Zillow Director Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
6 Ratings
  1. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Zillow 2.0 = big opportunities to lead big transformation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Limitless potential for those who are comfortable seizing opportunities. If you like to lean in rather than wait to be told what to do you'll love it here. -COVID response has been nothing short of phenomenal because our leaders know how to run a business while balancing people, profit and purpose. -Leaders are willing to change their minds, be wrong and stay open to new possibilities. Remote work is one example. Now that it's in our future indefinitely there's an excitement in the air about defining the new rules of work for ourselves and other companies who look to us for these trends. -Industry leader, household name, big growth trajectory means we will need future talent to bring enterprise operations experience, rigor and discipline.

    Cons

    -Complicated industries to learn as an outsider. -The amount of opportunities can feel overwhelming so it requires a lot of focus and prioritization. -Our culture is undergoing big transformation as offices take on a new role and most day to day connections will be virtual in the future. -There's a we/they disconnect between leadership and employees vs other places. As we grow, transform and share our successes I hope it will start to feel like "our company" whereby everyone is expected to act like leaders and lean in to change things rather than wait for someone with a bigger title to fix it.

    Continue reading
  2. "Growing and socially responsible"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good balance, prioritizes Employee safety

    Cons

    Decision making can be slow

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    July 31, 2020Zillow

    Taking care of our people and our communities has always been a top priority for Zillow. It makes us better people, and results in a better experience for our customers. Thank you for your support and being part of our team. - VP, Recruiting


  3. "Love working here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people. Great mission. Excellent benefits. Very collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Nothing meaningful found after 4 months

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    January 22, 2020CPO

    I am glad you are having a great initial experience at Zillow Group. We work hard on our culture but we can always improve. Please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com if you ever have ideas on how we can better.

  4. Helpful (14)

    "Changes for the worse"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks but might get cut in the future. Free foods but might not be there in the future dues to budget cut and

    Cons

    Employee morale, lack of communication, budget cut across the board, high turnover rate. The executives used to be very communicative with the employees on a quarterly and annual company meeting as well as company email. However, with the new CEO and CFO, there are dramatic negative changes to the company cultures and the employee morale has gone down dramatically. For once, there is no longer budget for team activity and department; no longer communication from the executives regarding the new changes within the company itself. Company culture has become more toxic and no longer has that tech company feel to it. All the perks have being cut across the board which lead to low employee morale and high turnover rate. Support and mentoring programs are no longer matter.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    October 25, 2019CFO

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. I’m sorry to hear you feel morale changed with recent leadership changes. Since my entry, my leaders and I are experimenting with new ways to communicate within Finance about how our roles impact the success of Zillow. Specifically, we’re focused on bringing the team together in All-Hands meetings, holding open fireside chats with key leaders (I held my session earlier this week), leveraging skip-levels to hear constructive feedback, and participating in our Learning & Development trainings. We are excited about the traction we’re getting, but realize change is difficult and communication from leadership on the “why” behind the change is crucial. If you’d like to discuss your circumstance in more detail, please reach out to me at allenp@zillowgroup.com. – Allen Parker

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing, transformative company with roots in consumer empowerment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Information Technology in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great, intelligent, caring people. Opportunities to develop career, be part of an organization that is truly changing the industry. Leadership that is true to stated values.

    Cons

    A company that continually changes like Zillow can be challenging, and requires flexibility and discipline to be successful.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    October 27, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your long service with Zillow and your positive comments. There are a lot of exciting things happening as we move into Zillow 2.0 and some new businesses and products. Our IT team is so critical to providing support for all the new people and services. We will do our best (with your help) to remain true to the culture and innovation that embodied early Zillow. As we grow and get into new businesses, the company will evolve and I certainly hope in positive ways. Some new processes and approaches will be needed as we go down the transaction funnel.

  6. "Amazing Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Started working at Zillow and have been promoted within short time. Amazing benefits. Free snacks. Good work environment

    Cons

    Still navigating through the hoops to achieve my career goals.

    Zillow Response

    October 18, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review - we are glad you are having a good experience at Zillow! I am glad you are focused on your career goals. We take careers very seriousily here and have lots of internal resources to help. If you have any questions please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

  7. "Great company for the motivated"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High-growth business that recognizes and paths high-performers. Culture and leadership are second-to-none.

    Cons

    Executive development initiatives were lacking.

    Zillow Response

    June 25, 2019Vice President, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for the great review. The team puts in a lot of effort to ensure our culture and leadership are best in class. I am happy to hear your experience reflects that effort. We are currently building out the next phase of our Leadership Development Program and it sounds like you have some insights to share about executive development. If you have a moment to share those insights, please reach out to stevec@zillowgroup.com. Thank you again for your feedback and best of luck with your future endeavors. Steve Capezza - Vice President, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

  8. "Director"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, cool projects and approchability of executive staff.

    Cons

    Hard to make as much money as a new hire if you have been here for a while in a non sales role. While the 360 annual review is amazing, for people who have moved up fast the financial opportunity is limiting over a long period of time.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    June 4, 2018COO

    Thank you for the review, and the feedback. I'm glad you are happy here! - Amy (COO)

  9. Helpful (16)

    "Finance & Accounting - Sink or Swim culture. No Training or Support."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accountant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow

    Pros

    Lots of free food. Nice view from the office and good location. Zillow name looks good on a resume.

    Cons

    Little to no support from managers and supervisors. Management talks a big game but I didn't see them act out the values in reality. The culture is completely lacking in support and training. If you can't hack it, you will be let go. And the bar is set really high, because almost everybody below the manager level is in their twenties and doesn't have a family (or a life!), workaholism was common in Finance. This is just a huge bureaucratic (and publicly traded) company now. How much creativity can really come from that?

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    January 12, 2016

    I'm sorry to hear this. Supporting career development and work/life balance is a huge priority for us, and it's unfortunate you don't feel that you experienced this in your time here. Best of luck in your next job. - Amy (COO)

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best tech company in Seattle, hands down"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is fantastic leadership from the founders and the C-level executives. I have faith they are making the right decisions. It is great that our company is still controlled by the founders even though we are public. We never ever do anything just to make the quarter. We are doing really cool stuff to transform a fascinating industry, and there is a ton of runway ahead of us. We have lots of resources to support great ideas. Our culture is extremely strong and well defined. People really get our values, and we try hard to live them. The people here are very smart, very capable, very hardworking, and very nice. We have access to the data we need to make decisions properly. We have JUST enough process to support our growth, and no more. Benefits are finally getting to be competitive. Good IT hardware and software. Standing desks and Aeron chairs. Lovely downtown office and frequent free food.

    Cons

    Pay outside of the tech team is not competitive, and even tech has trouble competing. Resource allocation across the company is imperfect for new and for existing headcount. Sometimes we think that communicating a lot is the same as being transparent. It can be hard to get stuff done if you aren't located in Seattle.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    September 23, 2015

    Thank you for the detailed feedback and review! We really appreciate the transparency and specifics. I'm thrilled you are overall happy here, but I will look into addressing some of your concerns. - Amy (COO)

Found 18 reviews