Zopa Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Zopa CEO Jaidev Janardana
Jaidev Janardana
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place and great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interesting technology great people transparency and inclusion

    Cons

    fast growing is never easy

    Continue reading

    Zopa Response

    July 2, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We're really happy to hear you are enjoying your time at Zopa!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is fun at Zopa Supportive environment People are genuine, hardworking and nice

    Cons

    There's always tons to be done - that can also be a good thing

    Continue reading

    Zopa Response

    July 2, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

  3. "Employee first company with an amazing culture to match"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people! Smart, driven, friendly, approachable. Fast paced and a high performance culture, great L&D tools, new performance management, new products and great product design team - lots to get excited about.

    Cons

    There's a lot going on - which can cause ambiguity!

    Continue reading

    Zopa Response

    July 2, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    We're really pleased to hear such positive feedback and are glad you're enjoying working at Zopa!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Probably the best design team I've worked with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, the location, the flexibility, the initiatives and development opportunities

    Cons

    A lot of the tribes work in silos - we're trying to break this but it's legacy and will take a while.

    Continue reading

    Zopa Response

    March 18, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    We're really happy to hear you are enjoying your time at Zopa and working with your team! Thanks for leaving a 5* review.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing office with friendly atmosphere. Open minded and genuine. Lot of opportunities to learn new tool and technology and to develop professionally. Work life balance. I actually love going to work.

    Cons

    Dont have any cons, keep up good work.

    Zopa Response

    March 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We're really happy to hear you are enjoying your time at Zopa!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "I actually love going to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting company to work for. Great work life balance and managers who care! Managers who share information and company meetings every Friday to keep you up to date on developments. Free breakfast and company drinks every Friday. Can honestly say this is one of the best companies I have worked for in a long time.

    Cons

    Benefits are not great, pension is alot lower then other employers and theres no death in service cover.

    Continue reading

    Zopa Response

    March 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    It's really nice for us to hear that you love coming to work. We feel we have a fun, open and collaborative environment at Zopa and comments like this mean we are on the right track. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "It had so much promise."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool office, location, people. Zopa used to be such a vibrant, friendly, challenging and exciting place to work. Friday beers, games, weekly town hall events, etc were all cool. HR were great at Zopa, and did a fantastic job. Modern, cutting edge tech, although it was often executed poorly, it sometimes made for a fulfilling role.

    Cons

    There were times where our technical advice was completely ignored by senior management. The CTO acted like a tech lead, which caused a lot of friction, and led to a lot of expensive decisions being made without adequate thought or planning. There were other times where I was under a savage amount of pressure to keep the ship afloat, while my team disappeared around me in a very short space of time. Bullying, agro, weak management, in-fighting, awful hiring practices and throwing good money after bad, ultimately led or in my opinion, will lead, to Zopa failing as a business. One of our senior managers got tickets to a Major Tennis tournament from one of our vendors, two weeks later, we were building two new physical data centers, despite having a full cloud platform. The salary was well below the industry standard, pay and performance reviews weren't taken seriously. When I left I literally doubled my base salary. I honestly feel that Zopa has spent years of effort, and a fortune of money, where in reality it has done more to develop a banking culture than a Bank.

    Continue reading
  8. "Not well organised development process, no bonuses, no clear vision of the future of the company."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Central location, some smart people.

    Cons

    Low salary, no bonuses, a lot of work related stress. Too much work, now well organised structure and processes.

  9. "Great place to work - would recommend!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zopa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, flexible working, options to move around the company.

    Cons

    Pay is not up to the market rate.

    Zopa Response

    March 5, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor

    Thanks for your review. We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Zopa and we wish you all the best in the future!

  10. "Underpaid, call centre roll"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zopa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office and location overlooking the Thames.

    Cons

    Essentially a call centre with underwriting. Very clique-y and some suspicious promotions/leavers. Seem to be rewarded promotions wise more on who you know rather than merit.

    Continue reading
Found 110 reviews
</>Embed