Zillow "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Zillow Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
58 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, good culture, care about employees, solid work-life balance

    Cons

    Recently tightened costs, mostly a positive, but at times a detriment.

    Zillow2020-01-03

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Chief Analytics Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. Compensation, culture, work content and work-life balance are, of course, a few of the most important things to get right, and glad that you believe we've done so. Regarding costs, as you know, we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0, and this change is driving more analysis of our spend so that we can make sure we're operationally excellent. Investing as much as we are in multiple lines of consumer innovation is only possible if we're as streamlined as possible in each one. While being streamlined, we continue to grow our team and increase the investment in our technology and tools while maintaining an amazing culture. If you would like to discuss more, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Stan stan@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Culture Leadership The company really valued my work/life balance and compensated me well.

    Cons

    Some management weren't as helpful as others.

    Zillow2019-11-23

    Zillow Response

    November 30, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate hearing your positive thoughts on work/life balance, and that your outlook on our culture, benefits, and leadership were all positive! As leaders, we always strive to ensure we are all there to support and develop the individuals on our team. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't always experience this to be the case. If you'd like to connect to share details, I can be reached at 206-348-1794. Ann Sobil, Senior Director, Zillow Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Startup Soul - Big Business Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - strong development culture - emphasis on inclusion and diversity - good balance of code quality and feature development - constantly pushing the business forward, never resting on laurels - high emphasis on work life balance - good snacks - tight team culture - excellent communication from upper/middle management to individual contributors

    Cons

    - constant change can be a little tiring

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-11-15

    Zillow Response

    November 30, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your comments and strong engagement in our Vancouver office. Vancouver is one of our smaller engineering centers, but very important work is focused here. We are proud of our strong development culture and our work on equity and belonging, among other accomplishments and programs. Appreciate your efforts to support these programs. We do have a lot going on at the company, and your comments on change and communication challenges are heard. If you have ideas on how we could improve please discuss further with Jon and me. I believe the team is settling in nicely with the important projects they are driving with our teams in Seattle and Irvine.

    Continue reading
  4. "Fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great company culture - Competitive pay - Great work/life balance (interns didn't have tons of pressure put on them) - Office has a music room and a game room - Just a generally happy place to work

    Cons

    - They house undergrad interns in apartments with shared bedrooms, so prepare to sleep in a twin and share a room.

    Zillow2019-10-30

    Zillow Response

    December 2, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your comments after your internship with us in Seattle. I am particularly proud of our internship program, which we started in our first year as a small startup and have grown significantly and with great results for our interns and their host teams. Glad you noticed in your time with us the strong culture and other fun and important benefits of working at Zillow. Thanks too for the feedback on the housing we fund for the summer. We try to provide options close to the office which given the high rent require some roommate situations. We will look at other options we can provide in the future as well as be better about communicating these options earlier. Hope to see you back at Zillow once you are finished with your college program. Keep in touch!

    Continue reading
  5. "A company that cares about its employees and is not afraid to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Awesome office, benefits, and perks - 401k match - med insurance w/ yearly allowance - WFH - Health allowance - discretionary time off [unlimited vacay as long as approved] - tech vending machine, monthly catered lunch - Zillow tower is beautiful - etc, just to name a few 2. Great work life balance Work hours are flexible as long as you do your duty You can do 6-3 days, come in at 9:30 for stand up and leave at 3 PM if you need to 3. Ease of changing teams Company acknowledges people want new challenges and even provides guidance on how to do so successfully. People periodically move around different teams. 4. Great mission and attractive product Zillow Offers is at the forefront of transforming the real estate Overall, the company is in the process of changing this mid-large size company into a huge enterprise centered around all things Real Estate. No longer just a media company, but going into finance and buy/sell-ling homes with Zillow Home Loans and Zillow Offers -- all things Real Estate

    Cons

    Company is going through a lot of changes trying to be at the forefront of all the change 1. Suddenly hired thousands of people in Seattle office, which is causing a bit of friction among people 2. Market is yet to be convinced and our stock prices are dropping 3. Budget cuts are happening for things like holiday parties 3. Some experienced engineers are leaving due to compensation not being as high as they anticipated

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-10-24

    Zillow Response

    October 27, 2019CTO

    Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. We are going through a lot of exciting changes with our business and we do realize that the pace of change can be challenging. I am glad you called out the more frequent Q&A sessions we are doing to help answer more questions and give updates. I think you might have overestimated the number of people we have recently hired in Seattle, but you are right that we are going through some serious growth and that too can be challenging. Our business is shifting to a different model which is driving some more careful expense planning and that can have some impact, so if you see us putting more scrutiny around spending, that is why. We will have some fun holiday celebration, just with a bit more scaled back from the larger events we have had in the past. Again, thank you for your feedback and please feel free to reach out to me if you want to talk directly about anything that is on your mind. -David

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Lead 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, great work culture

    Cons

    I don't think anything stands out here

    Zillow2019-10-21

    Zillow Response

    October 27, 2019CTO

    Thank you for your positive comment and all you are doing to make Zillow a great place to work. If you have more detailed feedback don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly. - David

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Computer vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applied Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture work life balance and great project

    Cons

    The company as a whole is not as much technology oriented as Google

    Zillow2019-09-29

    Zillow Response

    October 10, 2019Chief Analytics Officer

    Glad to hear you're excited about our computer vision work which is being applied in several different application areas. And, yes, we work hard to build a collaborative, energetic, employee-centric culture, so I'm glad to see you call it out as important. Since I sit within data & analytics, I find most of my daily work involves technology and science-related issues and decisions, and I can't comment on the comparison of your particular experience here relative to that at another company. Probably worth noting that your specific comparison is between what I think of as more horizontal (across business sectors) versus vertical (within a specific business sector) businesses, and vertical businesses often tend to have more involvement in the physical world. This deeper involvement in the physical world comes with additional areas of focus and competency (relative to horizontal businesses) which means technical focus is just one of many necessary pillars. But, IMO, these physical world considerations create the need for even more interesting technical and analytical solutions (e.g., putting a price on a home that you're willing to stand behind with your own $ and then managing the risk associated with that decision). So, pros and cons to those two types of businesses IMO. Happy to talk more with you in person if you'd like sometime. - Stan

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic at allowing you to grow as an engineer. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Not a lot of cons. There are some stressful times, but that's the nature of software development. Does a great job at making sure it's not too stressful.

    Zillow2019-09-03

    Zillow Response

    September 19, 2019CTO

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience working at Zillow Group. I know a lot of people share your enthusiasm for the company and what we doing. Career growth and work-life balance are indeed important parts of our engineering culture. If you ever feel the stress of the important work you and your team are doing reaches a point of concern, please work with your manager(s) and team members to discuss this. We like the fast pace and high intensity of our work, but this is a long journey and not a sprint. Thanks again. - David

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work that has a promising outlook."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits - The benefits Zillow offers are numerous. Free snacks/drinks, gym reimbursement, time-off (vacation, parental leave), etc. Culture - Zillow really cares about its employees. There are various networks to foster a sense of belonging for marginalized groups, career development opportunities, emphasis on well-being and work-life balance, etc. I also love that despite being a mid sized company, it's still got a tech startup feel to it. Internal Mobility - Plenty of opportunities for career development. Zillow really invests in the growth of their employees. Innovation - Zillow is constantly iterating and never stagnating. I love that things are constantly changing, it really keeps you on your feet. I also really believe in the vision the company has. I see a lot of potential and Zillow definitely is not missing the opportunity to execute on it.

    Cons

    Contact-to-Hire - I started at Zillow as a contract-to-hire employee. The contract-to-hire process was the worst. Despite being identical in function to every other Zillow employee, I felt like I was treated as a 2nd class citizen while a contractor. Contractors get terrible benefits, are excluded from certain events/activities, and when you are finally converted you lose your hire date - so all the time you spent as a contractor doesn't count. One thing that really made me feel excluded as a contractor was the fact I didn't get a z-Pal, which is a program they have for new hires that pairs them with someone from outside their team to bond with and introduce them to the company in a more informal way. The only reason people have to go through this unfortunate process is because management wants to make easier to let employees go if they don't live up to their expectations (my manager admitted this), which is a pretty bleak way of looking at it. Growing Pains - As things scale up, Zillow has experienced growing pains in a few areas. I feel like leadership really needs to step it up on transparency and communication. As an individual contributor I feel like I'm in the dark on what's going on. Sometimes changes happen and I find out weeks later that something had changed. So not only do I not have the chance to provide feedback and be involved in the process, I don't even get looped in on the change. Lower and middle-management could work on communicating out the direction and vision for our org.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-30

    Zillow Response

    August 1, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review. People join Zillow as contractors for a variety of reasons - and since contractors are not Zillow employees we can't include them in certain events and programs. We do not utilize contract to hire as a practice, each contractor is brought in for a set body of work over a defined period. If at the conclusion of that work we have a permanent opportunity than we look their skills with available positions. Your feedback is helpful so we can continue to evolve our communication approach with anyone that touches ZG.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great company with a great culture but lacking in the treatment of contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    - They really have an amazing group of people. I've worked cross-functionally on multiple projects and only rarely have I found people too busy or not willing to help. - There's always something new. You will never be bored working here. Plus, you can pursue what you want with, typically, much encouragement from your peers. - They offer great work-life balance. In fact, they discourage overworking and teams make an effort to adjust if the work gets to be too much.

    Cons

    - Contractors don't feel valued from the perspective of the company. After talking with a few other contractors/FTE, as a whole, contractors are viewed and feel replaceable. From the perspective of the team, they are essential and necessary but the lack of effort to convert and lack of transparency from upper management on the need (or lack of need) for contractors makes it feel like as a contractor, you have no say at all in your future and have no security at the company. - There's a lack of resources for contractors. The HRBP is a good source of basic HR info and your manager is a good source of info for matters related to your work but there's nothing on how to effectively convert to a FTE or advance your career even while working a contractor role.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-19

    Zillow Response

    July 23, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review. People come to ZG as contractors for a variety of reasons, and not everyone wants to join full time. If you feel you weren't considered for an FTE role and wish to be please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com and I will connect you with the recruiting team.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 120 reviews