athenahealth Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

athenahealth Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 999 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth

    Pros

    The culture is excellent, the people are very friendly, active, and outgoing The perks are similar to what you'd normally find in tech: bean bag chairs, beer fridges, massages, bringing your dog to work, etc.

    Cons

    Doesn't have the same brand recognition as other big-name tech companies, pay isn't quite as competitive (but definitely still very high)

    athenahealth2015-09-13
  2. Helpful (10)

    "It's no longer "all about the people""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Interesting and compelling problems to solve Unique office space Some really great teammates and direct managers

    Cons

    Constant reprioritization and regoranization of departments Lack of diversity - especially in leadership. We used to have quite a few women in high leadership positions (though our ethnic diversity in leadership has never been great.) Due to mysterious firings and changing of positions, we mostly have white men in leadership positions. Could be a pro if you are a white male. New management has changed the focus from...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want employees to "act like owners" make them actual owners by compensating with stock. You are already losing the employees who care about people over products. Be prepared for a culture shift you may not like. Hire more diverse people into leadership positions. I wish things were the way they were 2 years ago when I joined.

    athenahealth2017-09-13
  3. "UX Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at athenahealth

    Pros

    Good people, great perks, fun place to work

    Cons

    Too many shakeups and re orgs. Decide on a path forward and stick to it

    Advice to Management

    Stop shakeups and provide job training for new responsibilities.

    athenahealth2017-03-02
  4. "Sr. Manager engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Engineering in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Good work - Freedom to operate - End -to-end ownership of the components/modules that we are responsible for

    Cons

    - Sometimes the pace of work can be a bit slower compared to other domains like ecommerce, retail etc.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building a good teams and good work culture, other things will follow automatically

    athenahealth2019-05-21
  5. "Good work culture and lot of learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff(MTS) in Chennai
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice company and good culture, helpful colleagues. Lot of learnings. People support us in both professional as well as personal life.

    Cons

    Nothing so far, Everything is awesome.

    athenahealth2019-05-15
  6. "Decent company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Healthcare Transactions Associate in Atlanta, GA

      I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with, flexible hours

      Cons

      Management was not very involved with Atlanta office

      athenahealth2019-05-15
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth full-time

      Pros

      Athena culture is very good

      Cons

      Work life balance can be improved

      athenahealth2019-05-10
    • "Run Forest, Run from athenahealth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The location of the office, can’t be beat. Easy access to the beltline with free bikes, fruit delivered biweekly, good health insurance and that’s about it

      Cons

      No advancement for minorities AT ALL. It seems as though people of color don’t exist. So much great talent within, however over looked. Salary is not that great compared to the average in Atlanta. No room for growth.

      Advice to Management

      There are some who bend over backwards, and have yet to be recognized with a promotion- that’s a problem. Condescending attitude of managers should change. And the pay should increase

      athenahealth2019-05-20
    • Helpful (11)

      "It’s gone way downhill"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Watertown, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      There used to be a culture, we were doing good, disruptive things in the healthcare tech space

      Cons

      Lowball pay, unreasonable expectations set by sales and onboarding, abysmal senior leadership

      Advice to Management

      Let Bob Segert go before he runs the company completely into the ground. He’s decimated the culture, is condescending and patronizing, and doesn’t understand the business. Also, maybe try hiring some people of color instead of white men on the leadership team?

      athenahealth2019-05-03
    • Helpful (3)

      "A formerly good company spiraling downward"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Watertown, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -Competitive Pay -Strong support of remote employees, work from home culture -Average to slightly above average benefits -No micro-management (at least not in my division) -(Formerly) mission-driven culture -Well stocked break rooms (including beer) -Generous employee appreciation events, $95 per-diem (for traveling employees) -By and large, people were treated with respect and dealt with fairly

      Cons

      This biggest downside to this company is that it's rapidly dissolving into a shadow of its former self. When Jonathan Bush, Todd & Ed Park, and other founding leadership ran the company, the vision a purpose of the place was downright infectious. It created a strong culture that led to innovative products and services, and made sales easier because customers were naturally attracted to the company. That all changed...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Find someone to run the company with passion again (and someone who truly understands Healthcare).

      athenahealth2019-05-14
    Found 999 reviews