Zillow Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 21 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
227 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have a great work-life balance(in 124 reviews)

  • "Great company with great benefits(in 73 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "none / work-life balance is great and the stock is great too(in 20 reviews)

  • "Then upper management says asks why security hasn't solved for X problem(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Joined for the Culture, Stayed for the Culture

      3 Sep 2020 - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of internal growth of employee resource groups in the past couple of years, giving minority groups the ability to build a community and push for a more diverse and inclusive environment - Internal mobility program also allows for personal growth - Great work-life balance with many in management setting the example - Lots of great mentorship opportunities, either as a mentor or a mentee - Benefits are excellent, especially in terms of health insurance - Company handled quarantine awesomely, business looks strong for the foreseeable future - Work-from-home for nearly all employees through the end of 2020, with moves to allow for teams to be more flexible on WFH in 2021 - Volunteering and charity donations are encouraged, and can be matched by the company (up to $100/yr per employee)

      Cons

      - Like most companies, your direct manager determines how much of the company culture is applied to your day-to-day. Many are great, however, there are certain teams which may be run a bit differently, so work-life balance may not be enforced or modeled by leadership there. - Lots of "happy hours" and drinking alcohol during celebrations. There have been some moves made in the past year to address this, by offering non-alcoholic drinks at functions, and covid has reduced the rest of the events, so there may be changes in the future. - Work-from-home is not work-from-remote, as your compensation is based on where you live. So moving out of CA or WA to the midwest would invoke a salary reduction - Not much diversity in the exec team, even after several years of "addressing it" - Humongous gap in terms of compensation between lowest paid employees and C-suite

      2 people found this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      Glad to hear it. Thanks for taking a moment to let us know how we're doing. - VP, Recruiting

    2. 5.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      The Workplace Culture is Above and Beyond

      12 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Contractor in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a great work-life balance. Lunches are provided weekly. Full-time employees (not contractors) get 100% covered healthcare and free mental health services. Transparency between the employees and upper management is a core value. Inclusion is very important and they have a very high diversity score.

      Cons

      Contractors are often not eligible to participate in team-building exercises or other workplace events (i.e. joining Affinity Groups).

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about being a contract worker at Zillow. We still strive to provide a positive experience for everyone and I'm glad that the culture and our core values seem to have made a lasting impression on you. Perhaps our paths will cross again soon! -VP, Recruiting

    3. 4.0
      Former Intern

      ok for intern, return decision takes forever

      17 Jan 2021 - Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall work-life balance is okay. think about 40~50 hours per week. Many (not all) colleagues are nice and collaborative. You still learn many useful technologies (python, spark, ml, etc..) Permanent remote working can be good for parents, though young people lack opportunities to connect in the workplace.

      Cons

      Many 2020 summer interns haven't heard about any return decisions by December. It really sucks. Some hires in the team wouldn't be considered very fair. Certain director's work visions can be questionable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      VP, Recruiting

      Hi there, this is Jasjeet Thind, SVP of AI and Analytics at Zillow. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. I appreciate feedback about how we're staying connected in the virtual environment and if you're willing, I'd like to take this conversation offline with you to get some more details on your experience as an intern on the team. Please reach out to me at jasjeett@zillowgroup.com if you'd like to connect. - Jasjeet Thind, SVP of AI & Analytics

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome place to work!

      11 Jan 2021 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great senior leadership - work/life balance and flexibility - great ppl and culture - changing the real estate industry

      Cons

      - fast growing company that needs more process to support

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      There's never been a better time to be part of Zillow. We are transforming our business model, our industry and even the real estate transaction. You are correct that more processes are needed and we should be constantly evolving and challenging ourselves. Thanks for being part of our journey! -VP, Recruiting

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Pretty good tech company

      21 Jan 2021 - Senior Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours and work life balance

      Cons

      Large org, so promotion opportunities are slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      As great as our benefits are, we believe that having opportunities to grow your career is the most important aspect of a job. It's unfortunate that you didn't experience this with us. Zillow is growing fast and big enough for everyone, with more room to grow. -VP, Recruiting

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work,Life, Balance

      13 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and Work life balance

      Cons

      Going fully remote/hybrid has changed the mood and outlook for the future

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      While we reimagine how to buy and sell homes, Zillow is also seizing the opportunity to reimagine how we work. Thank you for what you shared here, and for acknowledging the positive change that our new distributed workforce has brought to our employees. -VP, Recruiting

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One of the best places to work in Seattle

      3 Sep 2020 - Senior Analyst in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Health, Dental, and Eye Care plans are top of the line -Benefits and perks in general at Zillow lead many larger tech companies like Amazon and Microsoft (more so before COVID-19 and WFH) -Company recognition of the importance of a sensible work-life balance -Sense of community within the company, even while working remotely -Indefinite work-from-home option -Company-wide efforts to improve WFH flexibility outside of typical 9-5 hours, especially for parents -The majority of the individuals that you work with are great people, inside and out of work. There is certainly a Zillow-factor for the type of people that are hired here. -Transparency from senior leadership -Diversity & Inclusion is highly valued and practiced

      Cons

      -Business roles do not receive the same degree of competitiveness as tech roles when it comes to compensation -As the company grows, most All Company meetings are beginning to feel more and more like stakeholder presentations compared to the exciting and inclusive update meetings held in the prior years -Upper management is largely dialing down on employee events like Holiday/Summer parties and ZG conferences to cut down on expenses, leaving company-wide morale noticeably lower than previous years -The amount of diversity seen in the workforce at Zillow does not match the amount of diversity seen in executive leadership

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      Allowing employees the flexibility to work from home indefinitely also means that opens us to being not just a great place to work in Seattle, but a great place for great talent anywhere. That's very exciting and lets us really expand our searches to ensure we're bringing in great and diverse talent. Thank you for what you shared here. You have some really great points that I will share with Crystal Tomczyk, our VP of Equity & Belonging. -VP, Recruiting

    8. 5.0
      Former Intern

      good internship

      21 Dec 2020 - Software Internship in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      has good work life balance

      Cons

      no no no no no

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent leadership and strategic direction

      3 Sep 2020 - Senior Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Leadership is focused on investment in the right areas - Radically open and honest communication about strategic priorities and decisions - Empowered to make my own decisions about what to work on, what to do differently - Most people I work with are really smart - Excellent tech stack for data professionals - Good work/life balance if you advocate for your needs

      Cons

      - No more office snacks and perks thanks to COVID :(

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      I appreciate you sharing your about your experience. Culture is much more than snacks... but snacks are always nice -- and I miss them too. Hang in there! -VP, Recruiting

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work environment

      1 Dec 2020 - Senior Database Developer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mostly great co-workers. Good management. Very nice facilities. Very good work/life balance.

      Cons

      It is less diverse than one would expect from a high tech player in Seattle. They do a good job hiring, paying, and promoting women, which is good. but it's very white. Cross-leg collaboration should be better, too.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Zillow Response

      Zillow

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. One of the things that makes me most proud to work at Zillow is the commitment to a culture of equity and belonging. While I think we do a lot of things right, we're never done, we never "arrive" and we will always strive to build a more diverse and inclusive workplace. -VP of Recruiting

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 142 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zillow Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zillow? Share Your Experiences

    Zillow logo
    or