athenahealth Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

athenahealth Project Manager Reviews

Updated 23 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
3%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
1 Ratings
  1. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The flexibility that we currently have to manage our schedule is great. The legacy athena products are excellent. The people that you work with are amazing.

    Cons

    Since we were bought out, I feel like a number without any real guidance or goals on where we are going as a company. Everyone is waiting for the next layoff.

    Advice to Management

    Start to get to know the employees and provide some true insight into where we are going and what we can expect.

    athenahealth2019-04-23
  2. "Healthcare Boom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast pace, culture, opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    Change for the sake of change

    Advice to Management

    Set clear direction and make the effort to communicate that effectively.

    athenahealth2019-01-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Young environment with Opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Endless opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Unrealistic workload. Manager favoritism. Young employee base within a relaxed work hard/play harder environment is a breeding ground for unprofessional conduct.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate close friendships when determining reporting structure. Have more awareness around workload and develop processes to evenly distribute projects. Manage employee burnout to retain quality resources.

    athenahealth2018-07-14
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Project manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth

    Pros

    Paycheck, benefits, and PTO is decent. Each campus is nice. Athena takes pride in each unique office. If you like to travel, they have travel jobs options.

    Cons

    No work life balance. You will be working four jobs for the price of one at Athena. Say goodbye to a social and personal life.

    Advice to Management

    Get managers with people skills.

    athenahealth2017-03-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Working at AthenaHealth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Bright Staff. Flexibility and openness to new ideas... it's just a matter of being able to put in place the mechanisms for implementation.

    Cons

    Company growth is affecting workplace politics to the point where you have a lot of people in each other's 'lanes'. If workplace politics improved the talent would thrive in a more meritocracy based system.

    Advice to Management

    Clear the path for each role so that if you are hiring someone to do something they actually have the power to implement that thing without cross-functional road blocks.

    athenahealth2016-12-20
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Get it together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Brookline, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - work from home policy - relaxed culture

    Cons

    - very low compensation - health insurance is terrible for a healthcare company - constant re-orgs (almost every 12-16 months)

    Advice to Management

    senior leadership should stop promoting people from executive assistants who know nothing about the product (or even what athenaNet does) to senior managers/directors

    athenahealth2016-04-29
  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with! Opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Very rapidly growing company - this means lots of change to keep up with the growth. Not necessarily a Con, but it can make things tough.

    athenahealth2015-12-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -culture is fun - work hard, play hard mentality

    Cons

    -work-life balance -trying learn everything is very difficult, especially in the first few months

    athenahealth2015-07-06
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Big company trying to feel little- doesn't work anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very fast pace company, and lots of opportunity to learn. Collegiate atmosphere in Watertown. Beer fridge! Generous PTO schedule.

    Cons

    Rapid growth takes a toll on current employees workload. Divisions goals seem to change all the time and we are shifting gears. If you don't like consistent change, you will not be happy here. A typical work week on average is 60 hours a week. If you would like to work closer to the 40 of a normal working week... this is not the place for you. You must work 60 in order to keep up.

    Advice to Management

    We say that we are flexible with work hours but flexibility means you can work the last 4 hours (after you work 8 at your desk) at home that night... and over the weekends.

    athenahealth2014-10-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment that is never has to be boring. Employees are seldom micromanaged and develop specialized skills very quickly. The people are friendly, intelligent, and willing to help.

    Cons

    Growth and development is on you, you'll need to be able to teach yourself. Promotions are hard to come by.

    Advice to Management

    Work on onboarding throughout the company, create clear growth paths for employees

    athenahealth2013-06-14
Found 11 reviews