Zillow "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Zillow Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "It is really a roll of the dice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, okay pay, wonderful location

    Cons

    Depends which org you end up, members of my org from directors down to IC who have been there for the past 5years create a super political toxic environment. Dead end career and too much negative talking.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-03-19
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Average tech company problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits Med, stock, 401K, Dental, Vision -Great opportunities to learn and grow with Linkedin classes, manager trainings, conference budgets etc. - Direct manager is great and supportive when needed - Collaborators are skilled and eager to work together to get the work done

    Cons

    There are a lot of typical tech company problems and some that are unique to Zillow. - Hours: expect to work 50-60 hours, not 40 - Not family friendly - Turnover is high even for tech - Firings are common - Fast turnarounds with lots of churn on work - Teams are overextended and sometimes, unhappy - Lots of production, not a lot of creative work - 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving little time to design - Too many meetings. This is a big one. Here is the typical approval process: A project will need to be approved by your manager (very typical and necessary), then in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr (no problem), and in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr's mgr (am I in the movie Office Space? Why can't this be in the same meeting?), then pitched to stakeholders all in the span of 2 days and incorporating all mgr feedback along the way. This happens about 3 rounds a project and never happens in the same meeting. After that, it's simple math. You must schedule 4 separate meetings for each of the 3 rounds of feedback, that's 12 meetings for a month long project. Let's say you are assigned to 6-10 projects. That's conservatively, 72 meetings for 6 projects a month divided by 20 working days which equals 3-4 mgr meetings a day plus all the normal manager 1 on 1s, team meetings and company meetings. That's why you're in 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving 2-4 hours for design.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-03-09

    Zillow Response

    March 17, 2020CPO

    Thank you for your years of dedication to the company and your teams. As a 5 year veteran, you have seen a lot of changes, and right now, we're in the midst of one of the biggest changes yet. There are both exciting and challenging things ahead, but this requires new ways of doing things and working together. Specifically, as we move fast and work hard, efficiency is key. I encourage you to address this within your team and be vocal about solutions, especially given your strong relationship with your manager. Efficiency must be a priority across the company and we all need to be open to ideas here and respond. Please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com if you ever want to share your thoughts. - Dan Spaulding

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    I love working at Zillow. Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    Some of the perks have been declining over the years, but its still a great place to be.

    Zillow2020-01-15

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Chief Analytics Officer

    Thanks for the feedback, and glad the culture and work has been a good fit for you. It's a fun time to be innovating in the real estate space. As you know, we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0; this change is driving more analysis of our spend so that we can make sure we're operationally excellent, however we continue to grow our team and increase the investment in our technology and tools. If you would like to discuss more, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Stan stan@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (28)

    "Data Services is a Dumpster Fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Integration Analyst in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zillow has great benefits The rest of the company seems to abide by core values The company (not team) has exciting potential for growth

    Cons

    I have been on this team a long time and have seen it go nowhere but downhill. Just in the past months 4 people have announced their departure just within the Assessment team of Data Services. And it is no secret that more will soon follow suit. If anyone in the C-Level reads this it is 100% a rejection of the teams senior management. Any other explanation is simply false. It began with these 4, and many more are now looking to get out. The teams senior managers are nothing but a clique of old school business people who's values are opposite to those of Zillows. They work to protect themselves and not those under them. If you are not one of their chosen 'favorites' you will go nowhere. This was 100% apparent in the latest promotions on the team. Everyone saw through the process and everyone knew who was going to be promoted before the process even started. The hiring process was biased and unfair from the start. People do not want to work for shady, dishonest people and your continued toleration of this team's leadership is jeopardizing the whole project. Survey after survey comes and nothing changes. Low scores across the board. The managers want to point fingers but cannot point it at themselves. They are the problem. They pretend that no other people can do this job or understand the data but them, but the reality is that assessment data is messy but ultimately uncomplicated. Any person versed in data could lead this team to be better both in terms of morale and the data itself. None of the managers are technical and only slow the process down and interject themselves in processes to seem like they are important. Morale is at an all time low on the team and people are burned out. If you are thinking of applying to this team because of the prospect of working for Zillow you should think again and look elsewhere. The novelty of working here soon wears off as this team is not in line with Zillow. You will see and talk to other people who love Zillow, their teams, and their managers. But you will not find that on this team.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-12-11
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stands by core values, opportunity for growth, focused attention on investing in and supporting employees, great culture, great benefits.

    Cons

    Do not have any at present.

    Zillow2019-11-08

    Zillow Response

    November 9, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review - we are glad you are enjoying your ZG experience. If there is ever anything you think we could do differently please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com...we always appreciate thoughts on how to improve.

    Continue reading
  6. "Smart and caring leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Growing really fast and changing rapidly.

    Zillow2019-07-22

    Zillow Response

    July 23, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear you had a very positive experience. We are indeed growing fast and changing quickly, but we view this as a positive. Our business is constantly evolving and we are never standing still. This is a unique environment and best suited for those who are willing to change and evolve with the business. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Turnover rate for sales is around 70% (no, seriously)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch on Fridays, great benefits, gym reimbursement, free snacks.

    Cons

    I stayed around 6 months. At first, everything was great; they do the old smoke and mirrors trick- free lunch! gym reimbursement! tons of $$ if you hit quota! But the reality is: everyone is extremely stressed about hitting quota and it creates a negative office environment. The well is very poisoned here. I felt like after a month of training and traveling to Seattle, the smoke screen was gone and I realized I had made a mistake accepting an offer. You basically have to hit quota 3 times or you're gone. The quota is pretty high at $8,000 and you're selling to real estate agents that either hate Zillow and have burned by the product before or don't have the money to buy it. A lot of people I know are "on plan" meaning they have to hit 3 months in a row or they're gone, and only 2 out of the 7 people I trained with are still employed here (by choice or not). I personally left because the stress and lack of job security wasn't worth it. None of the managers came and said goodbye to me when I put in my two weeks (which, they tell you to wrap it up within 10-15 min of giving notice, but at least they pay you for the two weeks), which is whatever, but just contributes to the "you are extremely replaceable and ultimately don't matter here" sales culture. I could probably go on, but if you're on the fence about applying...don't. It's monotonous, some managers can be micromanagers, and it just really sucked to work here. Although I took a pay cut at my new job, I feel so much happier and less stressed.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-02

    Zillow Response

    July 2, 2019Senior Director of Sales

    I appreciate you taking time to review our company and team. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the benefits and perks here at Zillow Group. It’s unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time as an employee. As you know, Zillow Group is a fast-paced and rapidly growing company. We raise our bar every year with our performance and expectations of ourselves and our sales teams. The numbers you outline in your review detailing a 70% turnover rate is not accurate for our sales team. I take your feedback and concerns seriously and am happy to hop on a call 949-398-1610 or feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com if you want to discuss any other challenges or ideas you may have regarding our company or team. We are always open to feedback from current and past employees. I wish you the best of luck in your current opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director of Sales

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Should have been better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Human Resources Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Snacks. Great benefits if you’re a FTE.

    Cons

    One of their main core values is to be transparent, “turn on the lights”, but my experience was quite the opposite. I was left in the dark, pitch black. Zero transparency. Being on contract you of course know there is a chance that it could end, but normally they give you notice a good time in advance... not three days. Now, not only did that occur, which honestly isn’t the issue at all, but the reasoning that was told to me was because of streamlining, which ok I totally understand.... until I literally saw my job posted on indeed the very next day. HRBP is the department employees go to for concerns, questions, performance growth, opportunities etc, and instead of having a learning conversation with me, they just made up some excuse and couldn’t even give me any constructive feedback. Now let me back track, I was in this role for a month and a half, had very little training, as well as very little guidance and/or support. I had projects and tasks thrown at me constantly with hardly, if any guidance. I would ask questions and from certain individuals I would receive attitude, eye rolls and honestly at times, belittling. Thankfully there were a couple people who were awesome and helped me along the way, but going into work and feeling like you’re constantly walking on egg shells is a terrible feeling, on top of having no support from management. I worked extremely hard to get a role at Zillow, and I am pretty disappointed with my experience and how it turnt out. Below are some core values that I truly believe some of the team members in that department need to work on. Do the Right Thing. Include and Empower. Turn On the Lights. ZG is a Team Sport. I know so many people who work for Zillow and have nothing but great things to say so it isn’t a terrible company overall. Like all tech companies, they’re great unless you get on a not so great team...

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-06-19

    Zillow Response

    June 24, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the work you did during your contract for Zillow. It is unfortunate that you didn’t feel like you had the direction and support you needed. I appreciate your review and if you would like to give me any more feedback on how we could have communicated our expectations better please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Great benefits and company perks but soul sucking-work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can't deny that Zillow has pretty great benefits. The best health and vision insurance I've had to date. An office with amazing views of the Puget Sound and plentiful rotating snacks.

    Cons

    I can't speak for other roles or departments in the company, but if you enjoy being micromanaged and don't mind making 100+ dials a day to people who are sick of being called by Zillow then you can make some decent money. Although you'll most likely end up getting a percentage taken out of your future commission check when clients don't fulfill their contract and cancel because they're unhappy with the product.

    Zillow2019-03-07

    Zillow Response

    March 11, 2019Senior Director - Inside Sales, Seattle

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I'm glad you enjoyed the benefits and other items we provide. I appreciate your feedback regarding our sales team and what it takes to be successful. Feel free to reach out to me if there's anything else you'd like to share. Thank you again. Chris Lowe Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (16)

    "This is THE sweat shop of all sales jobs. Prepare to question your life choices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great CEO great workspace with more snacks and array of beverages than you could ever imagine. View from any floor is amazing.

    Cons

    It's really disappointing because i have a lot of friends that aren't in sales that work for Zillow and they can't stop talking about how much they love it. Zillows core values and direction and culture is absolutely amazing UNLESS you are on the sales floor. It is a shark eat shark environment where you can't trust anybody. Everyone is always trying to figure out ways to snake your deals, which results in a lot of bad blood and a pretty contentious relations with most of your coworkers. So if you like being a shady sales person in a turn-and-burn environment, this is a great job for you Training is the biggest joke imaginable and barely applies to what you are actually selling. All the managers focus on are daily activity metrics since they are under the impression the more dials you make the more business you will close, which isn't true. But if you don't hit your INSANE dial/activity metrics every day, then you will get a firm talking to. We are talking on average about 100 calls/day and another 150 talk minutes on top of it. You don't have time to strategically prospect and build relationships. I barely feel like i have time to take lunch. On top of that, it takes 70% of the team until the last day of the month to hit quota, so the stress literally never subsides. I stress like MAD when on vacation because you literally need every day possible to hit your goals. This is absolutely not how a job should be. I never felt able to breathe and cruise for just a day or two. The best part is that at any point in time you literally only have 3 month of job security. You are put on a PIP if you miss two month in a row (even by a minuscule amount) at that point you MUST hit 2 consecutive months to not get fired. I have seen so many talented people who just had a few bad months get let go. I have always wondered why Zillow Sales doesn't focus on developing existing talent. They much prefer to do hiring classes of 30 people every couple months and just see who can actually last. The turnover is absolutely mind blowing and i'd say the average tenure of an SE is 8-12 months. The product is hard to sell because so many agents have been burned by Zillow. What you do when you invest in Premier Agent is called GAMBLING. I didn't feel comfortable selling agents on a product that probably isn't going to make them money. It felt like i was stealing from good people.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-03-06

    Zillow Response

    March 13, 2019SVP Premier Agent

    I’m disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Zillow Group. As you note, sales can be high pressure – that is the nature of the role. The training we provide aims to alleviate some of the pressures by making sure our sales people are fully equipped for their day-to-day work. We do solicit feedback and make adjustments to our training and recruitment practices with an eye towards ever-improving. When you were employed with us I hope you provided feedback to help us in our efforts. We are never satisfied and are always changing and trying new things to be better, which is at the core of who we are, and what I love most about Zillow Group- if you would like to discuss live please reach out to me at susan@zillowgroup.com. Susan Daimler SVP, Premier Agent

    Continue reading
Found 62 reviews