to be more competitive to keep people around

    Younique2019-06-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Was Amazing but Layoffs Uncovered Big Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Lehi, UT
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Younique full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are plenty of perks, and most of the people I've worked with have been excellent. Up until the layoffs, I was empowered to contribute in significant ways to the vision and direction of the projects I've been involved with. I had a lot of autonomy and felt trusted to get the job done the way I felt was best. This level of trust and freedom has unequivocally been the greatest perk of the job, and it's something...

    Show More

    Cons

    I'd agree wholeheartedly with the comments from the previous software developer who commented - the layoffs were certainly politically motivated. It wasn't hard to notice that some of those laid off in our department had legitimate disagreements with upper management. I should note that these were legitimate disagreements on strategy and vision, not personality conflicts. The dissenters weren't mean or hostile (on...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people! They have valuable insights! Remember that they were hired for a reason. Don't toss them or their ideas aside. You do so only at the peril of your business. Be particularly tuned in to disagreements on vision and strategy, and work hard to find a third way that everyone can agree on. Bring unity by letting the best ideas float to the top naturally. Don't throw out good ideas for no good reason.

    Younique2019-05-10
  10. "Younique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Younique full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and everyone is doing their best to keep up

    Cons

    A lot of changes happening and it can be confusing to have correct information to be successful

    Younique2019-04-17
Found 111 reviews