ZF TRW Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ZF TRW Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
ZF TRW CEO Dr. Franz Kleiner (no image)
Dr. Franz Kleiner
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience in ZF TRW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Hardware Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an experience in the UK. Good technical environment. Challenging environment. Good benefits compared to other companies in the same industry. Good work life balance. Good location.

    Cons

    The working environment was very dated. Old building, poor temperature regulation for an office environment.

    ZF TRW2019-01-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Design Engineer in Shirley, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, lot to learn. Good stepping stone for post graduates.

    Cons

    Constantly fire fighting; no resource for innovation. Not very competitive pay.

    ZF TRW2018-11-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Mechanical design and Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Solihull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working on different projects with Tier 1 and Niche Automotive customers

    Cons

    Low pay, lack of proper project management

    ZF TRW2018-10-30
  4. "Review of ZF / TRW as an employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cirencester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good cooperation / team spirit

    Cons

    Continual timescale pressure, requirement creep / change

    ZF TRW2018-05-07
  5. Helpful (5)

    "I would avoid this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Shirley, East Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing really is worth mentioning. Just another company. It doesn't stand out from the crowd with anything special.

    Cons

    One issue is the spoken language all around you. I completely understand the global aspect of any business but when the people around you are discussing technical aspects in Hindi that should include you as well, and you can't understand a thing, after a while you discover the concept of marginalization. I'm not talking here about official stuff like meetings or communication, I'm talking about the small talk, the... chat from which great ideas can arise . This brings me to the idea of "team". There is no such thing like "team spirit" and real leading and role models. There is no bond or any real connection between people. Robots everywhere. At least this is the feeling you get. You see groups here and there of 2-3 people and maybe you hear someone laughing but usually this is only when interns are involved or people that know each other and are working together for many many years. If you're trying to be part of something, something challenging and alive, look somewhere else. This is that kind of place where the soul goes to die. If you have some skills when you get hired, it's very likely to lose them while working here. When it comes to facilities, the place is a bad joke.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire fighting is never a solution.

    ZF TRW2017-09-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Lot of potential... But!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Engineer in Solihull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can learn new stuff and have very knowledgeable people around. Friendly work environment. Free parking. Canteen available but not great food.

    Cons

    - No growth. - Year end review does not hold any value. - Short vision managers. - Managers more interested in politics between sites and getting more people under them. - HR is crap and does more admonition work rather managing employees. - Pay increments are miniscule. - Keeps losing their best employees and never learn.

    Advice to Management

    Try holding onto ur best employees. It doesn't make sense to hire a new employees and pay them a lot and train them when u could have just paid the same money to ur old ones.

    ZF TRW2017-08-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of vision from management in UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Solihull, England

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of experienced engineers around (15 yrs+ is not uncommon), a good pool of project, procedures and lesson learned. Unfortunately, most of the times that voice of experience is not followed. Things might have changed already under ZF, but all mergers take time.

    Cons

    Too many crises around with escalations and interventions from managers in engineering day-to-day activity which is an inhibitor for innovation and good practice.

    Advice to Management

    Although the "crisis" creates a challenging environment on which some actually flourish, but when it happens too often (and whilst I was there it did), it can become very frustrating and chase good engineers away: not everybody can cope to this environment

    ZF TRW2017-05-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    variety, travel opportunity, flexibility, car park

    Cons

    fragmented development, politics, lack of innovation, senior management do not know the products

    Advice to Management

    listen to engineers

    ZF TRW2017-03-02
  9. "Where learning starts!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time

    Pros

    Great work place, friendly environment with very professional staff, diverse workload and lots to learn!

    Cons

    Maybe communication from senior management regarding status of different projects could be done better.

    ZF TRW2017-01-16
  10. "Good place to work depending on job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Engineering Co-Op 

    I worked at ZF TRW

    Pros

    I learned a lot there and the work was usually interesting. Most of the people I worked with were great and happy to teach what they knew.

    Cons

    Some systems used were not user friendly and a lot of bandaid fixes.

    ZF TRW2019-09-19
Found 113 reviews