athenahealth Programmer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

athenahealth Programmer Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    No work life balance in the company

    Advice to Management

    Nil

    athenahealth2018-11-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring mission Culture The vast majority of the people you work with directly are awesome. Salary Work life balance Perks/Benefits Workstation

    Cons

    Ability to switch between teams? Low autonomy for certain teams Re-orgs

    athenahealth2018-09-18
  3. Helpful (7)

    "7 months with engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office is modern and fancy. Good bonus. Testy pizza at cafeteria. Nice layoffs farewell package (including 12 weeks of paid COBRA + prorated bonus).

    Cons

    They don't know where to go (in development). I've been with Athena only few months. And directions were changed few times. Their technologies (legacy staff) are pretty specific, mostly old style perl. If you want working with Vim and Emacs in XXI century - that's a right spot for you. Atmosphere... is different. Some people are really nice, but lot of obnoxious attitude around as well. Their version of Agile Scrum...

    Show More
    athenahealth2018-01-30
  4. "Programmer with 1+ years of experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and working environment. Good work/life balance if you were good problem solver.

    Cons

    Learning will be minimal like the most product companies.

    athenahealth2017-09-05
  5. "Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Culture, Work Life Balance, Beautiful Office

    Cons

    Old technology Stack (Perl), Bad Cafeteria

    Advice to Management

    Should focus more on salary

    athenahealth2017-05-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good enough opportunities for a software developer. Not so bad salary. Good for a beginner to start with.

    Cons

    As Athena grows, it has forget about its positives such as work life balance.

    athenahealth2016-11-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth

    Pros

    Amazing environment great campus nice cafeteria

    Cons

    Population Health group is a disaster stay away.

    Advice to Management

    Get some professional oversight for this department.

    athenahealth2016-10-30
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Something is wrong with this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth

    Pros

    There are comfortable surroundings, beautiful campus, you can have pets, fun halloween party, free coffee and beer. JB is pretty entertaining.

    Cons

    A great deal of what athena says is all talk but little substance. On a career development level, there is promise of growth and learning, but these opportunities are few. Many of the managers are young and inexperienced and (I'm assuming) overpaid, and are very poor managers. On bad days, it was depressing to even go there. Immaturity and inexperience are rampant throughout the company. Experienced managers and staff...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good luck, but if there are headhunters and recruiters calling, I would definitely pursue those opportunities.

    athenahealth2016-10-14
  9. "Best work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth

    Pros

    Working in athenahealth gave me the positivity I lacked coming into the engineering stream. The work culture here is so diverse and promoting, that if you have the mind to learn, you can have a wonderful time and live your job. The helping mentality of the colleagues is also very inspiring!

    Cons

    There isn't anything I could pick up, but if I bring really picky, then I could say that the promotions will be a little slow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, the beautiful work environment that you help nurture and maintain. It is really hard to come by.

    athenahealth2016-06-19
  10. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in Chennai
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth for more than a year

      Pros

      Work life balance is the best advantage for this company. Not much of stressful job

      Cons

      Technical growth opportunities are very less and the whole product is in perl which is very outdated technology.

      Advice to Management

      None

      athenahealth2016-01-29
    Found 14 reviews