athenahealth Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Manager

athenahealth Manager Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Manager engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Engineering in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work - Freedom to operate - End -to-end ownership of the components/modules that we are responsible for

    Cons

    - Sometimes the pace of work can be a bit slower compared to other domains like ecommerce, retail etc.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building a good teams and good work culture, other things will follow automatically

    athenahealth2019-05-21
  2. "?????"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is great compared to other businesses in the area

    Cons

    Layoffs in the last 2 years

    athenahealth2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (9)

    "A formerly good company spiraling downward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Competitive Pay -Strong support of remote employees, work from home culture -Average to slightly above average benefits -No micro-management (at least not in my division) -(Formerly) mission-driven culture -Well stocked break rooms (including beer) -Generous employee appreciation events, $95 per-diem (for traveling employees) -By and large, people were treated with respect and dealt with fairly

    Cons

    This biggest downside to this company is that it's rapidly dissolving into a shadow of its former self. When Jonathan Bush, Todd & Ed Park, and other founding leadership ran the company, the vision a purpose of the place was downright infectious. It created a strong culture that led to innovative products and services, and made sales easier because customers were naturally attracted to the company. That all changed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find someone to run the company with passion again (and someone who truly understands Healthcare).

    athenahealth2019-05-14
  4. "Run Forest, Run from athenahealth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The location of the office, can’t be beat. Easy access to the beltline with free bikes, fruit delivered biweekly, good health insurance and that’s about it

    Cons

    No advancement for minorities AT ALL. It seems as though people of color don’t exist. So much great talent within, however over looked. Salary is not that great compared to the average in Atlanta. No room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    There are some who bend over backwards, and have yet to be recognized with a promotion- that’s a problem. Condescending attitude of managers should change. And the pay should increase

    athenahealth2019-05-20
  5. Helpful (12)

    "It’s gone way downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There used to be a culture, we were doing good, disruptive things in the healthcare tech space

    Cons

    Lowball pay, unreasonable expectations set by sales and onboarding, abysmal senior leadership

    Advice to Management

    Let Bob Segert go before he runs the company completely into the ground. He’s decimated the culture, is condescending and patronizing, and doesn’t understand the business. Also, maybe try hiring some people of color instead of white men on the leadership team?

    athenahealth2019-05-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Beware -company in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Watertown, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Mission Driven. Nice offices. Really Smart People

      Cons

      Turmoil after acquisition. Bumpy road aheard

      athenahealth2019-04-29
    • "Not what it used to be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The flexibility that we currently have to manage our schedule is great. The legacy athena products are excellent. The people that you work with are amazing.

      Cons

      Since we were bought out, I feel like a number without any real guidance or goals on where we are going as a company. Everyone is waiting for the next layoff.

      Advice to Management

      Start to get to know the employees and provide some true insight into where we are going and what we can expect.

      athenahealth2019-04-23
    • "Not the company it used to be."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Operations Manager 
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Smart people, important mission, huge opportunity to make a difference, nice campus

      Cons

      lack of diversity in leadership, lack of transparency from leadership, culture isn't what it used to be

      athenahealth2019-04-22
    • Helpful (3)

      "Sr Product Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It’s relaxed and if you are motivated, and dedicated you will be empowered with resources and trust. It’s not that difficult to stand out if you are actually capable.

      Cons

      Athena is filled with people who want a cushy job and do not really push the boundaries. That’s not to say that you cannot find great people who want to do great things just the majority of the people really don’t think of it as a business that has limited resources and you must make decisions based on business value.

      athenahealth2019-03-27
    • "change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Manager 
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      colleagues are generally great. Tools to do work are great.

      Cons

      Promoting people that shouldn't be leaders is hurting the company along with lacking the original culture it had before being purchased

      athenahealth2019-04-17
    Found 104 reviews