Zühlke Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Zühlke Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Zühlke CEO Fabrizio Ferrandina
Fabrizio Ferrandina
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lohn ein wenig tiefer als bei Konkurrenz(in 4 reviews)

  • "Not the same benefits as locations in Europe(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "An excellent company to work for with fantastic oppurtunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zühlke full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to work on a wide range of projects in all sorts of industries. I had the opportunity to work in startups to mega corporations building systems used by millions, I worked in several industries from medical, IoT, finance and global banking. Zuhlke has excellent engineers passionate about their craft, I learnt a huge amount from my colleagues and this has massively improved my career prospects. ... The people you work with care about what they do and are great people that you want to spend your free time with. They offer a comprehensive benefits package with PMI, Critical illness, 25 training days, a dedicated training budget, company off sites, flexible working hours, generous pension and company bonus. In addition to all of that they genuinely care about their employees and were always there for me when I needed a little extra help.

    Show More

    Cons

    Base salaries could be a little more competitive, sometimes took a while to leave a project when I was ready for a new challenge

    Advice to Management

    Keep fostering the great culture you have.

    Zühlke2019-09-18
  2. "Excellent people, culture and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zühlke full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Skilled and knowledgable colleagues, work culture that enables excellent collaboration and learning

    Cons

    Not really have a say in the projects undertaken, so one needs to be lucky to work on good ones.

    Advice to Management

    Involve more than just top management in finding projects and deciding team composition. Can sometimes feel a gap between consultants and management.

    Zühlke2019-09-08
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Review of 15 Oct 2017 remains true (London office)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zühlke full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are still nice. Best colleagues. Probably a good place if you are just starting or you get a Lead role.

    Cons

    Some big management players control most of the decisions. Nicer management struggle to keep employees happy and make changes. Projects are selected for the money they make, not because they are what engineers want to work on. Training budget is not yours! Payment of camp is almost one third of this budget! They don't tell you this upfront. Very difficult to get promoted unless you are buddies with the big boys.

    Advice to Management

    Many people are unhappy. Find work your engineers want to do or they will leave. Be upfront about the training budget. Pay better salaries.

    Zühlke2018-05-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A good place after graduation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zühlke full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training time Very agile approach on projects Incredibly friendly colleagues Opportunities to travel Can be on some interesting projects (and some less interesting) but that's part of being a consultant! Great equipment to work with

    Cons

    Think I met my line manager once in 3-4 months? And never to discuss how I was doing. Lack of any recognition for work done

    Advice to Management

    Keep tracks of employees more and organise more frequent meetings with them. The "open door policy" doesn't really work when everyone is always busy.

    Zühlke2018-01-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good for a career start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zühlke full-time

    Pros

    Very good training scheme Friendly atmosphere Projects change quite often

    Cons

    Not competitive salary / bonuses

    Zühlke2018-01-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "An Outstanding Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zühlke full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are so many! But to name a few: 1. Everyone at the organisation are super friendly, engaging and offer their advice and support if you ever you need it. 2. The organisation puts their faith and trust in you right at the very beginning. This gives me the confidence and motivation to perform as well as I possibly can. 3. This is the first company I've worked for where you're allowed to make mistakes!... This is crazy?! Providing that you learn from your mistakes and find ways to become more efficient over the long-term, it's a win-win for everybody. 4. When the recruitment agency tried to sell me this position, she almost fell of her chair! In her years in recruitment, this is the only company she discovered that gives you plenty of study days to prepare for your exams so you needn't worry about diving into your annual leave allowance. To summarise, I've worked for Bloomberg, WestLB and British Airways and none of these companies comes close to offer you these service bundles to help you in your career.

    Show More

    Cons

    None! If you're ambitious and the skies are the limit, this is the company for you. There is a real effort to make everyone feel special and at home. Sure, not every day will work out the way you want it to but that's life! There are always going to be unexpected curve balls and other external influences, which you simply need to deal with and frankly, are outside the control of this company. If that's the... type of 'hands-on' experience you’re after then you’ve come to the right place. This is a company, which is growing year by year so don’t miss out on your opportunity especially if they singled you out from hundreds of CVs. Best of luck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Zühlke2017-10-18
  7. Helpful (7)

    "(London office) Nice people, bad management, very low salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zühlke full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Colleagues have always been very friendly and a good company in and out the office - There is a good culture around Agile methodologies

    Cons

    - bad customers and very boring projects: they try hard to get startup-like innovative projects, but the true is that what pays their bills in the end are customers in banking or insurance industries where you work with outdated technologies, overwhelmed by bureaucracy and politics. Very frustrating and you often feel like wasting your time. - salaries under industry standards: you really have to fight hard to get... a fair compensation. You are asked to work longer hours than average (8,5h a day lunch break excluded) but paid less than industry standards unless you are very good at negotiating. Since they bill the customer good money for your work at the end of the month this can be very annoying. - difficult rotation: small company, few customers.. so if you don't like the project assigned to you, you have to wait for a long time to be moved out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make a choice: if you want to stay in the business with boring projects for some bad customer, just hire unambitious people with low skills, if you want to keep hiring smart people who want to grow then you need to choose more carefully your customers and pay your employee what they are worth. Very disappointed by the CEO of London Wolfgang Emmerich. Instead of listening to the opinions of his employees and... trying to improve things for real he just gives his sale speech to them presenting an image of the company that is far away from the reality.

    Show More
    Zühlke2017-10-15
  8. "A great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Zühlke

    Pros

    Great people, extremely high level A management that believes and help you in your career path Company based on strong values and culture Top clients and projects Friendly environment Bonus, training budget

    Cons

    It still a growing company in the UK

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in people and company culture

    Zühlke2017-02-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Zühlke full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - excellent training opportunities - friendly, multicultural environment - extremely bright and talented colleagues - great, relaxed atmosphere - very skilled senior management - flexibility and good work/life balance - great company values and vision

    Cons

    - little strategically oriented non-technical career models

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and continue to invest in employee development!

    Zühlke2016-10-26
  10. "A company that cares about her people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zühlke full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Monthly Employee Day (Sharpen skills through focus groups and other festive events) - Smart and helpful colleagues - Multicultural - Yearly camp - Management and organizer of events take in feedback (via retros) and implement improvements as best as they could. (At least that is how I feel) - Coding nights - Training budget

    Cons

    - The range of projects could be more. - Addition interviews before entering customer projects. - You may be placed in a customer location that is far from where you reside.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in being transparent to employees. The honesty is greatly appreciated.

    Zühlke2019-11-13
Found 70 reviews