athenahealth Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

athenahealth Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth

    Pros

    The culture is excellent, the people are very friendly, active, and outgoing The perks are similar to what you'd normally find in tech: bean bag chairs, beer fridges, massages, bringing your dog to work, etc.

    Cons

    Doesn't have the same brand recognition as other big-name tech companies, pay isn't quite as competitive (but definitely still very high)

    athenahealth2015-09-13
  2. Helpful (10)

    "It's no longer "all about the people""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Interesting and compelling problems to solve Unique office space Some really great teammates and direct managers

    Cons

    Constant reprioritization and regoranization of departments Lack of diversity - especially in leadership. We used to have quite a few women in high leadership positions (though our ethnic diversity in leadership has never been great.) Due to mysterious firings and changing of positions, we mostly have white men in leadership positions. Could be a pro if you are a white male. New management has changed the focus... from the people and the work to just the work. Some of the best humans I have ever worked with have been pushed out of the company in favor of startup bros and "fresh" people who are more concerned with making themselves look good than making their teams feel empowered and have job satisfaction. While the CEO's transparency is a pro, he has said one too many offensive things for me to respect him. He has tried to learn from his mistakes in some cases, but actions speak louder than words. All software developers get stock with their compensation while other R&D functions get none though we also build our products Bad health plan. CEO wants us to shop for our healthcare while he sails on his yacht every weekend. My PT costs $100 out of pocket if I use insurance and $50 with self pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want employees to "act like owners" make them actual owners by compensating with stock. You are already losing the employees who care about people over products. Be prepared for a culture shift you may not like. Hire more diverse people into leadership positions. I wish things were the way they were 2 years ago when I joined.

    athenahealth2017-09-13
  3. "UX Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at athenahealth

    Pros

    Good people, great perks, fun place to work

    Cons

    Too many shakeups and re orgs. Decide on a path forward and stick to it

    Advice to Management

    Stop shakeups and provide job training for new responsibilities.

    athenahealth2017-03-02
  4. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workforce Management Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and learning environment

    Cons

    I would go back to the company if the opportunity presented itself

    athenahealth2019-10-17
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for with great benefits

    Cons

    Not much room for upward movement

    athenahealth2019-10-16
  6. "Job in Athena health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Good to work. Work life balanced

    Cons

    Not as such. Didn't anything to specify in cons

    Advice to Management

    Not anything to specify

    athenahealth2019-10-15
  7. "Freedom to Learn, Experiment and Apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Though Company has undergone certain shuffles but it is a great place for tech-minded people to learn and apply the latest trends. - Company has a point to prove and it is backing itself for it, there is continual improvements going around - Technology wise you will have plenty to learn , specially if you are from DS/ML Background

    Cons

    - Food can be improved in cafeteria

    athenahealth2019-10-11
  8. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great pay, great product

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    athenahealth2019-10-10
  9. "Fun but unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Project Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun, good benefits, lots of perks, good culture

    Cons

    pay below market, unorganized, undisciplined

    athenahealth2019-10-10
  10. "Amazing Opportunities, Talents and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    _Renewed leadership team with industry executives with deep expertise in each function. _Very talented teams passionate about technology and how it can deliver better healthcare. _Cloud solutions that offer a very agile and open platform to a large network of providers. _Teams obsessed with delivering value to customers and enabling their success

    Cons

    _We need to attract a lot more talents from tech, healthcare and beyond to serve the cause

    athenahealth2019-10-07
Found 1067 reviews