Zillow Sales Executive Reviews

Updated 20 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
11 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great pay. Awesome culture and benefits!

    Cons

    Different teams are not one the same page

    Zillow Response

    July 31, 2020Zillow

    Thanks for the shout out here. We take pride in our leadership, culture and innovation, while we know we have more work to do here, we're pleased that have a positive experience on our team. - VP, Recruiting

  2. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is great. Company is extremely healthy.

    Cons

    It's a grind. The role is both sales executive and sales development.

    Zillow Response

    July 30, 2020Zillow

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm proud to hear that you're enjoying yourself at Zillow Group. I appreciate how hard the work we do can be -- particularly when we're growing and striving to continuously improve. I encourage you and your team to communicate openly with leadership about your workload and ensure you're taking the time you need to be happy and healthy. Thanks again! - Stephen Capezza


  3. "Workplace Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture, Work Hard Play Hard

    Cons

    Leadership, work life at times

    Zillow Response

    July 15, 2020VP, Recruiting

    Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback about working at Zillow. We take pride in our leadership, culture and innovation, and we're pleased that have a positive experience on our team.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Sales"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great Pay! 7k/month commissions at best

    Cons

    cut throat environment where employees stepped over each other for success. To sell and survive, you'll end up over promising and under delivering

    Zillow Response

    June 16, 2020VP, Premier Agent Sales

    Our sales team is most certainly a high-producing group. The team works hard and it's teamwork that fuels our success. I'm disappointed to hear that this was not your experience, as that is not the type of team culture we work hard to cultivate. We take all feedback seriously and will follow-up with team leaders with this insight. If you have anything further to share, please feel free to reach out to me. Best of luck with your future endeavors. - Stephen Capezza

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Support System"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive, Premier Agent in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Environment, Benefits, Team Inclusion

    Cons

    This position is the hardest job I’ve ever hard, just due to the nature of the type of sale

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    March 17, 2020CPO

    It's exciting to hear that your time with Zillow has been rewarding. "Hardest job" combined with "best team experience" is a powerful balance. The expectations can be high. But in an environment of support and you say, inclusion, the effort can be really rewarding. Thank you for your dedication. And we'll continue to ensure this remains a place where everyone feels supported and valued. If you ever want to share your experiences with me directly please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com - Dan Spaulding

  6. Helpful (7)

    "Sales Executive - Irvine"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food Fridays, unlimited drink/snacks. They draw you in with the "amazing culture" "opportunities for growth" but when you get there you see the real truth. Literally saw the reality after training.

    Cons

    Micromanagement to the tee, hover over you to make calls. We get it, it's our job to dial so stop hovering. Miss 3/5 months and you are gone. Its a factory farm of employees. Everyone is a number. People get axed right and left. There is a reason why everyone moves seats at months end because they fire people. There is a reason why the veterans there don't really talk with new hires because they know they most likely will be gone in a few months. Very interesting dynamic. All leads have been called so much that realtors hate Zillow marketing calls.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review, based on your experience as a Sales Executive. As you mention there are a lot of office perks that come with the role here at ZG and I’m glad you enjoyed them. When you mention micromanagement, specific to dials and missing quotas, that is clearly not the way that we want our leadership style to be perceived. Our team takes great pride in a servant leadership style and we focus on empowering our team as much as possible. This does not sound like it was the case based on your review and I want to hear more about what you experienced during your time here so we can improve. High activity, effort and output are a key ingredient to being successful in a revenue-based role but that should not mean hovering over your shoulder. Lastly, around your comment regarding attrition, this is not in line with what we see in the Orange County office. The retention on our team is very high over the past 6+ months, and we’ve invested a lot of resources in our sales productivity tools to help our team become more effective and efficient. As I mentioned earlier, I would like to hear more about what you experienced so please feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Best of luck to you in 2020 and your next opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Sinking ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do have free water and snacks

    Cons

    CEO, Spencer Rascoff left, President, Greg Schwartz left, Top strategic executive, Carey Armstrong left. The real estate industry turned on Zillow because they became a broker, home buyer, lender, title company and the company that will cut out realtors.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    February 19, 2020Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your review. It’s beneficial to hear from current and past employees, on what may be communication gaps, we need to sure up internally. Zillow has always, and continues to listen to our Partners (Agents/Brokers), as it relates to providing our Customers (consumers) a seamless real estate experience. As someone that joined Zillow Group three years ago, it is truly a reality that this is the case, from our days of having three hundred employees in Concierge, solely here for helping Agents/Brokers connect with Customers, to consistently working side by side with Agents/Brokers in all aspects of our platform. Zillow and Agents/Brokers are aligned on the journey of ensuring a delightful experience for our Customers. If you’d like to discuss further, please reach out to me at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company great leadership

    Cons

    Wish there was more flexibility to work remote

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    January 2, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review regarding your time here at Zillow Group. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience with our leadership team in the 2 years you spent here in our OC office. If you have any additional suggestions or feedback feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Wishing you lots of success in 2020! Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Company changes make sales reps expendable"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks, great insurance, relatively flexible PTO once accrued.

    Cons

    I eventually left because the most valuable portion of my territory was removed in a 24 hour period. We were not told of this change. After being a successful sales rep for 3 years I came to terms that I would not be able to be successful with the current state of the company and the tools that were available to me. Because of the limited opportunity, the culture on sales floor went from a "One Team" environment to a "do whatever it takes", even at the expense of the people sitting next to you. Increasing drama and paranoia among reps, even what I would equate to stealing from each other. The reasons I joined the team were no longer apparent so I made the sad decision to leave.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    December 5, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your review. As you were employed by Zillow for three years, you were definitely accustomed to how quickly things can evolve on our platform, for the benefit of our customers. Although, we always strive to communicate proactively and transparently, moving fast, can have its implications. Thank you for this feedback, as we will work to improve these types of communications moving forward. Ann Sobil, Senior Director ZPA Sales

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Culture Leadership The company really valued my work/life balance and compensated me well.

    Cons

    Some management weren't as helpful as others.

    Zillow Response

    November 30, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate hearing your positive thoughts on work/life balance, and that your outlook on our culture, benefits, and leadership were all positive! As leaders, we always strive to ensure we are all there to support and develop the individuals on our team. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't always experience this to be the case. If you'd like to connect to share details, I can be reached at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

Found 44 reviews