Zillow Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 141 of over 1,222 reviews

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
282 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have a great work-life balance(in 124 reviews)

  • "Great company with great benefits(in 73 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "none / work-life balance is great and the stock is great too(in 20 reviews)

  • "Then upper management says asks why security hasn't solved for X problem(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Pretty good tech company

      Jan 21, 2021 - Senior Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours and work life balance

      Cons

      Large org, so promotion opportunities are slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      As great as our benefits are, we believe that having opportunities to grow your career is the most important aspect of a job. It's unfortunate that you didn't experience this with us. Zillow is growing fast and big enough for everyone, with more room to grow. -VP, Recruiting

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work,Life, Balance

      Jan 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and Work life balance

      Cons

      Going fully remote/hybrid has changed the mood and outlook for the future

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      While we reimagine how to buy and sell homes, Zillow is also seizing the opportunity to reimagine how we work. Thank you for what you shared here, and for acknowledging the positive change that our new distributed workforce has brought to our employees. -VP, Recruiting

    3. 5.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      The Workplace Culture is Above and Beyond

      Jan 12, 2021 - Anonymous Contractor in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a great work-life balance. Lunches are provided weekly. Full-time employees (not contractors) get 100% covered healthcare and free mental health services. Transparency between the employees and upper management is a core value. Inclusion is very important and they have a very high diversity score.

      Cons

      Contractors are often not eligible to participate in team-building exercises or other workplace events (i.e. joining Affinity Groups).

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about being a contract worker at Zillow. We still strive to provide a positive experience for everyone and I'm glad that the culture and our core values seem to have made a lasting impression on you. Perhaps our paths will cross again soon! -VP, Recruiting

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome place to work!

      Jan 11, 2021 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great senior leadership - work/life balance and flexibility - great ppl and culture - changing the real estate industry

      Cons

      - fast growing company that needs more process to support

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      There's never been a better time to be part of Zillow. We are transforming our business model, our industry and even the real estate transaction. You are correct that more processes are needed and we should be constantly evolving and challenging ourselves. Thanks for being part of our journey! -VP, Recruiting

    5. 4.0
      Former Intern

      ok for intern, return decision takes forever

      Jan 17, 2021 - Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall work-life balance is okay. think about 40~50 hours per week. Many (not all) colleagues are nice and collaborative. You still learn many useful technologies (python, spark, ml, etc..) Permanent remote working can be good for parents, though young people lack opportunities to connect in the workplace.

      Cons

      Many 2020 summer interns haven't heard about any return decisions by December. It really sucks. Some hires in the team wouldn't be considered very fair. Certain director's work visions can be questionable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      VP, Recruiting

      Hi there, this is Jasjeet Thind, SVP of AI and Analytics at Zillow. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. I appreciate feedback about how we're staying connected in the virtual environment and if you're willing, I'd like to take this conversation offline with you to get some more details on your experience as an intern on the team. Please reach out to me at jasjeett@zillowgroup.com if you'd like to connect. - Jasjeet Thind, SVP of AI & Analytics

    6. 5.0
      Former Intern

      good internship

      Dec 21, 2020 - Software Internship in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      has good work life balance

      Cons

      no no no no no

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Zillow is good but it leaves a lot to be desired.

      Dec 16, 2020 - Market Analyst in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good benefits - Great work-life balance

      Cons

      -internal mobility is not great -Pay is OK but not great

      4 people found this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      If you are looking to grow into a new opportunity, I encourage you to speak with your manager or our Internal Mobility team and begin to explore your next chapter here at Zillow. The Internal Mobility team is made up a recruiters dedicated specifically to helping our employees identify new roles, opportunities and even point you in the right direction if there are skills or additional development needed. Please reach out, as we are here to help. -VP, Recruiting

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work environment

      Dec 1, 2020 - Senior Database Developer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mostly great co-workers. Good management. Very nice facilities. Very good work/life balance.

      Cons

      It is less diverse than one would expect from a high tech player in Seattle. They do a good job hiring, paying, and promoting women, which is good. but it's very white. Cross-leg collaboration should be better, too.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. One of the things that makes me most proud to work at Zillow is the commitment to a culture of equity and belonging. While I think we do a lot of things right, we're never done, we never "arrive" and we will always strive to build a more diverse and inclusive workplace. -VP of Recruiting

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      n/a

      Nov 2, 2020 - Market Analyst in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good culture and work life balance

      Cons

      need to be generally more transparent with workforce

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      I wish you luck in your next step. Thanks for taking a moment to share a review. -VP of Recruiting

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great workplace

      Oct 6, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance with advancements within company

      Cons

      Too many snacks to choose from when in office

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      If too many snacks is the worst issue, I think we're in a good place. But ensuring we're focusing on creating opportunities for employees to learn and grow is more essential than ever. I'm glad Zillow has been a good experience for you and hope that you continue to grow your career with us. - VP of Recruiting

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 141 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zillow Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zillow? Share Your Experiences

    Zillow logo
    or