Zalando Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
325 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible work environment and based on commission(in 45 reviews)

  • "The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low salary for the amount of work(in 13 reviews)

  • "Like any big company, polities can be a bit stressing at times(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (18)

    "Not bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility early on, management by objectives, casual and relaxed atmosphere. 40 % discounts on shoes and fashion sold through the website. Free unlimited drinks including coffee, coke, juices. Frequent team events and big company parties. Expect a fast-paced working environment with lots of things going on every week.

    Cons

    Cramped offices without air conditioning, rigid hierarchal matrix organisation. Lack of break and cafeteria areas. Loud work environment due to open plan office. Strict NDAs creates lots of rumours and speculation about salary and bonuses. Only offered 1 year contracts.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2015-07-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Many learning opportunities for self-guided individuals"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Decent compensation, despite rumours. Dynamic work environment and colleagues where you have many opportunities to learn. Exciting industry where Zalando has a history of innovations. Convenient location and work spaces with solid perks.

    Cons

    Support from leadership can waiver at times, and career success is often solely dictated by the relationship you have with your lead. While striving to be less ego-driven, the reality is that ego quite often dominates the work environment. As they have grown, company is moving more towards standardization. May not be something one is looking for in their work.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-05-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work at!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Merchandise Planner in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Very good working environment - great colleagues! -Flexible working hours -Dynamic and international company -A lot of perks such as free fruit, free drinks, free coffee, gym classes, discount on the BVG ticket, discount on the Zalando website

    Cons

    People turnover is too high - my department of +-/20 people has completely changed in the last year, so you need to get used to work with new people every time.

    Zalando2020-04-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice experience"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Intern in Berlin

    I have been working at Zalando part-time

    Pros

    It was a really nice working environment

    Cons

    I do not know anything that I did not like

    Zalando2020-04-10
  5. "Zalon"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible work environment and based on commission

    Cons

    working from home can be challenging. good email communication

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-04-13
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not a good place for ambitious people"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 40% off perk off on clothing (non-partner items) - diverse work environment - humble colleagues - central teams work on some of really cool projects: developer productivity, GraphQL based fashion store API, rendering engine etc

    Cons

    - painfully slow career growth - salaries are below market value - every year the "in-house" performance review tool "Zonar" does some weird changes. How am I supposed to calibrate myself if you're not keeping it consistent - throughout the year company looks like in a dozing mode, and only seem to work excitingly for Black Friday week - no one cares to actively participate in internal tech communities - less flexible work culture - engineering teams hardly ever pushes back the product team. no one cares to ask about the business impact before jumping onto the implementation - inter teams collaboration is bad - no performance bonus - no stock options (no, handing out 150 euros worth of stocks to all employees does not count) - upper level management is not diverse enough

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-03-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lead Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Community, Large-scale System, Working environment.

    Cons

    Unfairness, inequity, floundering leadership, recognition

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-01-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic, flexible work atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Planner in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I appreciate the flexible working hours that I can use at zalando. Being a mother of two girls and still working full time I need a company which lets me work individually and flexible. I also enjoy the support and Challenge I have experiences with my leads. I could always be open with my feedback and would have never feared to say something wrong. Last but not least I really cherish the dynamic work environment. It’s basically continuous change which motivates me and keeps me busy.

    Cons

    Actually I don’t have a lot to complain about. I think people often blame the company for things they should just fight for (such as a work life balance) themselves. We could definitely do a bit better in terms of sustainability and diversity however zalando is only a representation of society and at least we made a start here.

    Zalando2019-11-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Berlin and Zalando: the place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Partnership Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great city where to work and live. The company is innovative, dynamic, international and promotes collaboration and sharing. You can learn a lot, get to know new and skilled people coming from different countries. Great working environment.

    Cons

    It's only in Berlin :(

    Zalando2019-11-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Let them take you places"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    loads of opportunity and a great work environment- perfect for those interested in corporate entrepreneurship

    Cons

    There is ZERO handholding. It's sink or swim.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2019-11-06
Found 45 reviews