Zenefits Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Zenefits Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 481 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "In addition to the standard free food, solid benefits, etc(in 30 reviews)

  • "Fully-stocked kitchen with premium drinks like Kombucha(in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Don't be fooled by rocketships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Amazingly talented people to work with.

    Cons

    Bait and switch management on everything from company objectives, perks, and job security. For a benefits company, they have some of the worst I have ever seen. No 401k match, low stock options.

    Advice to Management

    Quit a long time ago, you're really not good at it.

    Zenefits2017-02-19
  2. "It was good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Lots of amazing people that have become long term friends.

      Cons

      Not enough structure and no real career growth.

      Zenefits2019-05-07

      Zenefits Response

      May 7, 2019People Representative

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review- we appreciate your feedback

    • "Fast Growing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Broker in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Lots of upward mobility. Great benefits.

        Cons

        Long hours can sometimes be a downer.

        Advice to Management

        Negotiate your salary.

        Zenefits2019-04-18
      • "Good for getting feet wet"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Operations Analyst in San Francisco, CA
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great teams of people to work with, pretty casual work environment, dedicated employees.

        Cons

        Office area overcrowded and noisy. Environment can be hard to concentrate in.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to employees, especially front line, as they know customer needs best.

        Zenefits2019-04-23

        Zenefits Response

        May 7, 2019People Representative

        Thank you for the review! We will be sure to share this feedback

      • Helpful (1)

        "Amazing work atmosphere, Free food and great employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Some Good Stuff in Tempe, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great people, amazing opportunities, free food

        Cons

        Haven’t come across any for now.

        Zenefits2019-02-22
      • Helpful (3)

        "Tragic...but learned a lot. Be cautious"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Operations Analyst in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        To this date, because of the many late nights and camaraderie in the Operations Team, we had one of the tightest teams in my career. Catered dinner, open bar (before it got taken away), hard-working people. Long hours and being hourly meant tons of overtime. Learned a lot about what goes on (good and bad) in a start-up going through hyper-growth. Made some good contacts back from my day at big Z. Learned what NOT to do...

        Show More

        Cons

        At the time, toxic politics, culture, and nepotism everywhere. Leadership in their own bubble not taking any action despite all the feedback. Department leaders with 0 experience and relevant skill sets were managing and failing miserably at it. The consequences trickled down and lead to a burned-out and underpaid Operations Team with little career progression. Exciting times between 2015-2016 but outright scary given...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        A lot of the issues above stemmed from a lack of values and trust, corrupt leadership, and lack of alignment and transparency through the levels of management. This was a project that could have made it big but didnt plan well while letting its employees take the hit. Maybe listen to your employees for once.

        Zenefits2019-03-08
      • Helpful (3)

        "They fired me"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Benefits Advisor in Tempe, AZ
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fun place to work and great culture

        Cons

        Unstable and repeated firing of everyone

        Zenefits2019-02-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Nostalgia - It was challenging but worth it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Zenefits full-time

        Pros

        The product really was unique and revolutionary (if you can use that word in the HR and benefits space). There was an energy and passion that I hadn't yet encountered in other work environments and haven't encountered since.

        Cons

        The company grew too quickly and learned some hard lessons. Towards the end, it didn't really value its people. Your job always felt in jeopardy.

        Zenefits2018-12-18
      • Helpful (2)

        "Account Executive"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        great snacks if you have a sweet tooth!

        Cons

        Sales training could be much more structured

        Advice to Management

        listen to your employees

        Zenefits2018-12-18
      • "Good starter job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Zenefits full-time

        Pros

        Free food/ fully stocked kitchen, young and intelligent coworkers, office space was pleasant

        Cons

        Heavy workload, lots of change, little direction

        Zenefits2018-11-13

        Zenefits Response

        December 11, 2018CPO

        Thanks for taking the time to write this review, as with most startup environments change is a prominent factor. As Zenefits scales and grows, the direction of the company may change but our core company values remain prevalent.

      Found 481 reviews