Zenefits "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Zenefits Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
95 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Zenefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CSM 

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Good learning experience for early CSM.

    Cons

    Long hours and low compensation.

    Zenefits2019-11-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Broker in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of upward mobility. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Long hours can sometimes be a downer.

    Advice to Management

    Negotiate your salary.

    Zenefits2019-04-18
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Huge Promise but Fell Tragically Flat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great sense of purpose and a noble cause (theoretically at least). - Overall, the people were great.

    Cons

    - Leadership is inconsistent and made game-changing decisions seemingly without due diligence or a solid understanding of the likely impacts. - The pay and perks didn't justify the long hours and the terrible work/life balance. - High internal turnover meant that you were always scrambling to plug a gap or take up someone else's work that was just left hanging. - Morale is very low for largely avoidable reasons. - I have very little confidence that the recent layoffs and change in direction were made in the best interests of clients, employees, or even the company as a whole. The whole thing smacks of a "cash out for whatever we can" mentality. This is at the expense of years of hard work (I'm taking 14 hour days) by hundreds of people. Just a pretty sorry spectacle overall.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do right by the customers and the employees; don't make huge pivots without feeling out the affects.l

    Zenefits2017-02-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Zenefits review of account coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Great office space location Snacks Company outings/happy hours

    Cons

    Lots of turnover Long hours Lack of structure

    Advice to Management

    Provide more feedback to employees

    Zenefits2017-02-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits

    Pros

    Free food and endless avocados

    Cons

    High expectations and long hours. No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers with manager experience

    Zenefits2017-01-27
  6. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits

    Pros

    Great Experience! and wonderful people to work with.

    Cons

    You have to work long hours to get all your work done. This can stressful.

    Zenefits2016-12-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Zenefits 12.02.2016"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, energetic workplace, free food, and a nice office.

    Cons

    Siloed departments, poor middle management, long hours, and high stress.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the issue with middle management. The vision laid out by the executive team isn't making it to the ground floor.

    Zenefits2016-12-03
  8. "Fast-paced and exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Wonderful coworkers! Everyone here is hard working, motivated, genuine, intelligent, and willing to help. Plus, the leadership is great. - We are creating a very exciting and revolutionary technology that truly impacts small businesses in a positive way. Having a real impact on people is very rewarding and makes work fun. - The office has great perks. Food, beverages, games, etc. Very nice additions! Also, the office is located is a great location in SoMa. - It seems like employees are excited to be here and be part of something amazing. - LOVE the fast-paced environment where change can happen quickly. This is great because it makes us extremely dynamic and agile. In summary, I have been with this company for nearly 2 years now through ups and downs. I wouldn't change it for anything. Zenefits is a great place to work and has provided me opportunities to advance my career. My coworkers are part of what make this such a great place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Long hours during busy times. (But that is going to happen at any company)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going! You've done a great job so far, and am excited to see where this company can go!

    Zenefits2016-11-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Hottest start up now became an horrible place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits

    Pros

    Good snacks People were smart and hardworking

    Cons

    Management was in chaos Micro management style, your manager ping you every 30 mins in late night just asking updates Work life balance does not exist, expect you to work long hours Finger pointing environment Buggy software

    Zenefits2016-10-30
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Going Down Hill, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker Services in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible PTO Good Benefits Stocked Kitchens, Dinners, Food Perks Great Product Concept Smart Business Model Some Really Great ICs (individual contributor) Some Pretty Amazing Upper Management Mentors Open Door Policy Somewhat Flexible WFH Policy Good Pay for the OGs Some Travel to and From SF/AZ Offices

    Cons

    Poorly Executed Re-org Extremely Horrible Promotion Process - (not based on work quality/experience, but on who ya know) Promoting Employees to Management Roles When Extremely Under Qualified Overselling Clients of Product Capabilities Buggy Software Long Hours (but thats expected) Hard work Goes Unnoticed High Employee Turn Over Lack of Transparency to Clients of Internal Changes Unrealistic Workload Balance in Order to Properly Service Clients Cliquey Culture and Poor Culture (since Parker left, previous CEO) Insufficient Trainings Upper Management and Execs are CLUELESS Lack of Performance Management (poor attempts to implement solution)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Vet Promotions More Thoroughly + Set Better Promotion Guidelines Implement a true Performance Management Solution Slow Down, concentrate on quality not quantity! Be Transparent with Your Client Base Reward Those Worthy Decrease Employee Workload to Increase Client Service More Company Gatherings, More Employee Appreciations Implement Better Q&A Before Product Updates/New Features Set Clients up for Success Starting with Sales

    Show More
    Zenefits2016-08-25
Found 52 reviews