Zopa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Zopa Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Zopa CEO Jaidev Janardana
Jaidev Janardana
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people (real diverse group who support one another)(in 11 reviews)

  • "Both are supportive and really care about work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing office with a positive & friendly atmosphere - Senior management seem approachable, open-minded and genuine - Inspiring & ethical company in its values - Opportunities to learn and develop professionally - Good work-life balance - Intelligent & hard-working people - Interesting & stimulating work

    Cons

    some inefficiencies in certain systems (like any company) but always working on improving!

    Zopa2019-06-04

    Zopa Response

    June 5, 2019Bron - Zopa

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5* review. I'm happy to hear our values are being lived and breathed across the business and you are enjoying your time at Zopa so far. See you at the company meeting!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Tech-driven culture and interesting business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant people, smart, passionate and friendly. Tech stack keep upgrading. Tech-driven culture. Interesting business model. Work in zopa give me confident about my future.

    Cons

    Chairs are not comfortable and broke a lot. Office is not cleaned properly.

    Continue reading
    Zopa2019-10-10

    Zopa Response

    October 21, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for your review, we’re very proud of our amazing culture here! Glad you’re enjoying your Zopa Journey 😊

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work - would recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, flexible working, options to move around the company.

    Cons

    Pay is not up to the market rate.

    Zopa2020-02-21
  4. "Out of date systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, nice view, free breakfast, Casual dress, decent benefits and staff events, some nice people (but nobody really makes an effort to get to know anyone outside their team.)

    Cons

    For a tech company - the technology and payments system need an update. Rigid working hours, being monitored on timekeeping, being told off for using phones - basically being treated a bit like a child.

    Zopa2020-02-09

    Zopa Response

    February 19, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    Thank you for leaving this feedback. We are always looking at ways we can implement new technologies to improve our processes and systems, and how we can support employees and provide them with an environment they can thrive in. We will take your comments into consideration and we appreciate the time you’ve taken to leave a review. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Waiting disaster to happen!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location Good view Breakfast Handful of great people to work with

    Cons

    Inexperienced managers across the business Hiring new managers or/and staff is absolutely shocking HR are patronising when they are meant to be the ones who you can turn to People are only sticking around for “bank launch” is this even going to happen, that’s the question? Nothing is confidential in the work place people will always know your business whether it be work or personal related, and then used against you. No collaborative working with managers or team members as “managers know best” They are hiring out of desperate needs as so many people are leaving from all different departments but not getting the quality of candidates to do the job. They have values set in place which mean absolutely nothing if managers or staff don’t Incorporate them. If planning on joining Zopa please rethink your choice, if you like to gossip and not get the job done then this is the place for you. This is not a place for anyone who wants to keep their mental health in check.

    Continue reading
    Zopa2020-01-19

    Zopa Response

    January 22, 2020

    We’re really saddened to hear some of these comments which go completely against what we are trying to build at Zopa and the kind of workplace we want it to be for everyone here. We would be interested in discussing these comments one on one with you to get a better insight and understanding from you. If you’re open to that, please get in touch on hr@zopa.com. Thank you for leaving this feedback as this is how we improve and we are always keen to hear people’s experiences of Zopa, no matter how hard it may be for us to hear.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Credit Risk Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast-moving; flat structure; good culture

    Cons

    Roles and responsibilities not always well-defined Office is quite cramped, facilities and equipment not great

    Continue reading
    Zopa2019-12-06

    Zopa Response

    December 16, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear you are enjoying your time at Zopa!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sinking ship, sadly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office location. Brilliant, friendly colleagues. Lots of smart people . There are some people that really care about the welfare of their colleagues.

    Cons

    Zopa have completely lost their way. When I first joined I was excited to be part of such a vibrant, caring and determined company but that feeling faded over my first year. Bad decisions have been consistently taken, for example changing the tech stack completely - isolating many of the developers who made Zopa what it was. Most have now departed. Anything bank related take top priority, understandably, but is managed and led with such incompetence. Whilst other companies obtain bank licences with (seeming) ease, Zopa can't launch a single product needed to get theirs. Products, projects, ideas are constantly shelved and replaced with workarounds and stopgaps. Infrastructure is ready to collapse. The amount of manual process is farcical. It's luck of the draw in regards to whether you'll be looked after by zopa or not. If you draw the short straw, it can be a really tough place to work. Managers are often looking to offload their pressure and shortcomings onto their direct reports and it happens all too often

    Zopa2019-12-11

    Zopa Response

    December 16, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Hello, Thank you for leaving your review and feedback for us. We’re sorry that you disagreed with our changes to the tech stack; we made these in order to future proof the system we have here, so we can adapt to the changing needs of our customers rapidly, something that as we launch the bank becomes even more important to us. We are making sure that as we launch the bank and bring new products to market, we do so responsibly, taking the time and effort to make sure our products are the best they can be. We try to support all our managers with ongoing training to make sure they know how to lead a team really well, so we’re very sorry to hear that this wasn’t your experience. We want Zopa to be place where everyone comes to work with a smile on their face, and we are always looking to listen and improve – feedback like this helps us do that, so thank you for taking the time to write your review. If you’d like to discuss your feedback further, please let us know and we can discuss it together, hr@zopa.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It's been a good introduction to the local job market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great location and view.

    Cons

    Controlling atmosphere. Can be quite cliquey

    Zopa2019-11-11

    Zopa Response

    November 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear you are enjoying your time at Zopa, I too love the location and the view with my morning coffee! See you soon.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A company losing its way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Bottom-up culture is strong; there are a lot of good people doing their best to deliver under tricky circumstances. - HR department really care about their employees; strong initiatives both professionally and personally to support staff. - Decent perks; free breakfast & healthcare, subsidised gym downstairs, flexible working. - Pay in-line with comparable firms.

    Cons

    - Given the firm's start-up roots, there is a serious lack of organisation and structure around decision-making. As such, senior leadership often act autonomously, without consideration for either their own team, or others across the firm. The thought process behind these decisions are then, more often than not, not explained to staff, leaving them confused and disenfranchised. - Existing staff, despite having had multiple interviews to make an internal transfer, have suddenly been told that the company is now under a 'hiring freeze', despite job adverts since being advertised online. For often years of service, these staff have now been rewarded with having promises broken.

    Continue reading
    Zopa2019-10-21

    Zopa Response

    October 28, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We%E2%80%99re sorry to hear you weren%E2%80%99t happy with some aspects of your experience with us. We always aim to communicate decision making clearly, and in our weekly company meetings we share key changes and updates, so that everyone is kept informed and understands why decisions have been made. We also encourage question and discussion through our anonymous postbox each week where staff can ask anyone any question (and indeed our Zopians often do ask for decisions to be explored or explained further!)We try to have an open culture here and share business changes and information frequently, so we are very sorry to hear that this wasn%E2%80%99t your experience. We care about our people and the experience you have while working here so if you are happy to do so please email us on hr@zopa.com and we would be keen to chat further..

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Couldn't recommend enough!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly and approachable people - Hardworking but relaxed culture - Benefits like friday night drinks, riverside location, free breakfast, Zocials, table tennis, summer and Xmas party! - Interesting work - Good well being activities

    Cons

    None I can think of at the moment

    Zopa2019-09-25

    Zopa Response

    October 3, 2019Bron - Zopa

    Thanks for your 5 star review. I am so happy to hear you are enjoying your time at Zopa, I too love the location and Zocials! See you soon.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 101 reviews
</>Embed